The American College of Veterinary Nutrition (ACVN) examination disbanded on Oct. 1, 2021. Nutrition is now a specialty of ACVIM.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are studying the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
Source: Nutrition Residency Information
This resource updated: 06/07/2023
Choose one of the most recent editions of:
Biochemical, Physiological, and Molecular Aspects of Human Nutrition by 
Biochemistry by
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established first-and best resource for the essentials of biochemistry. Students rely on this text to help them quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information. For more than two decades, faculty and students have praised LIR Biochemistry's matchless illustrations that make concepts come to life. NEW! extensive revisions and updated content integrative and chapter-based cases new and updated figures new questions bonus online chapter on Blood Clotting Plus all the hallmark features you count on from Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews: Outline format - perfect for both concise review and foundational learning Annotated, full-color illustrations - visually explain complex biochemical processes Chapter overviews and summaries - reinforce your study time Clinical boxes - take students quickly from the classroom to the patient, associating key concepts with real-world scenarios More than 200 review questions in the book FREE with purchase! A comprehensive online exam featuring 500+ practice questions, plus fully searchable eBook
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry by 
Clinical Biochemistry of Domestic Animals by 
Textbook of Veterinary Physiological Chemistry by
Bridging the gap between basic and clinical science concepts, the Textbook of Veterinary Physiological Chemistry, Third Edition offers broad coverage of biochemical principles for students and practitioners of veterinary medicine. The only recent biochemistry book written specifically for the veterinary field, this text covers cellular-level concepts related to whole-body physiologic processes in a reader-friendly, approachable manner. Each chapter is written in a succinct and concise style that includes an overview summary section, numerous illustrations for best comprehension of the subject matter, targeted learning objectives, and end of the chapter study questions to assess understanding. With new illustrations and an instructor website with updated PowerPoint images, the Textbook of Veterinary Physiological Chemistry, Third Edition, proves useful to students and lecturers from diverse educational backgrounds. Sectional exams and case studies, new to this edition, extend the breadth and depth of learning resources.
Molecular Biology of the Cell by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by 
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease by 
Small Animal Clinical Nutrition by 
Clinical Nutrition by
This definitive reference presents the most comprehensive, clinically relevant coverage of nutrition in enteral and tube feeding. The New Edition has been completely revamped by a multidisciplinary editorial team to reflect all of the latest technology and nutritional knowledge, as well as the new, collaborative nature of contemporary clinical practice. Plus, a new bonus CD-ROM delivers self-assessment questions and answers, and a downloadable image collection of illustrations from the book. Delivers 21 brand-new chapters that address recent ASPEN clinical guidelines regarding pharmacotherapeutic issues and enteral formulations, including fluids and electrolytes · genetics · pre-, pro-, and synbiotics · food safety · regulatory issues · and more. Explores the unique enteral nutrition needs of specific patient populations such as pregnant and lactating women · children · adolescents · transplant candidates · cancer patients · obese patients · patients with kidney disorders · and diabetic patients. Features new editorial viewpoints representing surgery, nursing, pharmacy, and nutrition/dietetics, reflecting the new, multidisciplinary nature of the field. Offers a new bonus CD-ROM containing review questions and answers and more. Presents a new, more user-friendly internal An excellent study preparation tool for Nutrition Support Certification. With 78 contributing experts
Applied Veterinary Clinical Nutrition by
Applied Veterinary Clinical Nutrition provides current, clinically relevant nutritional advice intended for use in daily canine and feline practice. Highly practical, the book emphasizes solutions for integrating nutrition into clinical practice, with introductory chapters covering the foundation and science behind the recommendations and extensive references for further reading. Written by a group of leading veterinary nutritionists, Applied Veterinary Clinical Nutrition is a valuable resource on the principles of animal nutrition and feeding practices in healthy or diseased dogs and cats. The book begins with an overview of basic nutrition, energy requirements, and the basics of product guides, pet foods, home-prepared diets and dietary supplements. Subsequent chapters delve into feeding the healthy dog and cat, nutrition for weight management, and nutritional principles for a variety of diseases, with the final chapters covering enteral and parenteral nutrition. Applied Veterinary Clinical Nutrition is a daily reference for veterinary practitioners, students, and residents seeking authoritative information on feeding animals.
