Jubb, Kennedy and Palmer's Pathology of Domestic Animals - e-Book: Volume 2
by
Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease
by
Ebook Available
6th edition
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology
by
This book provides in-depth information about common clinical laboratory assays that are used to evaluate domestic mammals, including what assays measure, sample or assay conditions that affect results, and what results indicate about the physiologic or pathologic state of a patient. Whenever possible, diseases and conditions are grouped by common mechanisms or processes to promote a conceptual understanding of laboratory data that can be generally applied across many species. New to the second edition are additional disorders, diagnostic tests, illustrations, images, references, and pathophysiologic explanations. This text has proven valuable to students and veterinarians wanting a fundamental understanding of veterinary clinical pathology.
Canine and Feline Cytopathology
by
Canine and Feline Cytopathology: A Color Atlas and Interpretation Guide, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive overview of diagnostic cytopathology for companion animals, covering all body systems and fluids. Rapidly resolve diagnostic challenges with this guide to specimen collection and evaluation, featuring more than 2,400 photomicrographs that show cytology of normal structures to contrast and support identification of cytopathology of inflammatory, hyperplastic, and neoplastic lesions. Enhancements to this edition include hundreds of new images with crisper quality and truer colors; new chapters on the pancreas and ear; updated, contemporaneously referenced information for all chapters; expanded listing for neoplastic and infectious disease testing, quality assurance, and reporting; and access to a fully searchable enhanced eBook with new print purchase. Written by seasoned veterinary cytopathologists and award-winning educators Rose Raskin, Denny Meyer, and Katie Boes, with contributions from 20 international experts, this reference offers clear, practical guidelines to sampling procedures, slide preparation, and interpretation leading to diagnoses and/or classification of the cytopathologic findings. Anticipate the expected and expect the unexpected with this atlas, which vividly illustrates the expected cytologic elements associated with the organ system and provides abundant examples of unexpected cytopathologic findings. Comprehensive coverage of all body systems and body fluids emphasizes the application of aspirate biopsy cytopathology for greatest diagnostic impact. Exceptional-quality, full-color photomicrographs include detailed figure legends. Helpful hints for improving specimen quality are provided in discussions of common errors and problems, resulting in more diagnostically effective, cost-effective use of cytopathology. Discussions of clinical findings, differential diagnostic considerations, and the rationale are included for the final cytopathological diagnosis. Additional photomicrographs in organ system chapters demonstrate the histological or histopathologic corollary of cytopathologic findings. Easy-to-use, well-organized format includes many tables, algorithms, boxes, and Key Point callouts for at-a-glance reference. Clear, concise descriptions include sampling techniques, slide preparation and examination, and guidelines for interpretation, leading to accurate in-house and commercial laboratory diagnosis. Extensively revised organ system-based chapters include focused contemporary references. NEW! 700 crisp, all-new images more closely match the colors representative of the actual microscopic view. NEW! Expanded content combines coverage of the exocrine and endocrine pancreas and adds a new emphasis on the ear, specifically otic sample collection and cytopathology. NEW! All-new appendices provide quick reference to infectious agents, immunocytochemistry, reporting, molecular and immunologic testing, quality assurance, and more. NEW! Enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, providing access to a fully searchable text online - available on a variety of devices.
