Behavior of Exotic Pets by 
Biology and Diseases of the Ferret by 
BSAVA Manual of Exotic Pets by 
BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets by
The BSAVA Manual of Rodents and Ferrets is a new title to the BSAVA range. The Manual is split into two distinct sections: the first part is dedicated to rodents, covering biology, husbandry, and clinical techniques, as well as the diseases particular to these animals. The second part of the Manual is devoted to ferrets and discusses biology, husbandry and clinical techniques, and diseases by body system. Coverage includes main disease conditions as well as medicine and surgery. The straightforward and clinical approach ensures that veterinarians in practice will find it useful as a general reference text.
Clinical Radiology of Exotic Companion Mammals by 
Exotic Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine by
Exotic Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine delivers the most relevant and current information required by general veterinary practitioners and veterinary specialists in treating emergent and critical exotic patients. Covering the management of common emergency presentations in exotic companion mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians, each section discusses triage and stabilization, diagnostics, nutrition and fluid therapy, analgesia, anesthesia, monitoring, CPR, and euthanasia. The book includes quick reference tables, species-specific drug formularies, and illustrations of exotic animal emergency procedures and techniques. The information contained within is based on an extensive review of the most current literature and the combined knowledge and expertise of international leaders in the field of exotic animal medicine and surgery. A one-stop resource like no other, Exotic Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine makes it easy to find the information needed to effectively treat urgent and life-threatening conditions in pet exotic animals. The book covers a wide range of species, encompassing: Exotic companion mammals, including ferrets, rabbits, guinea pigs, chinchillas, rats, mice, hamsters, gerbils, hedgehogs, and sugar gliders Birds, including psittacines, passerines, doves and pigeons, as well as backyard poultry and waterfowl Reptiles, including turtles and tortoises, snakes and lizards Amphibians Equally useful for general practitioners, specialists in emergency and critical care and exotic animal medicine, veterinary students, and trainees, Exotic Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine is an essential resource for the emergent and critical care of exotic animals.
Exotic Animal Laboratory Diagnosis by
Exotic Animal Laboratory Diagnosis is a practical, user-friendly guide to diagnostic testing in a wide range of exotic species. Offers complete information on obtaining samples, performing tests, and interpreting laboratory results in exotic animals Presents information on each species using a similar format for easy access Emphasizes details on clinical biochemistries, urinalysis, and common laboratory diagnostic tests not found in other resources Draws together information on selecting, performing, and using diagnostic tests into a single easy-to-use resource Covers a wide range of species, including small mammals, primates, reptiles, aquatic animals, and wild, laboratory, and pet birds
Dentistry in Rabbits and Rodents by
Dentistry in Rabbits and Rodents is a practical guide aimed at helping clinicians successfully diagnose and treat dental problems in rabbits and rodents within their own surgeries. With over two-thirds of small mammals presenting with tooth related problems, there is great potential to enhance the treatment offered to the owners of these species. Focusing on innovative diagnostics using normal radiographic machines as well as specific positioning techniques, radiographs are presented with reference lines and detailed annotations. Richly illustrated with high quality photographs, pathological findings are described before selection of appropriate therapy and treatment is discussed. Key features include: Covers the dental anatomy and physiology of all small mammal species commonly kept as pets. Intraoral radiography and innovative positioning for imaging the guinea pig and chinchilla dentitions are described, enabling the practitioner to visualize each tooth in detail. Once a diagnosis has been reached, selection of different treatments and the advantages and disadvantages of each surgical technique are discussed. Offers helpful directives for approaching and treating dental disease without the need for referral to a specialist or the use of expensive equipment.
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents by
Learn to treat a wide variety of small mammals and pocket pets with Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery, 4th Edition. Covering the conditions most often seen in veterinary practice, this highly readable and easy-to-navigate text covers preventative medicine along with disease management, ophthalmology, dentistry, and zoonosis. More than 700 full-color photographs and illustrations highlight radiographic interpretation as well as diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques. This fourth edition also features new coverage of degus (large rodent species); new coverage of prairie dogs; and expanded coverage of surgical procedures, physical therapy rehabilitation and alternative medicine for rabbits, neoplasia in rabbits, and zoonotic disease. With expert contributors from around the globe, Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents is the authoritative, single point of reference for small mammal care that is hard to find elsewhere. Logical organization lays out sections by different animals and organizes parts within chapters by body system - making it quick and easy to access important information. Drug formulary provides dosage instructions for a wealth of species including ferrets, rabbits, guinea pigs, chinchillas, hamsters, rats/mice, prairie dogs, hedgehogs, and sugar gliders. More than 700 photographs and illustrations highlight key concepts such as radiographic interpretation and the main points of diagnostic, surgical, and therapeutic techniques. Chapter on ophthalmology provides an area of study that is difficult to find for ferrets, rabbits, rodents, and other small mammals. Chapter outlines offer an at-a-glance overview of the chapter contents at the beginning of the chapter. Access to Expert Consult site provides an excellent comprehensive reference and a fully searchable eBook. NEW! Coverage of surgical procedures has been further expanded in this edition. Surgical procedures are presented in a separate section and shown step by step through color photographs and radiographs, accompanied by line drawings. NEW! Additional information on physical therapy rehabilitation and alternative medicine for rabbits includes chiropractic care and acupuncture. NEW! Expanded content on neoplasia in rabbits incorporates lymphoreticular disorders, thymoma, and other neoplastic diseases of rabbits. NEW! All new chapter on prairie dogs has been added. NEW! All new chapter on degus (large rodent species) has been added. UPDATED! Chapter on zoonotic disease has been updated to further cover specific zoonotic diseases in addition to addressing the increased potential for disease transmission from animals to humans. NEW! Global author perspective incorporates the expertise of authors practicing outside of North America. UPDATED! Photographs show the diseases and disorders that are more commonly seen in practice.