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals by
Nutritional Management of Hospitalized Small Animals offers veterinarians, veterinary students and technicians a comprehensive reference to the latest information relating to the principles and practice of nutritional support in small animals that require hospitalization. Represents the definitive resource for small animal veterinarians in providing optimal nutritional support for their patients during hospitalization Discusses and demonstrates the most up-to-date techniques available for successfully implementing nutritional support for hospitalized small animal patients Provides step-by-step pictorial instructions on how to implement the most appropriate techniques for particular patients Reveals expected outcomes and possible complications along with strategies to minimize risk of complications
Equine Applied and Clinical Nutrition by
Equine Applied and Clinical Nutrition is a landmark text that provides a comprehensive source of information on the nutrition and feeding management of horses. In this authoritative and accessible account, experts from around the world provide a global perspective while the editors tackle key controversial areas. Topics covered include the basic foundations of equine nutrition (digestive and metabolic physiology, nutrient functions and requirements), nutritional management by life stage or function, the assessment of feedstuffs and feeding programs, and clinical nutrition. Also included is discussion on feed hygiene and the role of manufacturers in feed quality and safety. The book contains abundant practical nutritional advice for the treatment of clinical conditions seen by veterinarians in their daily practice, together with the fundamental information needed to make recommendations for the nutritional management of healthy horses. Equine Applied and Clinical Nutrition provides the most substantial overview currently available of the nutritional management of key equine clinical conditions. It further presents the up-to-date scientific background needed to underpin recommendations. It will be of core relevance to equine veterinarians and nutritionists, and a valuable resource for undergraduate and graduate students, as well as lay horsemen and women who wish to be better informed about their horses' nutritional needs. Comprehensive coverage of key topics in equine nutrition, both from a scientific and applied perspective Practical advice with clear take-home messages Accessible text with many summary boxes, illustrations and graphics to emphasize important concepts and recommendations Likely to become the standard reference for practical nutrition in the equine field
Nutrient Requirements of Dogs and Cats by 
Nutrient Requirements of Swine by
Since 1944, the National Research Council has published 10 editions of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine. This reference has guided nutritionists and other professionals in academia and the swine and feed industries in developing and implementing nutritional and feeding programs for swine. The swine industry has undergone considerable changes since the tenth edition was published in 1998 and some of the requirements and recommendations set forth at that time are no longer relevant or appropriate. The eleventh revised edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine builds on the previous editions published by the National Research Council. A great deal of new research has been published during the last 15 years and there is a large amount of new information for many nutrients. In addition to a thorough and current evaluation of the literature on the energy and nutrient requirements of swine in all stages of life, this volume includes information about feed ingredients from the biofuels industry and other new ingredients, requirements for digestible phosphorus and concentrations of it in feed ingredients, a review of the effects of feed additives and feed processing, and strategies to increase nutrient retention and thus reduce fecal and urinary excretions that could contribute to environmental pollution. The tables of feed ingredient composition are significantly updated. Nutrient Requirements of Swine represents a comprehensive review of the most recent information available on swine nutrition and ingredient composition that will allow efficient, profitable, and environmentally conscious swine production.
Nutrient Requirements of Dairy Cattle 2001 by
This widely used reference has been updated and revamped to reflect the changing face of the dairy industry. New features allow users to pinpoint nutrient requirements more accurately for individual animals. The committee also provides guidance on how nutrient analysis of feed ingredients, insights into nutrient utilization by the animal, and formulation of diets to reduce environmental impacts can be applied to productive management decisions. The book includes a user-friendly computer program on a compact disk, accompanied by extensive context-sensitive "Help" options, to simulate the dynamic state of animals. The committee addresses important issues unique to dairy science-the dry or transition cow, udder edema, milk fever, low-fat milk, calf dehydration, and more. The also volume covers dry matter intake, including how to predict feed intake. It addresses the management of lactating dairy cows, utilization of fat in calf and lactation diets, and calf and heifer replacement nutrition. In addition, the many useful tables include updated nutrient composition for commonly used feedstuffs.
Nutrient Requirements of Small Ruminants by
Updating two previous National Research Council publications, Nutrient Requirements of Sheep, Sixth Revised Edition, 1985, and Nutrient Requirements of Goats, First Edition, 1981, this new book provides an evaluation of the scientific literature on the nutrient requirements of small ruminants in all stages of life. In addition, effects of the environment, feed additives, and metabolism modifiers on nutrient requirements are addressed. Proper formulation of diets for small ruminants depends on adequate knowledge of their nutrient requirements. These requirements depend on the breed and age of the animal and whether he or she is exercising, pregnant, or lactating. Nutrient Requirements of Small Ruminants brings together a summary of this latest data with new and expanded information on the composition of feeds commonly consumed by small ruminants, both domestic and wild. For the first time this authoritative reference work includes information on cervids and camelids. Primarily intended for animal nutritionists, veterinarians, and other scientists, some sections will be useful to individual sheep and goat owners and managers and to those responsible for the care and management of wildlife species. As both a practical and a technical reference book, this material is written to ensure that diets of small ruminants contain adequate amounts of nutrients and that intakes of certain nutrients are not so excessive that they inhibit performance or impair health.
Nutrient Requirements of Fish and Shrimp by
Aquaculture now supplies half of the seafood and fisheries products consumed worldwide and is gaining international significance as a source of food and income. Future demands for seafood and fisheries products can only be met by expanded aquaculture production. Such production will likely become more intensive and will depend increasingly on nutritious and efficient aquaculture feeds containing ingredients from sustainable sources. To meet this challenge, Nutrient Requirements of Fish and Shrimp provides a comprehensive summary of current knowledge about nutrient requirements of fish and shrimp and supporting nutritional science. This edition incorporates new material and significant updates to information in the 1993 edition. It also examines the practical aspects of feeding of fish and shrimp. Nutrient Requirements of Fish and Shrimp will be a key resource for everyone involved in aquaculture and for others responsible for the feeding and care of fish and shrimp. It will also aid scientists in developing new and improved approaches to satisfy the demands of the growing aquaculture industry.
Nutrient Requirements of Poultry 1994 by
This classic reference for poultry nutrition has been updated for the first time since 1984. The chapter on general considerations concerning individual nutrients and water has been greatly expanded and includes, for the first time, equations for predicting the energy value of individual feed ingredients from their proximate composition. This volume includes the latest information on the nutrient requirements of meat- and egg-type chickens, incorporating data on brown-egg strains, turkeys, geese, ducks, pheasants, Japanese quail, and Bobwhite quail. This publication also contains new appendix tables that document in detail the scientific information used to derive the nutrient requirements appearing in the summary tables for each species of bird.
