This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology (ACVCP) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
"The following list contains references the Examination Committee suggests for use in preparation for the examination. The source of questions is not necessarily limited to this reference list. Candidates also are encouraged to consider contemporary articles in reputable journals pertaining to veterinary clinical pharmacology and applied therapeutics. The most recent editions of the following are suggested reading:"
Phase I Exam Information for Candidates
"The following list contains references the Examination Committee suggests for use in preparation for the examination. The source of questions is not necessarily limited to this reference list. The most recent editions of the following textbooks are suggested for reading." Sources of Study Materials
Phase II Exam Information for Candidates
Source: ACVCP General Information for Candidates
This resource updated: 5/24/23
Source reading list reviewed: 5/24/23
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
"The following list contains references the Examination Committee suggests for use in preparation for the examination. The source of questions is not necessarily limited to this reference list. Candidates also are encouraged to consider contemporary articles in reputable journals pertaining to veterinary clinical pharmacology and applied therapeutics. The most recent editions of the following are suggested reading:"
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Comparative Pharmacokinetics by
Now in a revised edition, Comparative Pharmacokinetics: Principles, Techniques, and Applications presents the principles and techniques of comparative and veterinary pharmacokinetics in a detailed yet practical manner. Developed as a tool for ensuring that pharmacokinetics studies are properly designed and correctly interpreted, the book provides complete coverage of the conceptual basis of pharmacokinetics as used for quantifying biological processes from the perspectives of physiology and medicine. New chapters have been added on quantitative structure permeability relationships and bioequivalence, and a number of existing chapters have been significantly revised and expanded to provide a current resource for veterinary and comparative pharmacokinetics.
Antimicrobial Therapy in Veterinary Medicine by
The Fifth Edition of Antimicrobial Therapy in Veterinary Medicine, the most comprehensive reference available on veterinary antimicrobial drug use, has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the rapid advancements in the field of antimicrobial therapy. Encompassing all aspects of antimicrobial drug use in animals, the book provides detailed coverage of virtually all types of antimicrobials relevant to animal health. Now with a new chapter on antimicrobial therapy in zoo animals, Antimicrobial Therapy in Veterinary Medicine offers a wealth of invaluable information for appropriately prescribing antimicrobial therapies and shaping public policy. Divided into four sections covering general principles of antimicrobial therapy, classes of antimicrobial agents, special considerations, and antimicrobial drug use in multiple animal species, the text is enhanced by tables, diagrams, and photos. Antimicrobial Therapy in Veterinary Medicine is an essential resource for anyone concerned with the appropriate use of antimicrobial drugs, including veterinary practitioners, students, public health veterinarians, and industry and research scientists.
Veterinary Toxicology by
Veterinary Toxicology, 2nd Edition, is a unique single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology and builds upon these principles to offer an essential clinical resource for those practicing in the field. This new edition brings together insights from qualified and well-experienced authorities across all areas of veterinary toxicology to provide an authoritative and in-depth look at all facets of veterinary toxicology, including target organ toxicity, melamine and cyanuric acid, toxicogenomics, chemical terrorism and nanoparticles. While most comparable texts are primarily directed toward the field of human toxicology, this is the one text needed to thoroughly prepare future veterinarians on the newest approaches for diagnosing poisoning cases in all animals from chemicals and plants of a diverse nature as a result of inadvertent, accidental, or malicious intents. It is thoroughly updated with new chapters and the latest coverage of topics not tackled in any previous books such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology. There are also expanded discussions on international topics such as epidemiology of animal poisonings and regulatory guidelines and poisonous plants in Europe. Problem solving strategies are offered for treatment. This volume will be of interest to practitioners, professors and students of veterinary medicine and veterinary toxicology, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists and animal scientists.