Cowell and Tyler's Diagnostic Cytology and Hematology of the Dog and Cat
by
Pathology of Wildlife and Zoo Animals
by
Pathology of Laboratory Rodents and Rabbits
by
Fish Disease: Diagnosis and Treatment
by
Nonhuman Primates in Biomedical Research: Diseases
by
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds
by
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds, Second Edition provides a comprehensive reference to the gross and histologic features of diseases seen in pet and aviary birds, with more than 850 images depicting disease lesions. Provides a complete resource for identifying both common and not-so-common diseases in a wide range of avian species Includes more than 850 full-color images to show disease lesions Offers context for the interpretation of pathologic findings, promoting an understanding of the pathogenesis and epizootiology of disease Adds information on pigeons and chickens, pathophysiology, prognosis and trends, and globally relevant diseases Aids pathologists, diagnosticians, and avian veterinarians in identifying lesions in pet birds
Fundamentals of Veterinary Clinical Pathology
by
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice
by
Canine and Feline Cytopathology
by
Canine and Feline Cytopathology: A Color Atlas and Interpretation Guide, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive overview of diagnostic cytopathology for companion animals, covering all body systems and fluids. Rapidly resolve diagnostic challenges with this guide to specimen collection and evaluation, featuring more than 2,400 photomicrographs that show cytology of normal structures to contrast and support identification of cytopathology of inflammatory, hyperplastic, and neoplastic lesions. Enhancements to this edition include hundreds of new images with crisper quality and truer colors; new chapters on the pancreas and ear; updated, contemporaneously referenced information for all chapters; expanded listing for neoplastic and infectious disease testing, quality assurance, and reporting; and access to a fully searchable enhanced eBook with new print purchase. Written by seasoned veterinary cytopathologists and award-winning educators Rose Raskin, Denny Meyer, and Katie Boes, with contributions from 20 international experts, this reference offers clear, practical guidelines to sampling procedures, slide preparation, and interpretation leading to diagnoses and/or classification of the cytopathologic findings. Anticipate the expected and expect the unexpected with this atlas, which vividly illustrates the expected cytologic elements associated with the organ system and provides abundant examples of unexpected cytopathologic findings. Comprehensive coverage of all body systems and body fluids emphasizes the application of aspirate biopsy cytopathology for greatest diagnostic impact. Exceptional-quality, full-color photomicrographs include detailed figure legends. Helpful hints for improving specimen quality are provided in discussions of common errors and problems, resulting in more diagnostically effective, cost-effective use of cytopathology. Discussions of clinical findings, differential diagnostic considerations, and the rationale are included for the final cytopathological diagnosis. Additional photomicrographs in organ system chapters demonstrate the histological or histopathologic corollary of cytopathologic findings. Easy-to-use, well-organized format includes many tables, algorithms, boxes, and Key Point callouts for at-a-glance reference. Clear, concise descriptions include sampling techniques, slide preparation and examination, and guidelines for interpretation, leading to accurate in-house and commercial laboratory diagnosis. Extensively revised organ system-based chapters include focused contemporary references. NEW! 700 crisp, all-new images more closely match the colors representative of the actual microscopic view. NEW! Expanded content combines coverage of the exocrine and endocrine pancreas and adds a new emphasis on the ear, specifically otic sample collection and cytopathology. NEW! All-new appendices provide quick reference to infectious agents, immunocytochemistry, reporting, molecular and immunologic testing, quality assurance, and more. NEW! Enhanced eBook is included with each new print purchase, providing access to a fully searchable text online - available on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Canine and Feline Urinalysis
by
Atlas of Canine and Feline Urinalysis Atlas of Canine and Feline Urinalysis offers an image-based reference for performing canine and feline urinalyses. Hundreds of full-color images depict techniques, physical characteristics, urine chemistry, and microscopic characteristics of urine sediment in dogs and cats. Written by leading experts, this highly illustrated resource acts as an aid to accurately identifying cytological features and interpreting both chemical and sediment findings. Logically organized for easy navigation, the book covers urine collection and specimen handling, initial assessment, urine chemistry, and microscopic findings, including casts, crystals, cells, organisms, and artifacts. Atlas of Canine and Feline Urinalysis is an important diagnostic tool for veterinary undergraduate and graduate students, veterinary technicians, general practitioners, veterinary clinical pathologists, and specialists in other disciplines. Key features Presents hundreds of full-color images for reference and picture-matching while using urinalysis as a diagnostic tool Provides a complete guide to properly performing a urinalysis exam in the veterinary practice Emphasizes collection techniques, physical assessment, urine chemistry, and the microscopic sediment exam Covers casts, crystals, cells, organisms, and artefacts Offers a practical, visual resource for incorporating urinalysis into the clinic
Equine Hematology, Cytology, and Clinical Chemistry
by
The all-new Equine Hematology, Cytology, and Clinical Chemistry draws on hematology and clinical chemistry information featured in the first edition of Equine Clinical Pathology and adds valuable cytopathology material from Diagnostic Cytology and Hematology of the Horse, making it a truly definitive reference to clinical pathology in equids. Thoroughly updated and expanded throughout, this Second Edition offers more images, more information, and new knowledge for previous chapters and entirely new chapters on bone marrow evaluation and cytopathology. Designed to present clear, concise, and clinically relevant information, the book is logically organized for easy reference. Numerous figures, tables and images support the text, together with summarized information for ease of use. Offers a focus on clinical pathology in the horse, with in-depth information on hematology, clinical chemistry, and cytopathology in equids Presents equine disease from a systems-based, clinicopathological perspective Features hundreds of high-quality images Includes contributions from veterinary specialists with expert knowledge of clinical pathology A must-have purchase for anyone using hematology, clinical chemistry, and cytology in equine patients, Equine Hematology, Cytology, and Clinical Chemistry, 2nd Edition is a valuable resource for equine practitioners, clinical pathologists and residents, and veterinary students.
