This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American Veterinary Dental College (AVDC) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
From the AVDC Suggested Reading List:
"The following list is provided as suggested reading material. It is not all inclusive of every potential reference and publication, because the body of scientific literature is fluid and always changing. No attempt is made to restrict examination questions to the material in these references. The examination reflects the current state of knowledge in veterinary dentistry rather than material from a particular group of references. Much of veterinary dental knowledge has been derived from human dentistry. This is reflected in the suggested reading list and will also be reflected in the examination itself."
Source: AVDC Examination Information for Candidates (linked below)
This resource updated: 06/08/2023
Source reading list reviewed: 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2/14/2023 (Equine) 3/01/2023 (Small Animal)
Anatomy of the Horse by 
Clinical Anatomy of the Horse by 
Ten Cate's Oral Histology: Development, Structure, and Function by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by 
Manual of Equine Anesthesia and Analgesia by 
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by 
Craig's Restorative Dental Materials by 
Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp Expert Consult by
Stay up on the latest research and techniques in endodontics with Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th Edition. Written by a team of internationally renowned experts and trusted for more than 40 years, this definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases. This new twelfth edition also boasts the very latest evidence-based research and techniques, reorganized and condensed chapters, plus other features designed to help you locate important information quickly and easily. Complete with access to Expert Consult, it's everything you need to stay ahead in the field of endodontics. Extensive illustration collection includes over 2,000 full-color photos, line art, and radiographs to clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of endodontics. Video clips and case studies demonstrate key procedures such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tip system, dentin hypersensitivity, and more. Diverse and respected contributor pool includes experts from many national- and international-based dental education programs. NEW! Updated content and new images incorporate the most recent developments in research and clinical endodontic techniques. NEW! Additional topics cover pulp biology, pathobiology, diagnosis, treatment planning, pain control, isolation, access, cleaning and shaping, obturation, restoration, assessment of outcomes, emergencies and surgery. Each online topic comes with assigned reading lists, a PowerPoint lecture, written lesson objectives, and example exam questions. NEW! Compliance with the Commission on Dental Accreditation Curriculum ensures that the needs of all dental programs are met. NEW! Reorganized sections now divide chapters by those covering clinical endodontics, those covering the biological basis of endodontics, and chapters which detail endodontics in private practice to make content easier for both clinicians and students to navigate. NEW! Condensed chapters remove unnecessary duplication of content across the text and make the physical text lighter and easier to use.
Equine Dentistry by 
Dentistry by 
Advances in Equine Dentistry by 
Veterinary Clinics: Equine Practice, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics of North America: Equine Practice by
This issue of Veterinary Clinics: Equine Practice, guest edited by Drs. Edward Earley, Robert Baratt, and Stephen S. Galloway, is focused on Equine Dentistry and Oral Surgery. This is one of three issues each year selected by the series consulting editor, Dr. Thomas Divers. Article topics include: History of Equine Dentistry; Oral Endoscopy; Dental Floating; Standing Sedation and Analgesia; Radiology Interpretation; Imaging: Computed Tomography Interpretation; Oral Extraction Techniques; Alternative Extraction Techniques; Standing Surgical Extraction Techniques; Sinus Surgery; Extraction Complications; and Nasal Endoscopy: Treating Bullae Disease and Sinus Disease.
Principles of Equine Dentistry by 
Equine Internal Medicine by 
Equine Respiratory Medicine and Surgery by 
Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques by 
Oral Pathology: Clinical Pathologic Correlations by 
Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by 
Color Atlas of Dental Medicine: Periodontology by 
Clinical Radiology of the Horse by 
White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology by
Written specifically for dentists, White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation 8th Edition incorporates over 1,500 high-quality radiographic images and illustrations to demonstrate core concepts and essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. The new edition of this bestselling book delivers with state-of-the-art information on oral radiology principles and techniques, and image interpretation. Dental student will gain a solid foundation in radiation physics, radiation biology, and radiation safety and protection before introducing including specialized techniques such as MRI and CT. As well, students will learn how to recognize the key radiographic features of pathologic conditions and interpret radiographs accurately. The 8th edition also includes new chapters on Radiologic Anatomy, Beyond 3D Imaging, and Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone. A practical guide to using today's technology, this unique text helps your students provide state-of-the-art care! Over 1,500 high quality dental radiographs, full color photos, and illustrations clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of oral and maxillofacial radiology. Updated Extensive coverage of all aspects of oral and maxillofacial radiology includes the entire predoctoral curriculum. A wide array of radiographic images including advanced imaging such as MRI and CT. An easy-to-follow format simplifies the key radiographic features of each pathologic condition, including location, periphery, shape, internal structure, and effects on surrounding structures - placed in context with clinical features, differential diagnosis, and management. Expert contributors include many authors with worldwide reputations. Case studies apply imaging concepts to real-world scenarios. NEW! New editors Sanjay Mallya and Ernest Lam along with new contributors bring a fresh perspective on oral radiology. NEW! Chapter! Beyond 3D Imaging introduces applications of 3D imaging such as stereolithic models. NEW! Chapter Radiological Anatomy includes all radiological anatomy content allowing you to better visualize and understand normal appearances of structures on conventional and contemporary imaging, side-by-side. NEW! Coverage of Diseases Affecting the Structure of Bone consolidated into one chapter to simplify foundational basic science information and its applications to radiologic interpretation.