Clinical Veterinary Toxicology by
This book covers all aspects of toxicology, including toxic diseases of large animals, small animals, and exotic pets. It provides key information on how poisons affect the body, how the body responds to a foreign substance, how poisonings are diagnosed, and how poisonings are treated. Coverage includes every organ system of every species of animal with details on each body system's susceptibility to poison. Poisons affect animals differently depending on species, breed, age, gender, health status, and reproductive status. This resource addresses these differences, allowing the veterinarian to determine the class of toxicant, the mechanism of action, and the proper course of treatment. If confronted with an unknown poison, the information in this book will assist the veterinarian in formulating a list of potential poisons based on the clinical signs that the animal is exhibiting, and in choosing the appropriate tests to narrow the list to one or a few possible poisons. Most comprehensive toxicology book available Written in a user-friendly style that makes it easy to master the content Covers poisonings in both large and small domestic animals The Principles of Toxicology section provides comprehensive coverage of concepts & terminology, toxicokinetics, treatments, and regulatory information The Manifestations of Toxicoses section is devoted to differentiating between poisons based on lesions and clinical signs The Classes of Toxicants section offers detailed information on each poison, including sources, risk factors, pathophysiology, clinical signs and lesions, diagnostic testing, and treatment The author is board-certified in toxicology, and the contributors are all toxicologists and educators, ensuring authoritative, up-to-date clinical information
"The following list contains references the Examination Committee suggests for use in preparation for the examination. The source of questions is not necessarily limited to this reference list."
"The most recent editions of the following textbooks are suggested reading:"
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Comparative Pharmacokinetics: Principles, Techniques, and Applications by 
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine Expert Consult by 
Large Animal Internal Medicine by
Large Animal Internal Medicine, 4th Edition features a problem-based approach with discussions of over 150 clinical signs. This is the first internal medicine reference that enables you to efficiently diagnose horses, cattle, sheep, and goats based on clinical observation and laboratory and diagnostic testing. With this user-friendly format, you can find essential information about specific diseases and reach a diagnosis by simply identifying the signs. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you observe and what laboratory tests reveal. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. Color plates accompanying Diseases of the Eye and Diseases of the Alimentary Tract chapters illustrate the clinical appearance of ophthalmologic conditions and endoscopic views of equine alimentary tract disorders. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. An extensive list of useful references on a companion website, many linked to their original source on PubMed, enables you to continue research on specific topics of interest. Thorough and extensive index makes it easy to quickly locate key information. NEW! Extensively updated content from expert authors clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on pain, the nervous system, toxicology, BVD, malignant catarrhal fever, bluetongue, and strong ions. NEW! Vaccines and vaccination protocols keep you up-to-date with the information you need to prevent newly emerging diseases in large animals. NEW! Expanded coverage of the veterinarian's role in animal welfare; equine abdominal ultrasound; DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers supplies you with the most current large animal internal medicine information. NEW! Current information on foreign animal diseases dangerous to large animals in the US, including coverage of rinderpest, keeps you aware of diseases that can be transmitted from other countries.
Equine Pharmacology by
Equine Pharmacology combines highly practical therapeutic guidance with reliable scientific background information to provide a clinically relevant resource. Taking a body systems approach to the subject, the book offers the equine clinician fast access to drug options for a given disease, with additional information available for reference as needed. Logically organized to lead the reader through the clinical decision-making process, Equine Pharmacology is a user-friendly reference for pharmacological information on the horse. The book begins with a general review section presenting the principles of antimicrobials, anesthesia, analgesics, anti-parasitics, foals, fluid therapy, and drug and medication control programs. The remainder of the book is devoted to a body systems approach to therapeutics, allowing the reader to search by affected system or specific disease to find detailed advice on drug therapy. Equine Pharmacology is an invaluable addition to the practice library for any clinician treating equine patients.
Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Data Analysis by
Pharmacokinetic and Pharmacodynamic Data Analysis: Concepts and Applications teaches everyday biological data analysis to the undergraduate and graduate levels. Through numerous examples and over 100 tutorials, scientists learn how to use PK/PD seamlessly in a variety of practical areas, from simple plasma kinetics, multi-compartment models, nonlinear kinetics, plasma protein binding, pharmacodynamic models, turnover concepts, receptor binding, functional adaption and rebound, dose-response-time data analysis, inter-species scaling and a lot more. A substantial effort has been invested into the new pharmacokineticsand pharmacodynamics, including many new and updated Case Studies. The text develops a logical, real-world approach to data and reasoning, showing the reader how to: Think both analytically and visually about data Use graphics to make a point Impove your pattern recognition ability Make sound decisions Strategize your data analyses Appreciate more fully the exciting field of Quantitative Pharmacology
Clarke's Analytical Forensic Toxicology by
This second edition of Clarke's Analytical Forensic Toxicology offers a fresh perspective on the drugs and poisons that you are most likely to encounter in forensic toxicology, with a focus on collection, extraction and analysis. With additional features incorporated from the fourth edition of Clarke's Analysis of Drugs and Poisons this text is fully updated to reflect the advances in analytical and forensic toxicology. New and extended chapters include: sampling, storage and stability; in-utero exposure to drugs of abuse; drug-facilitated sexual assault; and extraction. Providing unrivalled comprehensive coverage of analytical forensic toxicology, this book is a crucial resource for students of forensic science, toxicology, clinical pharmacology and analytical chemistry. It is an invaluable tool for teachers in these subject areas and a key resource for those working in forensic science laboratories.
Understanding Susceptibility Test Data as a Component of Antimicrobial Stewardship in Veterinary Settings by Performance Standards for Antimicrobial Disk and Dilution Susceptibility Tests for Bacteria Isolated from Animals by According to ACVCP, some of the monographs were originally published in a Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics journal issues, which is likely where the name "JVPT-USP Monographs" originated. They belong to AAVPT and are also called "AAVPT-USP Monographs," which are listed on the website as “veterinary clinical drug information monographs".
The candidate should keep abreast on new peer-reviewed articles related to pharmacology and clinical
pharmacology by reading articles from the Journal of Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics within
the previous 5 years.
A history of antimicrobial drugs in animals: Evolution and revolution by Free drug fraction vs free drug concentration: a matter of frequent confusion by Pharmacokinetic terms: symbols and units by Population variability in animal health: Influence on dose-exposure-response relationships: Part II: Modelling and simulation by Scientific method: Statistical errors by 
Introduction to Modern Liquid Chromatography by
The latest edition of the authoritative reference to HPLC High-performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) is today the leading technique for chemical analysis and related applications, with an ability to separate, analyze, and/or purify virtually any sample. Snyder and Kirkland's Introduction to Modern Liquid Chromatography has long represented the premier reference to HPLC. This Third Edition, with John Dolan as added coauthor, addresses important improvements in columns and equipment, as well as major advances in our understanding of HPLC separation, our ability to solve problems that were troublesome in the past, and the application of HPLC for new kinds of samples. This carefully considered Third Edition maintains the strengths of the previous edition while significantly modifying its organization in light of recent research and experience. The text begins by introducing the reader to HPLC, its use in relation to other modern separation techniques, and its history, then leads into such specific topics as: The basis of HPLC separation and the general effects of different experimental conditions Equipment and detection The column--the "heart" of the HPLC system Reversed-phase separation, normal-phase chromatography, gradient elution, two-dimensional separation, and other techniques Computer simulation, qualitative and quantitative analysis, and method validation and quality control The separation of large molecules, including both biological and synthetic polymers Chiral separations, preparative separations, and sample preparation Systematic development of HPLC separations--new to this edition Troubleshooting tricks, techniques, and case studies for both equipment and chromatograms Designed to fulfill the needs of the full range of HPLC users, from novices to experts, Introduction to Modern Liquid Chromatography, Third Edition offers the most up-to-date, comprehensive, and accessible survey of HPLC methods and applications available.
