This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Surgeons (ACVS) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
Source: ACVS Certification Examination Reading List
This resource updated: 06/08/2023
"The following references and books are suggested reading for preparation for the 2021 Phase I examination. Other textbooks and current references may be pertinent. Page numbers refer to print textbooks. Digital versions may have different page numbers."
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
AO Principles of Fracture Management in the Dog and Cat by 
Anatomy of the Dog by Please note that if no page numbers are given, the entire chapter is included
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by
Focus on the "how" and "why" of medical/surgical conditions - the critical issues that lead to successful outcomes for your patients - with Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal, Second Edition. This two-volume full-color resource offers an authoritative, comprehensive review of disease processes, a thorough evaluation of basic clinical science information, and in-depth discussion of advanced surgeries. With an updated Expert Consult website you can access anytime and detailed coverage of surgical procedures, it is the definitive reference for surgical specialists, practicing veterinarians, and residents. Expert Consult website offers access to the entire text online, plus references linked to original abstracts on PubMed. Comprehensive coverage includes surgical biology, surgical methods and perioperative care, neurosurgery, and orthopedics in Volume One, and all soft tissue surgery organized by body system in Volume Two. Extensive references to published studies available on Expert Consult show the factual basis for the material. Strong blend of clinical and basic science information facilitates a clear understanding of clinical issues surrounding operative situations. Highly recognized contributing authors create chapters from their own experience and knowledge base, providing the most authoritative, current information available. Coverage of anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology in chapters on specific organs includes information critical to operative procedures and patient management. In-depth chapters on anesthesia, surgical oncology, tumors of the spine, and musculoskeletal neoplasia provide valuable resources for practicing surgeons, especially in the area of cancer treatment. Preoperative considerations and surgical implications for surgical procedures help surgeons make decisions about treatment approaches. NEW and UPDATED! Expert Consult website with print text plus complete online access to the book's contents, so you can use it anytime - anywhere. EXPANDED! Coverage of interventional radiology techniques in Volume Two (soft tissue volume) to provide cutting-edge information on contemporary imaging modalities that gain access to different structures of the patient's body for diagnostic and therapeutic reasons. NEW and UPDATED! Expanded coverage of coaptation devices and small animal prosthetics clearly explains how they are used in a variety of clinical situations. EXPANDED! Principles of minimally invasive plate treatment added to Volume One (orthopedic volume) to show how these advancements maximize healing and protect the patient while meeting the surgeon's goals in using fracture fixation.
Equine Surgery by 
Cunningham's Textbook of Veterinary Physiology by 
Equine Anesthesia: Monitoring and emergency therapy by 
Farm Animal Surgery by 
Diagnostic and Surgical Arthroscopy in the Horse by Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Advances in Equine Laparoscopy by 
Equine Wound Management by 
Dyce, Sack, and Wensing's Textbook of Veterinary Anatomy by
Gain the working anatomic knowledge that is crucial to your understanding of the veterinary basic sciences with Textbook of Veterinary Anatomy, 5th Edition. By focusing on the essential anatomy of each species, this well-established book details information directly applicable to the care of dogs, cats, horses, cows, pigs, sheep, goats, birds, and camelids - and points out similarities and differences among species. Each chapter includes a conceptual overview that describes the structure and function of an anatomic region, and new diagrams facilitate comprehension of bodily functions. Comprehensive coverage of a multitude of species (dogs, cats, birds, horses, cows, pigs, sheep, goats, and now camelids) provides comparative anatomic information all in one resource. Focuses on essential anatomy of each species, making this text ideal for any veterinary school curriculum that is covering the same amount of material in a reduced number of hours for course completion. Clinical cases throughout relate actual cases to the study of anatomy to increase your understanding of how patients will present in practice. Evolve site for students and instructors with a test bank, sample flash cards, and an image collection reinforces your understanding of veterinary anatomy - and helps you prepare for the NAVLE board exam. Content is logically organized into two main sections - a general introduction to mammalian anatomy and a region-specific breakdown - to make studying more efficient and ensure greater understanding. Flash cards and coloring book support the text and give you the opportunity to study anatomy in different ways to increase retention of what you have learned. NEW and EXPANDED! New and updated diagrams further illustrate the anatomic structure and function of each species to facilitate comprehension of bodily functions, presenting the closest thing possible to an actual "hands-on" clinical experience. EXPANDED! A 500-question Test Bank, designed for optimal NAVLE board exam preparation, lets you practice answering board-type questions. UPDATED! New information on the anatomy of camelids, a species that is gaining importance in farm animal practice, provides an overview of the camelid anatomy and highlights any major differences compared to other species.
