This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American Board of Veterinary Ophthalmology (ABVO) (under the umbrella of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
"All written examination questions are supported by a reference within the past seven years or from a textbook or journal article on this list of “Required” references."
Source: ACBO Recommended Source Material/Reading List
This resource updated: 06/07/2023
Source reading list reviewed: 06/07/2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
Veterinary Ocular Pathology: A Comparative Review by 
Eye Surgery, An Introduction to Operative Technique by 
Veterinary Ophthalmology by
Offering the very latest in diagnostics and therapeutics, this book presents a fully updated and revised edition of the definitive reference to veterinary ophthalmology. Covering both basic sciences and clinical treatment, it is a state-of-the-art text that encompasses ophthalmology in all species, including dogs, cats, horses, large animals, and exotic animals. Featuring expanded coverage of ocular conditions in cats, horses, and birds--and featuring nearly two thousand color photographs and illustrations--the book is a must for any practitioner treating eye disease. Veterinary Ophthalmology, Sixth Edition discusses all topics relevant to diagnosing, treating, and managing any disease related to the eye. The book also offers a companion website featuring video clips, and images from the book in PowerPoint, and contains the most comprehensive bibliographies found on the subject. Updates the gold-standard reference for veterinary ophthalmology Presents expanded coverage of feline, equine, and avian ophthalmology Incorporates new knowledge on diagnostics and therapeutics to provide a truly state-of-the-art text Provides 2,000 images to illustrate the concepts described Written by an international list of preeminent ophthalmologists Includes access to a companion website with the images for download in PowerPoint Veterinary Ophthalmology, Sixth Edition is an essential purchase for veterinary ophthalmologists and any practitioner treating ophthalmic diseases.
Veterinary Ophthalmic Surgery by
Master animal eye surgery techniques with this comprehensive, step-by-step guide! Veterinary Ophthalmic Surgery, 2nd Edition is the resource of choice for all types of ophthalmic surgical procedures across all animal species. Not only does this book include illustrated guidelines and step-by-step procedures, but it also covers surgical instrumentation, the operating room, and the use of anesthesia. Each aspect of ophthalmic surgery is described, including pre-, intra- and post-operative details. Internationally recognized editors Galatt and Plumber are joined by a team of expert contributors in providing authoritative solutions to key issues in animal ophthalmic surgery. Whatever your specialty, this is the only eye surgery book you will ever need! Comprehensive coverage of extraocular and intraocular surgical procedures includes all of the different types of procedures performed by veterinarians and veterinary ophthalmologists. More than 1,050 high-quality color photographs and illustrations allow the practitioner to follow techniques step by step. Pictorial reference includes multiple presentations of many ophthalmic diseases to show the various ways the condition may appear. Comprehensive guidelines in each surgery chapter include anatomy, indications for surgery or other medical therapies, the available surgical procedures, postoperative management, success rates, and postoperative complications, followed by any modifications for large animals and special species. Enhanced eBook included with every new print purchase provides users with the complete, fully searchable text plus a superb collection of online videos demonstrating actual ophthalmic surgical procedures. NEW! Chapters on microsurgery, equine, ruminants, and pet and zoo animals NEW! Approximately 50 additional medical illustrations NEW! Surgical techniques and procedures NEW! Updated instrumentation
Equine Ophthalmology by
Equine Ophthalmology A comprehensive reference covering all aspects of equine ophthalmology, perfectly suited to general practitioners and equine specialists alike The newly revised Fourth Edition of Equine Ophthalmology delivers a complete and authoritative guide to all aspects of equine ophthalmology. The book offers updated procedures, protocols, and therapeutics, with even more images. It features a reader-friendly tabular format focusing on frontline treatment and is aimed at all equine practitioners, from first opinion general practitioners to equine ophthalmologists. Readers will also find: A thorough introduction to ophthalmic examination and field techniques, as well as advanced ophthalmic imaging Practical discussions with the latest treatments for diseases and surgeries of the globe, orbit, adnexa, nasolacrimal system, cornea, lens, uvea, uveitis, and recurrent uveitis In-depth examinations of glaucoma, vision, neuro-ophthalmology, systemic disease, and national and international regulations on ophthalmic disease and medications Comprehensive review of inherited ocular disorders Equine Ophthalmology, Fourth Edition, is an essential reference for any practitioner treating ocular conditions in equine patients.