Schalm's Veterinary Hematology
by
SCHALM'S VETERINARY HEMATOLOGY An updated guide to veterinary hematology with expanded coverage on a variety of topics The revised seventh edition of Schalm's Veterinary Hematology is updated to provide a comprehensive review of all topics related to disorders of the blood in animals. Designed as a gold-standard reference, this text covers a wide range of species in both confined and free-range populations, reflects the most recent trends in hematology diagnostics, and discusses recent advances in traditional techniques. Edited and written by an international team of experts in the field, the book represents an accessible yet in-depth resource for information on veterinary hematology. The new edition includes a hemolymphatic tissue section that covers current understanding of basic science and the species-specific hematology section is further expanded from previous editions. New chapters address emerging topics in hematology, and existing chapters have been revised and rearranged to improve readability and simplify access to the material. This seventh edition: Updates the most complete reference on veterinary hematology across species Contains a new section on basic biology of hemolymphatic tissues Expands coverage of species-specific hematology Presents new and emerging topics in blood disorders and diagnostic techniques Features a reorganized contents list for an integrated, easy to use reference Written for veterinary clinical pathologists and residents, diagnostic laboratory staff, internists, and specialists, Schalm's Veterinary Hematology is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference on the topic.
Veterinary Hematology, Clinical Chemistry, and Cytology
by
A clear and concise guide to veterinary laboratory diagnostic techniques and interpretation The newly revised Third Edition of Veterinary Hematology, Clinical Chemistry, and Cytology delivers a thorough and focused exploration of the basic principles of veterinary lab testing and diagnosis, as well as the cytology, hematology, and chemistry of common domestic and non-domestic species. The book offers readers an expanded wealth of clinical case presentations, providing case data and narrative discussions designed to promote skill development. The book is packed with information useful to veterinary students, technicians, pathologists, and researchers, and includes access to a companion website that offers clinical cases and the figures from the book in PowerPoint. Heavily and clearly illustrated, with a strong practical emphasis, this latest edition includes a brand-new section on veterinary cytology and a chapter on laboratory diagnosis of infectious diseases as well as updated information throughout that keeps pace with the rapidly developing field of clinical pathology. The book includes: A comprehensive overview of laboratory testing and diagnosis principles, with unique emphases on interpretive perspectives and slide preparation techniques. A complete treatment of hematopathology of domestic animal species, organized by erythrocytes, leukocytes, platelets, bone marrow, hemostasis, and transfusion medicine. A comprehensive treatment of clinical biochemistry in domestic animals organized by organ system, including electrochemical evaluation of electrolyte and acid-base pathology. A complete treatment of domestic animal cytology organized by both common collection sites and principles of inflammation, infectious agents, and neoplasia. Complete sections covering practical treatment of hematology and clinical biochemistry of non-domestic mammals, birds, reptiles, fish, and amphibians. Veterinary Hematology, Clinical Chemistry, and Cytology is a one-stop reference on veterinary laboratory diagnostic techniques and interpretation ideally suited for veterinary students, veterinary technicians, general practitioners, and specialists.
Avian and Exotic Animal Hematology and Cytology
by
This is the long-awaited revision and expansion of Avian Hematology and Cytology, 2nd Edition. This new book builds on the avian foundation of Campbell's earlier work and has grown to include coverage of several other important exotic animal groups including small mammals, reptiles, fish, and amphibians. This is the must-have hematologic and cytologic reference for all veterinarians and researchers working with avian and exotic animals.