Pathology of Laboratory Rodents and Rabbits by 
Rabbit and Rodent Dentistry Handbook by 
Surgery of Exotic Animals by
The first book to provide veterinarians with in-depth guidance on exotic animal surgical principles and techniques As the popularity of exotic animals continues to grow, it is becoming increasingly important for veterinarians to be knowledgeable and skilled in common surgical procedures for a wide range of exotic species. Written for practitioners and board-certified surgeons with a working knowledge of domestic animal surgery, Surgery of Exotic Animals is the first clinical manual to provide comprehensive guidance on surgical principles and common procedures in exotic pets, zoo animals, and wildlife. Edited by internationally recognized leaders in exotic animal surgery and zoological medicine, this much-needed volume covers invertebrates, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and both terrestrial and marine mammals. Contributions from a team of surgery and zoo specialists offer detailed descriptions of common surgeries and provide a wealth of color images demonstrating how each procedure is performed--including regional anatomy and surgical approaches. An invaluable one-stop source of authoritative surgical information on exotic species, this book: Provides illustrated guidance on surgical principles and common surgeries performed in exotic species Describes general principles, instrumentation, equipment, suture materials, and magnification surgery Covers a wide range of procedures such as small and large mammal dental surgery, avian soft tissue surgery, reptile orthopedic surgery, and primate surgery Includes chapters on surgical oncology, megavertebrate laparoscopy, and minimally invasive surgery techniques Surgery of Exotic Animals is an indispensable clinical guide and reference for all private veterinary practitioners; exotic, zoo, and wildlife veterinarians; laboratory animal veterinarians; veterinary students; and veterinary technicians.
Textbook of Rabbit Medicine by
Provide effective treatment of pet rabbits with this practical, evidence-based resource! Textbook of Rabbit Medicine, 3rd Edition provides authoritative coverage of the health and diseases of the domestic rabbit. Chapters follow a logical progression from basic rabbit science to clinical pathology, therapeutics, anesthesia, diseases and disorders by body system, and surgery. This edition is updated with the latest advances and techniques, and includes practical advice on topics such as vaccination, neutering and reproductive control, and behavior problems. Written by exotics specialist Molly Varga Smith, and drawing from clinical information from around the world, this book is a truly global resource in veterinary medicine. Comprehensive, in-depth, and authoritative coverage addresses health and diseases of the domestic rabbit. Evidence-based coverage makes this book an excellent resource for the effective treatment of pet rabbits. Color illustrations and diagrams help to emphasize and clarify key content. Detailed drawings provide a clear understanding of the rabbit's unique anatomy and physiology. Key Points boxes summarize important information. Clinical Techniques boxes are packed with tips from a practicing expert who regularly applies this same information in practice. Summary tables highlight useful information such as differential diagnoses and the drugs used to treat specific conditions. NEW! Thoroughly updated and expanded chapters are included throughout the book, most notably on dentistry. NEW! Chapters on basic and advanced surgery, shelter medicine, endocrinology, and imaging are added. NEW! Updated information on all drugs, anesthetics, and techniques is included throughout the book. NEW! Fully searchable enhanced eBook version is included with each purchase of a new copy of the print book, which allows access to all of the text and figures on a variety of digital devices.
"Questions do not come from these books."
BSAVA Manual of Rabbit Medicine and Surgery by 
Radiology of Rodents, Rabbits and Ferrets: An Atlas of Normal Anatomy and Positioning by 
Pathology of Small Mammal Pets by
Pathology of Small Mammal Pets presents a ready reference for veterinarians, veterinary pathologists, and technicians who work with small mammal companion animals. Provides up-to-date, practical information on common disease conditions in small mammal companion animals Offers chapters logically organized by species, with comprehensive information on diagnosing diseases in each species Takes a practical, system-based approach to individual disease conditions Covers clinical signs, laboratory diagnostics, gross pathology, histopathology, and differential diagnoses in detail Includes relevant information for conventional breeding operations and breeding facilities, with strategies for disease management in herds and colonies Features information on normal anatomy in included species to assist in recognizing pathology
"Concentrate on five years immediately prior to the year of testing."
"Questions on the exam may be taken from sources other than this list.
"ABVP recognizes the scarcity of several of these texts. Please bear in mind that these are recommended, not required, and that most information can be located in more than one publication."
Source: ABVP Study Guide- Exotic Companion Mammal Practice
This resource updated: 05/22/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
