This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Zoological Medicine (ACZM) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
"The following list is provided to help guide veterinarians planning to study for the ACZM Board Examination. It is not a comprehensive listing of all available reference material; This list is intended to facilitate the candidates' search for the information as they gather materials and study the literature. Examination questions will primarily, though not exclusively, be created using information within the listed reading materials. Examination questions based upon journal articles will emphasize recent literature of the last five calendar years, although older references may also be included. It is recommended that candidates work with their ACZM diplomat mentor to prioritize study material within the references suggested."
Source: ACZM Suggested Reading List.
This resource updated: 6/12/2023
"May be used for Day 1 and Day 2 exam material for many disciplines."
Mader's Reptile and Amphibian Medicine and Surgery by 
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine, Volume 8 by
Logically organized by taxonomic groups, this up-to-date text covers the diagnosis and treatment of all zoo animal species and free-ranging wildlife, including amphibians, reptiles, birds, mammals, and fish, unlikely to be seen by private practice veterinarians. Featuring full-color images, the consistent, user-friendly format supplies information on each animal's biology, unique anatomy, special physiology, reproduction, restraint and handling, housing requirements, nutrition and feeding, surgery and anesthesia, diagnostics, therapeutics, and diseases. Global authorship includes multinational contributors who offer expert information on different species from around the world. "This is a welcome update to an invaluable reference series; a must-have for any veterinary professional working largely in the zoo or wildlife field, and also recommended as a reference text for the library of any practice seeing unusual species on a regular basis, even if they already have an earlier volume." Reviewed by: Charlotte Day on behalf of The Veterinary Record, Oct 14 Global authorship includes internationally recognized authors who have contributed new chapters focusing on the latest research and clinical management of captive and free-ranging wild animals from around the world. Zoological Information Management System chapter offers the latest update on this brand new system that contains a worldwide wealth of information. General taxonomy-based format provides a comprehensive text for sharing information in zoo and wildlife medicine. Concise tables provide quick reference to key points in the references. NEW! All new authors have completely revised the content to provide fresh perspectives from leading experts in the field on the latest advances in zoo and wild animal medicine. NEW! Color images vividly depict external clinical signs for more accurate recognition and diagnosis.
Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases by 
CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine by 
Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine by
Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine Designed as a practical resource, Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine provides an evidence-based approach to the veterinary care of fish. This guide--written and edited by experts in the field--contains essential information on husbandry, diagnostics, and case management of bony and cartilaginous fish. This important resource: Provides clinically relevant information on topics such as anatomy, water quality, life-support systems, nutrition, behavioral training, clinical examination, clinical pathology, diagnostic imaging, necropsy techniques, anesthesia and analgesia, surgery, medical treatment, and transport Describes common presenting problems of fish, including possible differentials and practical approaches Reviews key information on non-infectious and infectious diseases of fish in a concise format that is easily accessible in a clinical setting Written for veterinarians, biologists, technicians, specialists, and students, Clinical Guide to Fish Medicine offers a comprehensive review of veterinary medicine of fish.
Medical Management of Wildlife Species by 
Invertebrate Medicine by 
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine Current Therapy by 
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine Current Therapy, Volume 10 by Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases of the Southeastern United States by 
Ferrets, Rabbits and Rodents - E-Book: Clinical Medicine and Surgery by 
Current Therapy in Reptile Medicine and Surgery by 
The Elasmobranch Husbandry Manual II: Recent Advances in the Care of Sharks, Rays and their Relatives by 
Pathology of Wildlife and Zoo Animals by 
Zoo Animal and Wildlife Immobilization and Anesthesia by *In addition to Day 1 core reading materials.
Note: The discipline each book or journal is recommended as study material for is noted with the book (aquatic, general zoo, wildlife, zoological companion animals).
Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine Current Therapy by 
Fowler's Zoo and Wild Animal Medicine Current Therapy, Volume 7 by CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine by Invertebrate Medicine by
Presented in full color for the first time, Invertebrate Medicine is the definitive resource on husbandry and veterinary medicine in invertebrate species. Presenting authoritative information applicable to both in-human care and wild invertebrates, this comprehensive volume addresses the medical care and clinical condition of most important invertebrate species--providing biological data for sponges, jellyfish, anemones, snails, sea hares, corals, cuttlefish, squid, octopuses, clams, oysters, crabs, crayfish, lobsters, shrimp, hermit crabs, spiders, scorpions, horseshoe crabs, honey bees, butterflies, beetles, sea stars, sea urchins, sea cucumbers, various worms, and many other invertebrate groups. The extensively revised third edition contains new information and knowledge throughout, offering timely coverage of significant advances in invertebrate anesthesia, analgesia, diagnostic imaging, surgery, and welfare. New and updated chapters incorporate recent publications on species including crustaceans, jellyfishes, corals, honeybees, and a state-of-the-science formulary. In this edition, the authors also discuss a range of topics relevant to invertebrate caretaking including conservation, laws and regulations, euthanasia, diagnostic techniques, and sample handling. Edited by a leading veterinarian and expert in the field, Invertebrate Medicine, Third Edition: Provides a comprehensive reference to all aspects of invertebrate medicine Offers approximately 200 new pages of expanded content Features more than 400 full color images and new contributions from leading veterinarians and specialists for each taxon Includes updated chapters of reportable diseases, neoplasia, sources of invertebrates and supplies, and a comprehensive formulary The standard reference text in the field, Invertebrate Medicine, Third Edition is essential reading for practicing veterinarians, veterinary students, advanced hobbyists, aquarists and aquaculturists, and professional animal caretakers in zoo animal, exotic animal, and laboratory animal medicine.
Current Therapy in Exotic Pet Practice by 
The Wildlife Techniques Manual by
The #1 selling wildlife management book for 40 years, now updated for the next generation of professionals and students. Since its original publication in 1960, The Wildlife Techniques Manual has remained the cornerstone text for the professional wildlife biologist. Now fully revised and updated, this eighth edition promises to be the most comprehensive resource on wildlife biology, conservation, and management for years to come. Superbly edited by Nova J. Silvy and published in association with The Wildlife Society, the 50 authoritative chapters included in this work provide a full synthesis of methods used in the field and laboratory. Chapter authors, all leading wildlife professionals, explain and critique traditional and new methodologies and offer thorough discussions of a wide range of relevant topics. To effectively incorporate the explosion of new information in the wildlife profession, this latest edition is logically organized into a 2-volume set: Volume 1 is devoted to research techniques and Volume 2 focuses on pragmatic management methodologies. Volume 1 describes research design and proper analytic methods prior to conducting research, as well as methods and considerations for capturing and handling wild animals and information on identification and marking of captured animals. It also includes new chapters on nutritional research and field sign identification, and on emerging topics, including structured decision-making. Finally, Volume 1 addresses measurements of wildlife abundance and habitat and research on individual animals. Volume 2 begins with a section on the relationship between research and management including public outreach, described in a context that encourages engagement prior to initiation of management. An adaptive management approach is described as a cornerstone of natural resource management, followed by a section on managing landscapes and wildlife populations. The volume also includes new chapters on ethics in wildlife science and conservation, conflict resolution and management, and land reclamation. A standard text in a variety of courses, the Techniques Manual, as it is commonly called, covers every aspect of modern wildlife management and provides practical information for applying the hundreds of methods described in its pages. This deft and thorough update ensures that The Wildlife Techniques Manual will remain an indispensable resource, one that professionals and students in wildlife biology, conservation, and management simply cannot do without.
The Elasmobranch Husbandry Manual II: Recent Advances in the Care of Sharks, Rays and their Relatives by Veterinary Clinics of North America: Exotic Animal Practice
Management of Disease in Wild Mammals by
In recent years nobody could have failed to notice the frequent and often sensati- alist media headlines warning of the latest global disease threat to humankind. But behind all the hyperbole lie real challenges related to dealing with the increasing incidence of emerging zoonotic disease events, the majority of which are thought to originate in wildlife (Jones et al. 2008). There are also many important diseases of domestic livestock which also occur in wildlife (e. g. foot and mouth disease and classical swine fever in wild boar, bovine tuberculosis in deer, badgers or possums), some of which can have a devastating impact on the farming industry, the wider rural economy and ultimately the public purse. But we should also not forget that wildlife diseases may have serious implications for the conservation of biodiversity. For some of the rarest, most endangered species (such as the Ethiopian wolf) d- ease may pose the greatest threat to their survival. If we are to avoid or reduce these impacts then we must improve our ability to detect and manage the risks associated with disease in wildlife populations. This is a challenge that will require expertise from many different disciplines: veterinary, ecological, medical, economic, poli- cal and zoological. In such an interdisciplinary field it is difficult to stay up to date with contemporary ideas and with techniques that may be rapidly evolving.