"The following references and books are suggested reading for preparation for the current Phase I reading list, for preparation for the 2021 Phase II examination. Other textbooks and current references may be pertinent. Knowledge of basic and applied anatomy is assumed. Page numbers refer to print textbooks. Digital versions may have different page numbers."
Veterinary Surgery: Small Animal Expert Consult by 
Small Animal Surgery by AO Principles of Fracture Management in the Dog and Cat by 
Veterinary Surgical Oncology by
VETERINARY SURGICAL ONCOLOGY The new edition of the most comprehensive resource on surgical oncology, covering both basic and advanced surgical oncology procedures in small animals Veterinary Surgical Oncology is a detailed, highly illustrated reference to surgical treatment of cancer in small animal patients. Designed to provide in-depth coverage of surgical procedures, the book also includes useful information on diagnostic testing, complications, aftercare, outcomes, prognosis, and adjuvant or alternative therapies to assist veterinary surgeons and veterinary oncologists with decision making. Contributions by leaders in the field discuss the principles of surgical oncology, multimodal therapy, and interventional radiology, and describe surgical techniques in all anatomical structures. Now in its second edition, Veterinary Surgical Oncology is fully revised and incorporates new material, including a brand-new chapter discussing the anatomic, functional, and ethical limits of surgical oncology procedures. This edition contains expanded coverage of interventional oncology with discussion of these techniques in relevant chapters, additional surgical procedures, as well as more information regarding other modalities, including extravasation of chemotherapy and the effects of chemotherapy and radiation therapy on wound healing. Additional surgical procedures are supported by new figures, improved images, and up-to-date information. This authoritative surgical oncologic textbook: Emphasizes a multidisciplinary approach to cancer treatment that integrates diagnostic imaging, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, alternative therapies, and cancer biology Provides new and expanded sections by specialist medical oncologists, surgeons, and a specialist neurologist that cover all the latest advances in the field Includes more than 800 high-quality images and illustrations Features a new companion website with videos Veterinary Surgical Oncology, Second Edition remains essential reading for all practicing veterinarians, as well as specialists and trainees in veterinary surgery, oncology, and internal medicine.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by Anatomy of the Dog by
Featuring unparalleled full-color illustrations and detailed descriptions, Miller and Evan's Anatomy of the Dog, 5th Edition makes it easy to master the intricate details of canine morphology. Content has been updated throughout the text to reflect the latest knowledge regarding the development, structure, and function of the canine body. Chapters in the text are logically organized by body system and written by expert anatomists who lend their extensive knowledge of particular structures. Plus, there's a special introductory chapter on breed categories from the American Kennel Club to help you understand dog breeds and how they are determined. This new edition also features an enhanced focus on digital radiology and includes upgraded MR and CT scans throughout the text. Most notably, however, are the elaborate full-color illustrations by expert medical illustrators that bring complex anatomy to life in a way that no other vet text can. Overall, Miller and Evan's Anatomy of the Dog is an invaluable reference for veterinary students, clinicians, technicians, breeders, and animal specialists alike. Elaborate full-color illustrations created by expert medical illustrators bring canine structures to life and enhance your understanding of their function. The most up-to-date nomenclature from the Nomina Anatomica Veterinaria (NAV) ? the standard reference for anatomical (zootomical) terminology - is reflected throughout the text's content. Up-to-date text and bibliographic references from the most current literature offer easy access to all primary sources of information for further study and interpretation. Expert anatomist authors contribute their current knowledge of particular structures. Chapters logically organized by body system follows the course structure in most veterinary school curricula. Coverage of AKC breed categories offers a basic understanding of dog breeds and how they are determined by the American Kennel Club. NEW! Co-editor John W. Hermanson joins the team of Evans and de Lahunta to provide further expertise in the areas of anatomy and comparative anatomy. NEW! Upgraded digital radiology with a special emphasis on MR and CT scans has been incorporated throughout the text.
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by Equine Surgery by 
Equine Fracture Repair by Farm Animal Surgery by Diagnostic and Surgical Arthroscopy in the Horse by 
Advances in Equine Laparoscopy by 
Equine Wound Management by "The majority of questions come from literature published in the last five years. For example, if you are taking the 2024 examination, questions will primarily come from literature published in the range of August 1 2018-July 31 2023 (five years) and August 1 2020-July 31 2023 (three years). Questions may also come from older articles considering significant and essential to the knowledge of the veterinary surgeon."
"Many journals contain articles pertaining to surgery (both human and veterinary) and should be perused for current literature. A partial list of journals includes:"
For the last five years:
For the last three years:
For the last five years:
