"Sources that are good but may be difficult to acquire"
"(Exam questions will NOT use these as references.)"
Avian Surgical Anatomy by
This four colour atlas provides, under one cover, insite on avian anatomy, surgical approaches and basic orthopedic principles for veterinary clinicians and students, aviculturists and others interested in bird care. Also covers major anatomical variations of the thoracic and pelvic limbs in various species of birds.
Birds: Their Structure and Function by
A general introduction to avian anatomy. Special coverage includes a detailed account of the external features essential for the identification and description of birds, as well as discussion of flight at great altitudes over immense distances, navigation, sight, and hearing. The overall result is a concise and authoriataive text covering wild and domestic birds--an invaluable reference source for all interested in ornithology.
Ratite Management, Medicine, and Surgery by
This volume is intended to be of use as a guide to the diagnosis and prevention of infectious diseases and metabolic conditions in commercial ratites. Intensification and growth of the industry requires a professional and proactive approach to the enhancement of productivity and amelioration of managerial, environmental and disease-related problems.
"Referred Journals (The last 5 years ending January 1 of the year the exam is taken)"
"ABVP recognizes the scarcity of several of these texts. Please bear in mind that these are recommended, not required, and that most information in monographs can be located in more than one publication."
Avian Medicine and Surgery in Practice by
Avian Medicine and Surgery in Practice is an invaluable quick reference resource for clinicians and a useful study guide for veterinary students. In this practical and beautifully illustrated book, early chapters cover physical examination, advice on interpreting diagnostic tests, and avian anatomy and physiology. Disorders affecting the different body regions and systems make up the majority of the book from the external--skin, feathers, eyes, legs and feet--to the internal including the gastrointestinal tract and the cardiovascular system. Further aspects of avian medicine discussed in the book include behavioural problems, incubation of eggs, paediatrics and surgery. Written by an expert with more than 30 years of clinical experience in avian medicine, the new edition is thoroughly revised with updated diseases, new and expanded clinical techniques, and over 100 new color illustrations. It also adds four important new chapters: Husbandry, Grooming and Nutrition, Diagnostic Imaging, Endoscopy, and Oncology as well as new sections on cardiovascular anatomy and neuroanatomy.
Avian Medicine by
With the increased need for competent avian practitioners and the formation of avian specialty programs worldwide, clinicians as well as academics are required to have a more comprehensive understanding of applied anatomy, physiology, internal medicine, pharmacology, disease management and preventative medicine.
Backyard Poultry Medicine and Surgery by
Backyard Poultry Medicine and Surgery is a practical resource offering guidance on developing diagnostic and treatment plans for individual companion poultry or small flocks. Organized by body system to aid in developing a differential diagnosis list for common presenting signs, the book provides all the information clinicians need to effectively treat backyard poultry. Written by experts from both the commercial poultry field and the companion avian field, the book provides thorough coverage of both common and less common diseases of backyard chickens, ducks, and other poultry. The book begins with introductory chapters covering general information, an overview of US laws, and basic husbandry concerns, then moves into specific disease chapters organized by system. The book takes an individual medicine perspective throughout, with photographs, radiographs, and histopathological photomicrographs to illustrate principles and diseases. Backyard Poultry Medicine and Surgery is an invaluable guide to diseases and treatments for any practitioners treating backyard poultry.
Current Therapy in Avian Medicine and Surgery by 
Current Therapy in Exotic Pet Practice by
This brand-new, full-color reference is a foundational text for veterinarians and veterinary students learning about companion exotic animal diseases. Organized by body system, Current Therapy in Exotic Pet Practice walks students through the most relevant information concerning the diagnosis and treatment of exotic animals - including the most relevant information on anatomy, physical examination, diagnostic testing, disease conditions, therapeutics, epidemiology of diseases, and zoonoses. Topics such as captive care, current standards of care for all exotic species, veterinary clinical epidemiology, and the effective prevention and management of infectious diseases are also included. Expert guidance on treating various disease conditions provides authoritative support for veterinarians who are less experienced in companion exotic pet care. Renowned authors and editors carefully selected topics of real clinical importance. Detailed coverage on how to identify and treat diseases (from common to rare) helps alleviate apprehension a veterinarian may feel when treating an unfamiliar species. Includes the latest information from the current scientific literature and addresses hot topics associated with treating companion exotic animals today. Vivid full-color images demonstrate the unique anatomic and medical features of each group of animals covered.