Veterinary Hematology
by
Combining essential hematology content with the diagnostic features of an atlas, Veterinary Hematology: A Diagnostic Guide and Color Atlas delivers all the information you need to accurately assess and diagnose the blood diseases of common domestic animals - including dogs, cats, horses, cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, and llamas. This all-in-one resource utilizes a clinically-oriented and user-friendly approach to guide you through the processes of selecting relevant diagnostic tests, collecting and preparing samples, interpreting sample results, and determining their clinical significance. High-resolution photomicrographs, full-color illustrations, and excellent schematic drawings, tables, and quick-reference algorithms help you clearly visualize these concepts and procedures. Two books in one gives you the information of a user-friendly, clinical textbook and the diagnostic features of a color atlas in a single reference. Practical, clinically-relevant text is comprehensive and yet concise in its delivery of vital information such as: Principles and procedures that are employed in recognizing normal, abnormal, and artifactual features of blood and bone marrow samples and developing accurate diagnoses Common cytochemical stains and summary charts for interpretation Sample collection, staining procedures, and diagnostic techniques Differentiating features of malignant and benign hematologic disorders Miscellaneous cells and blood parasites and their significance in the evaluation of blood smears Hematopoietic and non-hematopoietic neoplasms High- resolution photomicrographs and excellent schematic drawings, tables, boxes and quick-reference algorithms aid your understanding of basic clinical concepts and differential diagnostic considerations. Over 800 full-color illustrations help you clearly visualize the concepts and clinical features of the blood and bone marrow - from normal cell maturation to the development of various pathologies.
Diagnostic Cytology and Hematology of the Dog and Cat
by
Small Animal Cytologic Diagnosis
by
Doody's Core Title® 2022: 2.8/3, with a 5 STAR rating A powerful tool that can be employed in a wide variety of disease processes, cytology in small animals has gained increased recognition and clinical application. Small Animal Cytologic Diagnosis presents clinically applicable information about the use of cytology and indicates when advanced diagnostic testing can be beneficial to diagnose underlying disease processes. The book discusses the pathophysiology of inflammation, cancer biology and comparisons to histology to help readers fully comprehend the cytologic changes that can occur with inflammation and neoplasia. Also covered are some of the limitations and advantages of cytology compared to histopathology, important gross findings (e.g. body cavity effusions), and parasites and the associated diagnostic methods required. Further information is provided on oncogenes, reference values for effusions and bone marrow aspirates, laboratory handling of samples, and how to carry out certain diagnostics. The book: includes chapters written by experts from around the world is divided up into chapters based on anatomical region, making it very easy to locate information required for assistance with a specific case provides multiple cytological images for the same sample, providing different views of what may be seen uses technical language where appropriate but without overcomplicating the information presented: it is very accessible and easy to understand. The book includes tissue-specific chapters focusing on diseases of a particular area, always in comparison to normal tissue. Each of these chapters concludes with various cases that include information on signalment, history, pertinent laboratory data, specimen images, final outcome and the underlying pathology causing the cytologic lesions, when possible. With more than 1300 superb illustrations, this comprehensive resource provides ample practical information for students as well as practicing veterinarians.
Veterinary Cytology
by
This book offers a state-of-the-art, evidence-based reference to all aspects of veterinary cytology. Truly multidisciplinary in its approach, chapters are written by experts in fields ranging from clinical pathology to internal medicine, surgery, ophthalmology, and dermatology, drawing the various specialties together to create a comprehensive picture of cytology's role in diagnosis and treatment of animal disease. Firmly grounded in the primary literature, the book focuses on companion animals, with special chapters for species with fewer publications. Chapters are logically organized by body system, with additional chapters on tumors of particular import and diagnostic decision making. The first two sections of Veterinary Cytology focus on cytology techniques, quality control, and special laboratory techniques. Subsequent sections are organ/tissue-based and reflect what is known about the canine, feline, and equine species. This is followed by chapters on non-traditional species, including exotic companion mammals, rabbits, cattle, camelids, non-human primates, reptiles and birds, amphibians, fish, invertebrates, and sheep and goats. The last section highlights some unique features of the applications of cytology in industry settings. Provides a gold-standard reference to data-driven information about cytologic analysis in companion animal species Brings together authors from a wide range of specialties to present a thorough survey of cytology's use in veterinary medicine Offers broader species coverage and greater depth than any cytology reference currently available Veterinary Cytology is an essential resource for clinical and anatomic pathologists and any specialist in areas using cytology, including veterinary oncologists, criticalists, surgeons, ophthalmologists, dermatologists, and internists.
Clinical Atlas of Small Animal Cytology
by
Clinical Atlas of Small Animal Cytology provides an essential guide for interpreting cytologic samples to diagnose small animal patients. Features photographs of diseases with a diagnosis confirmed by pathognomonic cytologic features, histopathology, special stains, microbial culture, or other confirmatory tests Emphasizes characteristic features of each disease and distinguishing features Provides multiple images to differentiate cells from lesions that could look similar Presents more than 500 representative high-quality images