Veterinary Computed Tomography by
This practical and highly illustrated guide is an essential resource for veterinarians seeking to improve their understanding and use of computed tomography (CT) in practice. It provides a thorough grounding in CT technology, describing the underlying physical principles as well as the different types of scanners. The book also includes principles of CT examination such as guidance on positioning and how to achieve a good image quality. Written by specialists from twelve countries, this book offers a broad range of expertise in veterinary computed tomography, and is the first book to describe the technology, methodology, interpretation principles and CT features of different diseases for most species treated in veterinary practice. Key features * An essential guide for veterinarians using CT in practice * Includes basic principles of CT as well as guidelines on how to carry out an effective examination * Describes CT features of different diseases for most species treated in practice * Written by a range of international leaders in the field * Illustrated with high quality photographs and diagrams throughout
Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by 
Equine Surgery by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dentistry and Oral Surgery by
Following the success of previous editions, the BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dentistry and Oral Surgery 4th edition is a timely publication in what is an internationally growing specialist field. It is an accessible source of core information for general small animal veterinary surgeons, students and nurses/technicians interested in developing their knowledge and practical skills in dentistry and oral surgery. New for this edition are the inclusion of step-by-step operative techniques with detailed full-colour photographs and new illustrations, including the process for taking dental radiographs, and techniques for the management of periodontal disease, dental and oral trauma, developmental disorders and neoplasia, and closed and open tooth extractions.
Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in Dogs and Cats by 
Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry by
Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry: Principles and Practice, Second Edition is a fully updated and expanded new edition of the classic comprehensive reference for veterinary dentistry. Provides current, comprehensive information on veterinary dentistry Encompasses rudimentary tenets of the field as well as advanced techniques Presents the state-of-the-art in veterinary dentistry, with all topics fully updated, revised, and expanded to reflect current knowledge Written by leading veterinary dental specialists and edited by luminaries in the field Includes more images and color throughout to support the text "The second edition of Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry: Principles and Practice is an updated and comprehensive guide to all things related to the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of the oral cavity in canine and feline patients....Overall, this book will be a good resource for any small animal practice or practitioner who performs veterinary dentistry." - JAVMA Vol 255 No. 6
The links below take you to the resources at the publishers' websites, which might prompt you for payment. Your library might be able to provide these resources at comparatively lower or no cost to you. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in. Open access journals in which all articles are freely available are marked with 
.
Anatomy of the Dog by 
Oral Structural Biology: Embryology, structure, and function of normal hard and soft tissues of the oral cavity and temporomandibular joints by Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by
Ebook Available
5th edition
Phillips' Science of Dental Materials by Craig's Restorative Dental Materials by 
Ten Cate's Oral Histology: Development, Structure, and Function by 
Essentials of Oral Histology and Embryology by Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp Expert Consult by
Stay up on the latest research and techniques in endodontics with Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th Edition. Written by a team of internationally renowned experts and trusted for more than 40 years, this definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases. This new twelfth edition also boasts the very latest evidence-based research and techniques, reorganized and condensed chapters, plus other features designed to help you locate important information quickly and easily. Complete with access to Expert Consult, it's everything you need to stay ahead in the field of endodontics. Extensive illustration collection includes over 2,000 full-color photos, line art, and radiographs to clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of endodontics. Video clips and case studies demonstrate key procedures such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tip system, dentin hypersensitivity, and more. Diverse and respected contributor pool includes experts from many national- and international-based dental education programs. NEW! Updated content and new images incorporate the most recent developments in research and clinical endodontic techniques. NEW! Additional topics cover pulp biology, pathobiology, diagnosis, treatment planning, pain control, isolation, access, cleaning and shaping, obturation, restoration, assessment of outcomes, emergencies and surgery. Each online topic comes with assigned reading lists, a PowerPoint lecture, written lesson objectives, and example exam questions. NEW! Compliance with the Commission on Dental Accreditation Curriculum ensures that the needs of all dental programs are met. NEW! Reorganized sections now divide chapters by those covering clinical endodontics, those covering the biological basis of endodontics, and chapters which detail endodontics in private practice to make content easier for both clinicians and students to navigate. NEW! Condensed chapters remove unnecessary duplication of content across the text and make the physical text lighter and easier to use.