Statistics for Veterinary and Animal Science by
Banish your fears of statistical analysis using this clearly written and highly successful textbook. Statistics for Veterinary and Animal Science Third Edition is an introductory text which assumes no previous knowledge of statistics. It starts with very basic methodology and builds on it to encompass some of the more advanced techniques that are currently used. This book will enable you to handle numerical data and critically appraise the veterinary and animal science literature. Written in a non-mathematical way, the emphasis is on understanding the underlying concepts and correctly interpreting computer output, and not on working through mathematical formulae. Key features: Flow charts are provided to enable you to choose the correct statistical analyses in different situations Numerous real worked examples are included to help you master the procedures Two statistical packages, SPSS and Stata, are used to analyse data to familiarise you with typical computer output The data sets from the examples in the book are available as electronic files to download from the book's companion website in ASCII, Excel, SPSS, Stata and R Workspace formats, allowing you to practice using your own software and fully get to grips with the techniques A clear indication is provided of the more advanced or obscure topics so that, if desired, you can skip them without loss of continuity. New to this edition: New chapter on reporting guidelines relevant to veterinary medicine as a ready reference for those wanting to follow best practice in planning and writing up research New chapter on critical appraisal of randomized controlled trials and observational studies in the published literature: a template is provided which is used to critically appraise two papers New chapter introducing specialist topics: ethical issues of animal investigations, spatial statistics, veterinary surveillance, and statistics in molecular and quantitative genetics Expanded glossaries of notation and terms Additional exercises and further explanations added throughout to make the book more comprehensive. Carrying out statistical procedures and interpreting the results is an integral part of veterinary and animal science. This is the only book on statistics that is specifically written for veterinary science and animal science students, researchers and practitioners.
Challenges in exploring the cytochrome P450 system as a source of variation in canine drug pharmacokinetics by Cytochrome P450 and its role in veterinary drug interactions by Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute VET 02: Development of Quality Control Ranges. Breakpoints, and Interpretive Categories for Antimicrobial Agents Used in Veterinary Medicine, Chapter 5 Process of Establishing Breakpoints, 4 th edition 2021
Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics by
Formerly Clinical Pharmacokinetics: Concepts and Applications, this fully updated Fourth Edition has been retitled Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics: Concepts and Applications to reflect the increasing body of knowledge linking the two concepts that explain the relationship between drug administration and drug response. This revised edition also reflects the explosion in our understanding at the molecular and mechanistic levels of all the processes controlling the pharmacokinetics of drugs. The text is authored by two leading international experts on the clinical aspects of pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics and is widely considered one of the authoritative texts on the subject. A companion website includes the full text online, plus interactive simulations for student practice using different pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic models and parameters.
Study design synopsis: Designing and performing pharmacokinetic studies for systemically administered drugs in horses by Food animal specific toxicology: Veterinary Clinics of North America Food Animal Practice 27(2)Veterinary Toxicology by
Veterinary Toxicology, 2nd Edition, is a unique single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology and builds upon these principles to offer an essential clinical resource for those practicing in the field. This new edition brings together insights from qualified and well-experienced authorities across all areas of veterinary toxicology to provide an authoritative and in-depth look at all facets of veterinary toxicology, including target organ toxicity, melamine and cyanuric acid, toxicogenomics, chemical terrorism and nanoparticles. While most comparable texts are primarily directed toward the field of human toxicology, this is the one text needed to thoroughly prepare future veterinarians on the newest approaches for diagnosing poisoning cases in all animals from chemicals and plants of a diverse nature as a result of inadvertent, accidental, or malicious intents. It is thoroughly updated with new chapters and the latest coverage of topics not tackled in any previous books such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology. There are also expanded discussions on international topics such as epidemiology of animal poisonings and regulatory guidelines and poisonous plants in Europe. Problem solving strategies are offered for treatment. This volume will be of interest to practitioners, professors and students of veterinary medicine and veterinary toxicology, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists and animal scientists.
"Recommended Journals or Items for Review (note that this list is not exhaustive and the prudent examinee would review other relevant journals for other relevant articles, particularly for timely topics). Journals for Review (last 3 to 5 years up to 6 months prior to exam date):"
Although links are provided below, these often change and it is the responsibility of the
examinee to search and find the documents.
Drug labels provide information on dosage and administration, warnings, contra-
indications, pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic data, safety and effectiveness data, and
withdrawal times for food animal drugs.