"This guide will help you prepare for your ABVP Recognized Veterinary Specialty (RVS) examination this November. The 350 item Combined RVS Exam is given in two parts (each split into two sections) on the same day. The exams are mostly to exclusively multiple-choice type items. There is the possibility of fill in the blank, short answer, essay, or matching for some exam items."
"The AVMA best practice is that the examination items align with a Job Task Analysis (JTA) of this RVS Organizing committee and other recognized experts in the field."
"Additionally, it has been decided that some exam items can come from current journals and a small percentage can be at your Exam Committee’s discretion. Please note that items drawn from current journals (with a 5 year look back period) are 1) from a journal on the RVS Reading List, 2) the question is drawn from the abstract only, and 3) the journal abstract must be freely available. The exception to this is Veterinary Clinics of North America (if applicable), where the exam taker is responsible for the whole article."
Source: ABVP Study Guide - Fish
This resource updated: 6/12/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 5/11/2023
The Zebrafish in Biomedical Research by
The Zebrafish in Biomedical Research: Biology, Husbandry, Diseases, and Research Applications is a comprehensive work that fulfills a critical need for a thorough compilation of information on this species. The text provides significant updates for working vivarium professionals maintaining zebrafish colonies, veterinarians responsible for their care and well-being, zoologists and ethologists studying the species, and investigators using the species to gain critical insights into human physiology and disease. As the zebrafish has become an important model organism for the study of vertebrate development and disease, organ function, behavior, toxicology, cancer, and drug discovery, this book presents an important resource for future research.
ONLY THESE SPECIFIC SECTIONS for Cartner et al 2020 (see below in italics):
Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine by
Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine Designed as a practical resource, Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine provides an evidence-based approach to the veterinary care of fish. This guide--written and edited by experts in the field--contains essential information on husbandry, diagnostics, and case management of bony and cartilaginous fish. This important resource: Provides clinically relevant information on topics such as anatomy, water quality, life-support systems, nutrition, behavioral training, clinical examination, clinical pathology, diagnostic imaging, necropsy techniques, anesthesia and analgesia, surgery, medical treatment, and transport Describes common presenting problems of fish, including possible differentials and practical approaches Reviews key information on non-infectious and infectious diseases of fish in a concise format that is easily accessible in a clinical setting Written for veterinarians, biologists, technicians, specialists, and students, Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine offers a comprehensive review of veterinary medicine of fish.
Aquaculture by
A clear illustration of the important role of aquaculture in supporting food security, livelihoods, and economic development around the world This new edition of Aquaculture: Farming Aquatic Animals and Plants covers important aspects of the culture of fish, shellfish, and algae in freshwater and marine environments. Subject areas covered include principles of aquaculture, water quality, environmental impacts of aquaculture, desert aquaculture, reproduction, life cycles and growth, genetics and stock improvement, nutrition and feed production, diseases, vaccination, post-harvest technology, economics and marketing, and future developments of aquaculture. Separate chapters also cover the culture of algae, carps, salmonids, tilapias, catfish, marine and brackish fishes, soft-shelled turtles, barramundi, marine shrimp, mitten crabs, and other decapod crustaceans, bivalves, gastropods, and ornamental species. This edition also provides greater coverage of aquaculture in China, reflecting the country's importance in the global scene. Providing core scientific and commercially useful information, and written by 35 eminent international authors, this expanded and fully updated Third Edition of Aquaculture is essential reading for all students and professionals studying and working in aquaculture. Fish farmers, hatchery managers, and those in aquaculture support and supply industries, such as feed manufacturing, will find an abundance of commercially useful information within this important and now established book. Describes the multitude of developments that have occurred within the aquaculture field over the last 15 years Includes a major revision of production statistics and trends, discussion of technical developments, and revised and extended coverage provided by broader international authorship Brings together 35 internationally recognized contributors, including a number of new contributors Aquaculture: Farming Aquatic Animals and Plants, Third Edition is a recommended text for students of the subject and a concise reference for those working in or entering into the industry.
Fish Disease by
Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition provides thorough, yet concise descriptions of viral, bacterial, fungal, parasitic and noninfectious diseases in an exhaustive number of fish species. Now in full color with over 500 images, the book is designed as a comprehensive guide to the identification and treatment of both common and rare problems encountered during the clinical work-up. Diseases are discussed following a systems-based approach to ensure a user-friendly and practical manual for identifying problems. Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition is the must-have reference for any aquaculturists, aquatic biologists, or fish health specialists dealing with diagnosing or treating fish diseases.
