"The most current edition of the text should be used. Pick one medicine, one lameness, one reproduction and one surgery book since you will not have time to cover all."
Adams and Stashak's Lameness in Horses by 
Robinson's Current Therapy in Equine Medicine by 
Equine Internal Medicine by 
Equine Ophthalmology by
Equine Ophthalmology A comprehensive reference covering all aspects of equine ophthalmology, perfectly suited to general practitioners and equine specialists alike The newly revised Fourth Edition of Equine Ophthalmology delivers a complete and authoritative guide to all aspects of equine ophthalmology. The book offers updated procedures, protocols, and therapeutics, with even more images. It features a reader-friendly tabular format focusing on frontline treatment and is aimed at all equine practitioners, from first opinion general practitioners to equine ophthalmologists. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to ophthalmic examination and field techniques, as well as advanced ophthalmic imaging Practical discussions with the latest treatments for diseases and surgeries of the globe, orbit, adnexa, nasolacrimal system, cornea, lens, uvea, uveitis, and recurrent uveitis In-depth examinations of glaucoma, vision, neuro-ophthalmology, systemic disease, and national and international regulations on ophthalmic disease and medications Comprehensive review of inherited ocular disorders Equine Ophthalmology, Fourth Edition, is an essential reference for any practitioner treating ocular conditions in equine patients.
Equine Reproduction by 
Equine Surgery by 
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine by
Now in full color throughout, Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine: Clinical Pathology, Fifth Edition offers a comprehensive overview of hematology, hemostasis, clinical chemistry, urinalysis, cytology, and reference intervals in a highly accessible outline format. With information on all major domestic species, the text is designed for the reader to quickly find answers to clinical questions. Taking a problem-solving approach to the interpretation of laboratory data, this book includes clinical cases to illustrate the concepts of laboratory data interpretation, with tables and key words to aid readers in locating and applying information. The fifth edition has been fully revised to reflect the latest knowledge, diagnostic methods, and practices in veterinary laboratory medicine. A companion website provides the images in PowerPoint and references linked to PubMed at www.wiley.com/go/latimer. Duncan and Prasse's Veterinary Laboratory Medicine is an excellent quick reference for practicing veterinarians, veterinary students, clinical interns and residents, and pathology residents.
Veterinary Immunology by
Exploring the immunologic concerns of both large and small animals, Veterinary Immunology: An Introduction,10th Edition is the only complete resource on immunology for veterinary practitioners. This new edition has been meticulously updated to continue its trend of incorporating the latest advances and topics in the field. It features a straightforward presentation of basic immunologic principles along with thorough and timely information on the most significant immunologic diseases and responses seen in domestic animals. Comprehensive coverage clearly explains the general principles of immunology, and provides information on the most significant immunologic diseases and immunologic responses seen in domestic animals and marine mammals. A wealth of clinical examples show how principles will be experienced and addressed in the clinical setting. Educator and student resources on Evolve feature an image collection, enhanced animations, flashcards, content updates, and a test bank for instructors. Improved images clarify new content and enhance your understanding. NEW! Updated content covers new T cell subpopulations, newly described interleukins; new approaches to cancer immunotherapy; immunology of fish; and new advances in genomics. NEW! Learning objectives have been added to the beginning of each chapter. NEW! Chapter on commensal bacterial will address the role of commensal bacteria in veterinary immunology and provide convincing explanations for previously poorly understood phenomena. NEW! Information on the pathogenesis and treatment of atopic dermatitis has been added to help inform veterinarians who treat pets with dermatologic conditions. NEW! Revised content on cancer immunology reflects the vast expansion of information that has been uncovered in the past five years. NEW! Expanded information on the role of nutrition in animal immunity offers a rational basis for examining data of those who claim nutritional benefits. NEW! Full-color histologic images replace black and white images to more effectively convey concepts.
Last 5 years ending Jan. 1 the year the exam is taken.
"Questions on the examination may be taken from sources other than this list."
Source: ABVP Study Guide - Equine
This resource updated: 05/19/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023