Equine Dentistry by 
Advances in Equine Dentistry, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Equine Practice by 
Rabbit and Rodent Dentistry Handbook by 
Zoo and Wild Animal Dentistry by
Zoo and Wild Animal Dentistry is the first book to offer a comprehensive reference to oral pathology and dental therapy in captive and wild exotic animals. Comprehensive in scope, the book is authored by noted experts on the topic who cover dental care for a broad range of species with an emphasis on oral health. Designed as a practical resource for treating exotic animals, the book is filled with instructive photographs and illustrations that clearly depict pathologies and demonstrate techniques. The book draws on the editors' and contributors' years of experience with exotic animals to offer a reliable resource to the history of veterinary dentistry, information on the evolution of teeth, practical dental therapeutics, and oral descriptions for each of the more than three hundred species included in the book. Zoo and Wild Animal Dentistry covers a wide range of zoo and wild species, including cats, bears, primates, dogs, raccoons, weasels, hyenas, marsupials, herbivores, edentates, sea mammals, birds, reptiles, and more. This important resource: Offers a comprehensive reference to oral pathology and dental therapy in captive and wild animals Highlights oral health to promote overall health Includes information on the most recent advances in the field Contains a groundbreaking resource for the dental care of exotic animals Written for zoo and wildlife caretakers and veterinarians, veterinary dentists, veterinary technicians, and veterinary students, Zoo and Wild Animal Dentistry is a practical resource that has information for the dental care of a wide range of animal species that are all too often neglected.
Ferrets, Rabbits and Rodents Clinical Medicine and Surgery by Oral Pathology: Clinical Pathologic Correlations by 
Veterinary Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology by Newman and Carranza's Clinical Periodontology by Color Atlas of Dental Medicine: Periodontology by 
Atlas of Dental Radiography in Dogs and Cats by White and Pharoah's Oral Radiology: Principles and Interpretation by Sturdevant's Art and Science of Operative Dentistry by 
Small Animal Surgery by 
Contemporary Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by 
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in Dogs and Cats by 
The Teeth of Mammalian Vertebrates by
"The Teeth of Mammalian Vertebrates is an important reference for researchers in dentistry, comparative morphology, anthropology, and vertebrate palaeontology, and those with an interest in exploring and understanding diversity. The book provides a comprehensive and informed analysis of mammalian dentitions and highlights the importance of teeth as drivers and mirrors of evolution and diversity." - Journal of Anatomy The Teeth of Mammalian Vertebrates presents a comprehensive survey of mammalian dentitions that is based on material gathered from museums and research workers from around the world. The teeth are major factors in the success of mammals, and knowledge of tooth form and function is essential in mammalian biology. Illustrated with high-quality color photographs of skulls and dentitions, together with X-rays, CT images and histology, this book reveals the tremendous variety of tooth form and structure in mammals. Written by two internationally-recognized experts in dental anatomy, the book provides an up-to-date account of how teeth are adapted to acquiring and processing food. With its companion volume, this book provides a complete survey of the teeth of vertebrates. It is the ideal resource for students and researchers in zoology, biology, anthropology, archaeology and dentistry.
Veterinary Dental Techniques for the Small Animal Practitioner by 
Veterinary Dentistry: A Team Approach by 
Veterinary Dentistry by 
Clinical Veterinary Dentistry by BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dentistry and Oral Surgery by 
Self-Assessment Color Review of Veterinary Dentistry by Wiggs's Veterinary Dentistry: Principles and Practice by The links below take you to the resources at the publishers' websites, which might prompt you for payment. Your library might be able to provide these resources at comparatively lower or no cost to you. Tools like Unpaywall may also allow you to freely and legally access some of the articles you’re interested in. Open access journals in which all articles are freely available are marked with .