Fish Diseases and Medicine by
Fish are critically important to the welfare of this planet and its occupants, the health of both wild and captive fish populations paramount to our survival. This book presents the gross pathology of the most commonly encountered diseases and syndromes of fish in an organ system-based approach. It provides an overview of the di
The Elasmobranch Husbandry Manual: Captive Care of Sharks, Rays and their Relatives Editors by All chapters except: Chapter 1, Chapter 3, Chapter 12, Chapters 31- 32, Chapter 36, Chapters 37-38 (FREE ONLINE)
A Naturalist's Guide to the Fishes of Ohio by
A Naturalist's Guide to the Fishes of Ohio represents the first comprehensive treatment of Ohio's fish species since M.B. Trautman's 1981 revision of The Fishes of Ohio. Illustrated with beautiful full-color photographs, this guide presents detailed information for 187 species of native and non-native fish, including recent introductions and several extinct or extirpated species. Each account offers field identification notes, population trends, spawning habits, the best sites to encounter each species, and distribution maps showing current and historical collection records. Easy-to-read graphics indicate each species' habitat preference and vulnerability to extirpation, and the engaging, informative descriptions provide interesting facts and useful cultural and historical context. This book will be a valuable addition to the library of anyone interested in the natural history of the Midwest, and in learning more about Ohio's diverse, colorful, and unusual aquatic wildlife.
All chapters except: Chapters 1-10, Chapters 15-16, Chapter 19, Chapters 22-24, Chapters 40-41 (FREE ONLINE)
Ornamental Fishes and Aquatic Invertebrates by
This is a new edition in the Self-Assessment Colour Review series that covers ornamental fish. It includes 200 colour illustrated cases in random order, as they would be presented in practice. It presents questions based on each case with answers that fully explore the disease/disorder. This new edition contains 250 new cases. The book should appeal to candidates preparing for examinations and to practitioners in their continuing education.
Self-Assessment Color Review of Ornamental Fish by
The keeping of ornamental fish is the most widespread animal related hobby in the world. Many textbooks and most of the related literature focus on diseases of fish bred for human consumption, especially aquaculture species. This review provides 265 clinical cases, covers all of the important medical and surgical conditions found in ornamental fish and includes material on aquatic invertebrates. The illustrated cases appear randomly by topic and are targeted at different levels of expertise. In addition, questions on fish anatomy, physiology, husbandry and identification are included to ensure that the book is both educational and comprehensive. A team of internationally respected authors have written the questions and detailed explanatory answers to make the text practical, informative and, at the same time, easy to read. Veterinary practitioners, professional aquarists, hobbyists and students will find this a valuable addition to their education and clinical training.
Fundamentals of Ornamental Fish Health by
Fundamentals of Ornamental Fish Health is a complete guide to managing the health and well-being of ornamental aquatic animals. Grounded in the foundations of fish medical care, the book summarizes nonlethal aquatic diagnostics and medicine, putting the information within a clinical context. Providing a comprehensive overview of the subject, Fundamentals of Ornamental Fish Health equips aquatic animal health professionals with all the information needed to competently and effectively treat these patients, from transporting and examining fish to diagnostic techniques and the identification and treatment of specific diseases and syndromes.
Fish Medicine by
Provides the most comprehensive presentation of the economic importance of fish disease management as well as the application of modern medical technology to fish available--in one volume. From goldfish and catfish to freshwater tropicals and sharks--this book covers it all.
BSAVA Manual of Ornamental Fish by
This important publication has been completely revised and expanded by 29 authors from the UK and USA for an international readership. It is extensively illustrated and intentionally practical with a large new section on systematic disorders that will aid disease diagnosis. This book covers all aspects of ornamental fish health including: environmental needs, the aquatic trade, fishkeeping, disease investigation, systematic disorders, infectious and non-infectious diseases, medical and surgical therapies, relevant legislation and health & safety. Although written primarily for veterinarians, this book is an essential reference for anyone involved in professional fish health care and for those working in the ornamental fish industry and public aquaria.
Fundamentals of Aquatic Veterinary Medicine by
Fundamentals of Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Covers the competencies necessary to assure the highest quality of aquatic veterinary services Fundamentals of Aquatic Veterinary Medicine provides systematic, highly practical guidance on the treatment of aquatic mammals, amphibians, fish, and invertebrates in veterinary practice. Mapping to each of the nine core areas of the WAVMA Certified Aquatic Veterinarian (CertAqV) Program, this comprehensive clinical reference covers taxonomy, anatomy and physiology of aquatic species, water quality and life support systems, diagnostics, treatment, and prevention of aquatic diseases, and more. Designed to help readers acquire and demonstrate the necessary knowledge, skills, and experience to be competent in aquatic veterinary medicine, this authoritative guide: Focuses on "Day One" competencies outlined by the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) Covers pathobiology and epidemiology of aquatic diseases, public health,zoonotic diseases, and seafood safety Provides up-to-date information on relevant legislation, regulations, and policies Fundamentals of Aquatic Veterinary Medicine is a must-have reference and review guide for veterinary students and practitioners interested in practicing aquatic veterinary medicine, as well as for aquatic veterinarians looking to become WAVMA certified or wanting to acquire OIE "Day One" competency.
Fish Diseases and Disorders by 
Fish Diseases and Disorders by 
Fish Diseases and Disorders, Vol 3: Viral, Bacterial, and Fungal Infections by