Diagnostic Imaging of Exotic Pets by 
Diseases of Poultry by
The most complete and definitive reference to all aspects of poultry diseases, Diseases of Poultry, Fourteenth Edition has been fully revised and updated to offer a comprehensive survey of current knowledge. Updates the definitive reference of poultry health and disease Provides more clinically relevant information on management of specific diseases, contributed by clinical poultry veterinarians Offers information on disease control in organic and antibiotic-free production Presents more concise, streamlined chapters for ease of use Incorporates advances in the field, from new diagnostic tools and information to changes brought about by the increasing globalization and the re-emergence of zoonotic pathogens
Exotic Animal Hematology and Cytology by
Exotic Animal Hematology and Cytology, Fourth Edition updates the most comprehensive reference available on exotic animal hematology and cytology of all major species. Acts as both an atlas and a text, offering high-quality photographs and step-by-step descriptions of techniques associated with preparing and interpreting hematology and cytology samples Presents complete information on hematology and cytology in a wide range of exotic species, including small mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish Includes more than 700 high-quality color photographs, now with sizing bars Takes a new disease-based structure for improved ease of use Provides straightforward step-by-step descriptions of sample preparation and interpretation
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds by
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds, Second Edition provides a comprehensive reference to the gross and histologic features of diseases seen in pet and aviary birds, with more than 850 images depicting disease lesions. Provides a complete resource for identifying both common and not-so-common diseases in a wide range of avian species Includes more than 850 full-color images to show disease lesions Offers context for the interpretation of pathologic findings, promoting an understanding of the pathogenesis and epizootiology of disease Adds information on pigeons and chickens, pathophysiology, prognosis and trends, and globally relevant diseases Aids pathologists, diagnosticians, and avian veterinarians in identifying lesions in pet birds
Radiology of Birds: An Atlas of Normal Anatomy and Positioning by 
Sturkie's Avian Physiology by
Sturkie's Avian Physiology is the classic comprehensive single volume on the physiology of domestic as well as wild birds. The Sixth Edition is thoroughly revised and updated, and features several new chapters with entirely new content on such topics as migration, genomics and epigenetics. Chapters throughout have been greatly expanded due to the many recent advances in the field. The text also covers the physiology of flight, reproduction in both male and female birds, and the immunophysiology of birds. The Sixth Edition, like the earlier editions, is a must for anyone interested in comparative physiology, poultry science, veterinary medicine, and related fields. This volume establishes the standard for those who need the latest and best information on the physiology of birds. Includes new chapters on endocrine disruptors, magnetoreception, genomics, proteomics, mitochondria, control of food intake, molting, stress, the avian endocrine system, bone, the metabolic demands of migration, behavior and control of body temperature Features extensively revised chapters on the cardiovascular system, pancreatic hormones, respiration, pineal gland, pituitary gland, thyroid, adrenal gland, muscle, gastro-intestinal physiology, incubation, circadian rhythms, annual cycles, flight, the avian immune system, embryo physiology and control of calcium Stands out as the only comprehensive, single volume devoted to bird physiology Offers a full consideration of both blood and avian metabolism on the companion website (http://booksite.elsevier.com/ 9780124071605). Tables feature hematological and serum biochemical parameters together with circulating concentrations of glucose in more than 200 different species of wild birds
Veterinary Clinics of North America, Exotic Animal Practice"Examination items will be taken in large part from the sources designated in the recommended reading list. Additional citations for examination items may include veterinary informational sources common to multiple species, such as (the most current editions of) Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook, and the Merck Veterinary Manual.
"Questions on the examination may be taken from sources other than this list."
Source: ABVP Study Guide - Avian
This resource updated: 5/17/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
