This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Dermatology (ACVD) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
American College of Veterinary Dermatology Reading Guide For Residents:
"Exam Study: This list of journals and textbooks is not all-inclusive and does not exclude the possible use of additional sources not specifically listed in this reference guide. However, it does reflect the current (2013-2014) examination committee’s use of references commonly used for test material. Examination questions are written by members of the entire college, thus many different sources are used. The committee generally requires that the information used for each exam question be cited in at least 2 different references. One of the references MUST be from the ACVD Exam Reference Guide. This is done to help minimize the use of obscure references that are not widely available. The cutoff date for inclusion of new material for this year’s exam is April 30th
Any references published after this date will not be used for this year’s exam. When possible the most current edition of texts should be used for review.
"Information that is older than 5 years but is still up to date (e.g. relating to structure/function) is still considered acceptable subject matter for exam questions."
Source: ACVD Exam Reading & Reference Materials, American College of Veterinary Dermatology
This resource updated: 5/26/2023
Source reading list reviewed: 5/26/23
Source reading list updated by specialty board: January 2021
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by 
Advances in Veterinary Dermatology, Volume 7 by
Representing the state of the art of veterinary dermatology around the globe, Advances in Veterinary Dermatology, Volume 7, presents selected scientific papers from the Seventh World Congress of Veterinary Dermatology. The Congress, held in Vancouver, Canada in July 2012, was organized with the support of the World Association for Veterinary Dermatology (WAVD) and its affiliated societies. A record number of delegates attended from over 50 countries to take advantage of the exceptional scientific program. Cutting edge information was presented as review papers and original studies in the areas of: Allergy Immunology Skin Biology Therapy Infectious Diseases Oncology These peer-reviewed and edited papers were published in the journal Veterinary Dermatology in volume 24, issue 1, and are included in this hardbound book volume of the conference proceedings. Also included are 13 Workshop Reports which summarise sessions where experts presented topics in various areas providing a wonderful opportunity for colleagues to ask questions and exchange ideas in an informal atmosphere. A vital resource for all practising veterinarians and researchers interested in the field of veterinary dermatology.
Advances in Veterinary Dermatology, Volume 8 by
Representing the most recent developments in veterinary dermatology around the globe, Advances in Veterinary Dermatology, Volume 8, presents selected scientific papers from the Eighth World Congress of Veterinary Dermatology. The Congress, held in Bordeaux, France in June 2016, hosted an exceptional scientific program, with delegates attending from over 70 countries. Cutting edge information was presented as review papers and original studies in the areas of: Genetics and genomics Allergy New trends in therapy Skin biology Infectious diseases New diagnostic approaches These peer-reviewed and edited papers were published in the journal Veterinary Dermatology in volume 28 issue 1, and are included in this volume of the conference proceedings. Also included are 11 workshop reports which summarise sessions where experts presented topics in various areas providing a wonderful opportunity for colleagues to ask questions and exchange ideas in an informal atmosphere. Advances in Veterinary Dermatology, Volume 8 is a vital resource for all practising veterinarians and researchers interested in the field of veterinary dermatology.