Standards for Ocular Toxicology and Inflammation by 
Miller and Evan's Anatomy of the Dog by 
Adler's Physiology of the Eye by 
Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology by
Learn to recognize, diagnose, and manage a wide range of common ocular conditions with Slatter's Fundamentals of Veterinary Ophthalmology, 6th Edition. This thoroughly updated text provides the latest, most practical information on structure and function of the eye, the ophthalmic examination and diagnostic techniques, medical and surgical management of ocular disease, and management of ocular emergencies. Enhanced and logically organized coverage includes dogs, cats, horses, livestock, birds, and exotic pets. In addition, over 1,000 color photos and illustrations accurately depict ocular conditions encountered in practice and demonstrate diagnostic and surgical techniques. Edited by three of the most revered authorities in the field of veterinary ophthalmology, this reference is an essential aid to successful veterinary practice and education. Clinical Tips boxes such as "The Controversy Remains", "Did You Know?", "Look Again", and "Note" offer helpful practice advice and facts. UPDATED Additional species added to the exotics chapter include birds, small mammals, and others. A team of internationally respected veterinary ophthalmologists provide comprehensive, clinical expertise in all areas needed to evaluate, diagnose, manage, and monitor a patient with ophthalmic disease. Practical, clinically focused coverage provides a one-stop diagnostic guide to ophthalmic disease in small and large animals including dogs, cats, horses, livestock (cows, sheep, goats), birds, and exotic pets. Chapters on equine, livestock, and exotic pet ophthalmology written by specialists in these fields for the most clinically relevant coverage. NEW! Chapter on ophthalmic surgical techniques describes instrument and suture choice, patient positioning, surgical preparation, and general techniques. NEW! Additional drawings depict ophthalmic surgeries. NEW! In-depth equine and livestock ophthalmology content NEW! Suggested reading lists included at the end of each chapter.
Jubb, Kennedy and Palmer's Pathology of Domestic Animals by 
Ophthalmic Microsurgical Suturing Techniques by
This is a reference text for both the novice and the accomplished ophthalmic surgeon. The book imparts basic information on tissue tactics and knot tying and demonstrates the applicability of these techniques to various microsurgical situations, in both the anterior and the posterior segment of the eye. Illustrated with photos and line drawings, each chapter contains sections on: Surgical indications, Instrumentation and equipment, Surgical technique, Complications and future challenges.
Phacodynamics: Mastering the tools and techniques of phacoemulsification surgery by 
Color Atlas of Veterinary Ophthalmology by 
Atlas of Feline Ophthalmology by 
Color Atlas of Canine and Feline Ophthalmology by 
Small Animal Ophthalmic Atlas and Guide by 
Biomicroscopy of the Eye; Slit Lamp Microscopy of the Living Eye by 
System of Ophthalmology by Microsurgery of the Anterior Segment of the Eye by Atlas of Veterinary Ophthalmoscopy by "ABVO residents are responsible for knowing the published literature (see journals below) for the seven years prior to the year of their examination, e.g. for the 2021 examination, material is taken from manuscripts with a publication date* 2014 to 2020."
"*Publication date: is defined as the date at which a publication is assigned to a journal issue. For journals which provide both electronic and printed versions, publications will have two dates, the first date when it comes out as 'ePub ahead of print' (DOI), and the second date when it is assigned to a specific issue of the printed journal."
"In general, questions on the Multiple Choice (MC) examination will not be derived from case reports that involve single animals, although images from these case reports may appear in the Image Recognition (IR) examination."
"Supplemental questions may be derived from pertinent articles that appear in the journals below:"