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Dermatology by 
Small Animal Dermatology Secrets by 
Current Therapy in Equine Medicine 5 by 
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine: Diseases of the Dog and the Cat by 
Canine and Feline Endocrinology and Reproduction by 
Fitzpatrick's Dermatology in General Medicine by 
Current Veterinary Therapy Food Animal Practice 5 by 
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians by 
Skin Tumors of the Dog and Cat by 
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by 
Greene's Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by
Greene''s Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat, 5th Edition provides a comprehensive, clinically useful reference on the management of infectious diseases caused by viruses, bacteria (including rickettsiae, chlamydiae, mycoplasmas, and spirochetes), fungi, algae, protozoa, parasites, and other atypical agents. Each section guides the reader through diagnostic testing for specific infectious diseases, from specimen collection to laboratory submission to interpretation of results to appropriate treatment measures. Full-color illustrations and hundreds of tables provide convenient access to diagnostic and therapeutic recommendations, along with the appropriate drug dosages for effective treatment and prevention. A fully searchable enhanced eBook version is included with print purchase, allowing access to all of the text and figures on a variety of digital devices. More than 150 internationally recognized experts contribute chapters on topics in their field of specialty. Clear and logical organization of chapters provides a solid basis for an approach to diseases caused by specific pathogens, with the first part of the book including sections on diagnostic approaches, treatments (including recommended antimicrobial drug doses), and prevention. Specific pathogens are addressed in the second part of the book, using a structured approach that includes etiology/epidemiology (relevance to wildlife animal hosts, role of the environment), clinical and laboratory findings, treatment, prevention, and public health implications. Case examples illustrate principles and highlight how the material can be applied. More than 800 clinical images, maps, life cycles, and photomicrographs assist with accurate understanding of epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis of disease, and disease prevention. Visually appealing maps and life-cycle drawings enhance your comprehension and retention of the material. Convenient drug dosage tables in each chapter provide complete prescribing information; chapters on antimicrobial drugs in the first part of the book summarize pharmacokinetics, indications, contraindications, handling and administration guidelines; and dosage recommendations are made for antivirals, antibacterials, antifungals, antiprotozoals, and antiparasitic drugs. The book emphasizes approaches to optimize antimicrobial stewardship. Clinical Problems section helps you understand what infectious diseases should be considered in animals seen with clinical signs relating to different organ systems. Suggested readings and references are listed in each chapter, facilitating further research and study. Fully searchable enhanced eBook version is included with print purchase, allowing access to all of the text and figures on a variety of digital devices. NEW! Improved format includes overarching information on diagnosis, treatment, and prevention in the first part of the book, followed by specific pathogens and clinical problems in the second and third parts of the book, respectively. NEW! Parasite section includes coverage of disease caused by nematodes, (including heartworm disease), cestodes, trematodes, mites, ticks, fleas, and biting flies. NEW! Renewed focus on clinical relevance is applied throughout the text. NEW! Updated clinical images, maps, and life-cycle drawings are included in every chapter. NEW! Expanded sections on public health for each pathogen emphasize the One Health approach, promoting the interrelationship of human, animal, and environmental health. NEW! Information on SARS-CoV-2 relates its importance and relevance to animal health. NEW! Updated information on vaccination recommendations for client-owned and shelter animals is included as an Appendix.
Current Veterinary Dermatology: The Science and Art of Therapy by 
Skin Diseases of the Dog and Cat: Clinical and Histopathologic Diagnosis by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XV by
Written by today?s leading experts, Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy, Volume XV keeps you completely current with the latest in disease management for dogs and cats. It uses a clear and practical approach to medical disorders; the typical chapter includes both a brief guide to diagnosis and a detailed discussion of therapy. You?ll gain quick access to information such as critical care; infectious, toxicologic, and dermatologic disorders; and diseases of the gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, respiratory, urinary, reproductive, neurologic,and ophthalmologic systems. From editors John Bonagura and David Twedt plus hundreds of expert contributors, Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy enhances your skills in evidence-based treatment planning. "For the practitioner who wants to keep abreast of current therapies for a wide range of topics, . CVT is the perfect reference ." Reviewed by: Ryan Ong, WAVES Veterinary Hospital on behalf of Australian Veterinary Hospital, March 2015 Authoritative, easy-to-read coverage includes a brief approach to diagnosis with detailed discussions of the latest therapies. An organ-system organization and a convenient index make it easy to find solutions for specific disorders. Treatment algorithms help you manage patients with difficult medical problems. A handy Table of Common Drugs, updated by Dr. Mark Papich, offers a quick reference to dosage information. 365 illustrations depict the pathophysiologic basis for therapy or show the management of a defined condition. A companion website includes valuable information still relevant from CVT XIV, an index, and drug formulary, all fully searchable; a collection of 300 images; references that link to PubMed; and clinical references on laboratory test procedures and interpretation, normal reference ranges, conversion tables, and more. Concise chapters are only 2-5 pages in length, saving you time in finding essential information. Expert contributors and editors provide scientific, up-to-date coverage of clinically useful topics, including broad, traditional, and controversial subjects. References indicate related material from earlier volumes of Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy. NEW chapters cover the most important, emerging information on current diagnostic, treatment, and preventive challenges in today's veterinary practice. A new section on feline and canine nutrition covers important issues in nutritional health. 50 new chapter authors join hundreds of expert international contributors, all of whom are leading authorities in their fields. NEW! Availability as Pageburst ebook allows you digital access to this volume along with your library of other Elsevier references.
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIV by 
Kirk's Current Therapy XIII: Small Animal Practice by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XII, Small Animal Practice by 
Small Animal Dermatology: A Color Atlas the Therapeutic Guide by 
Medical and Veterinary Entomology by 
Muller and Kirk's Small Animal Dermatology by 
Pascoe's Principles and Practice of Equine Dermatology by 
Skin Diseases of Exotic Pets by 
Prescriber's Desk Reference by 
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Allergic Skin Diseases of Dogs and Cats by 
Roitt's Essential Immunology by 
Equine Dermatology by Large Animal Dermatology by 
Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology by 
Large Animal Internal Medicine by
Utilize a problem-oriented approach to the diagnosis of diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, and goats. Large Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition covers the diagnosis and management of disease in both ruminant and equine internal medicine. As the first veterinary internal medicine text to use a problem-based approach, it offers discussions of over 150 clinical signs and manifestations, as well as comprehensive coverage of laboratory and diagnostic testing. New to this edition is a versatile online reference platform and coverage of conditions that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand. In addition, thoroughly revised and updated content includes new vaccines and vaccination protocols; the most current laboratories for DNA, genetic, and PCR testing; and colostrum supplements and replacers. It's everything you need to stay up to date with the latest information on preventing and treating disease in large animals. Discussions of over 150 clinical signs or manifestations of disease provide you with a problem-based approach to diagnosis based on what you've observed and what laboratory tests reveal. Causes of Presenting Signs boxes offer quick access to the common, less common, and uncommon diseases associated with manifestations or signs of disease. Causes of Abnormal Laboratory Values boxes highlight the possible interpretations of abnormalities in clinical chemistry, hematology, blood proteins, and clotting tests. More than 200 expert authors contribute information in their areas of expertise for the most current, authoritative information on each topic. NEW! Expert Consult platform provides a versatile digital resource including bonus content, useful references, and videos to meet the needs of practicing equine and large animal veterinarians. NEW! Global conditions of importance are covered, including those previously not discussed, that exist in Europe, Central and South America, Australia, and New Zealand. NEW! Coverage of emerging and re-emerging diseases includes the new pathogen discovery. NEW! Assessment of vaccination status and susceptibility to infection discusses how antibody titers can predict protection for some pathogens. NEW! Description of epigenetics and metagenomics provides detailed coverage of these emerging areas of interest. NEW! Table of zoonoses obtained from large animals includes symptoms and disinfection needs. NEW! Videos demonstrate how to perform ultrasound imaging on an equine and cow abdomen clearly showing where to position the probe, and what depth to use for scans of the kidneys, liver, and bowel. NEW! Coverage of genetic disorders, Hydrocephalus in Fresians and Pulmonary hypoplasia with Anasarca in Dexter cattle help you to treat these disorders. NEW! Extensively updated content clarifies the latest research and clinical findings on the West Nile Virus, therapeutic drug monitoring, muscle disorders, GI microbiota, the genetic basis for Immune-mediated myositis in Quarter Horses, discoveries in antimicrobial drugs, anthelmintic, and vaccines, and more!
Veterinary Immunology by Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Tenth Edition is a fully updated and revised version of the gold-standard reference on the use of drug therapy in all major veterinary species. Provides current, detailed information on using drug therapies in all major domestic animal species Organized logically by drug class and treatment indication, with exhaustive information on the rational use of drugs in veterinary medicine Includes extensive tables of pharmacokinetic data, products available, and dosage regimens Adds new chapters on pharmaceutics, ophthalmic pharmacology, food animal pharmacology, and aquatic animal pharmacology Includes access to a companion website with the figures from the book in PowerPoint
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by 
Withrow and MacEwen's Small Animal Clinical Oncology by "Information that is older than 5 years but is still up to date (e.g. relating to structure/function) is considered acceptable subject matter for exam questions."
