Consultations in Feline Internal Medicine by 
Consultations in Feline Internal Medicine by 
Kirk's Current Veterinary Therapy XIV by 
Small Animal Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by 
Clinical Veterinary Advisor by 
Small Animal Surgery by 
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia: the Fifth Edition of Lumb and Jones is a reorganized and updated edition of the gold-standard reference for anesthesia and pain management in veterinary patients. Provides a thoroughly updated edition of this comprehensive reference on veterinary anesthesia and analgesia, combining state-of-the-art scientific knowledge and clinically relevant information Covers immobilization, sedation, anesthesia, and analgesia of companion, wild, zoo, and laboratory animals Takes a body systems approach for easier reference to information about anesthetizing patients with existing conditions Adds 10 completely new chapters with in-depth discussions of perioperative heat balance, coagulation disorders, pacemaker implantation, cardiac output measurement, cardiopulmonary bypass, shelter anesthesia and pain management, anesthetic risk assessment, principles of anesthetic pharmacology, and more Now printed in color, with more than 400 images
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
The 13th edition of Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology continues this bestselling title's long tradition as the world's foremost medical physiology textbook. Unlike other textbooks on this topic, this clear and comprehensive guide has a consistent, single-author voice and focuses on the content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students. The detailed but lucid text is complemented by didactic illustrations that summarize key concepts in physiology and pathophysiology. Larger font size emphasizes core information around how the body must maintain homeostasis in order to remain healthy, while supporting information and examples are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue. Summary figures and tables help quickly convey key processes covered in the text. Bold full-color drawings and diagrams. Short, easy-to-read, masterfully edited chapters and a user-friendly full-color design. Brand-new quick-reference chart of normal lab values on the inside back cover. Increased number of figures, clinical correlations, and cellular and molecular mechanisms important for clinical medicine. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes the complete text, interactive figures, references, plus 50 self-assessment questions and more than a dozen animations.
The Cat: Clinical Medicine and Management by 
Handbook of Small Animal Practice by 
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by 
Small Animal Internal Medicine by
With hundreds of images, step-by-step procedures, and a practical clinical emphasis, Small Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition offers the foundation and tools you need to properly recognize, diagnose, and treat small animals with common internal conditions. Each section of the text takes a problem-oriented approach that begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management. This edition also includes two all-new chapters (neonatology and the effects of specific heart diseases respectively) as well as extensive updates throughout covering new advancements, techniques, and evolving best practices in the field of small animal internal medicine. And with access to the new online Expert Consult, you will have the 360-degree support you need to solve virtually any internal medical challenge. Problem-oriented approach utilized in each section begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management. Step-by-step procedures provide an easy-to-follow description of proper technique. Current drug and treatment tables ensure you are referencing the most up-to-date recommended dosages and indications. More than 900 full-color photographs and illustrations provide vivid depictions of specific disorders, diseases, and procedures. Color-coded summary tables and boxes make it quick and easy to look up clinical signs, etiology, differential diagnoses, treatment, and recommended drug dosages and indications. Expert authors and contributors are well-known for their clinical, academic, and research expertise. Practical algorithms promote decision-making skills based on clinical findings. Extensive cross-referencing makes it easy to locate related information. Suggested readings at the end of each chapter direct you on where to go for the latest research findings. NEW! Expert Consult site includes over 30 video clips covering physical examinations as well as diagnostic and therapeutic techniques like the neurologic exam. NEW! Two new chapters detail two key emerging areas within small animal medicine: neonatology and the effects of specific heart diseases. NEW! Extensive updates throughout the text keep you informed of changes and evolutions in the field, specifically in the areas of: ultrasound; probiotics; obesity; feline radiation therapy; feline diabetes; feline hyperthyroidism; canine influenza; canine Cushing's disease; orphan puppy and kitten considerations; seizure treatments; spinal cord disorders; hematology and oncology; plus new diseases, diagnostics, and therapeutics that affect small animal medicine overall.
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Behavioural Medicine by
The importance of animal behavior and psychological well-being is increasingly being recognized in the veterinary profession. This new edition is designed to be even more practical and user-friendly than the first. For a range of behavioral presentations, consideration is given to evaluation of the patient, including any possible underlying disease; evaluation of client attitudes, beliefs and behavi∨ risk evaluation; behavioral biology of the condition; acute management protocols; long-term treatment strategies; prognosis; follow-up; and preventive measures. A special chapter on shelter animals has been added, as this is an area where veterinary support is increasingly sought in both health and husbandry. An included CD offers client handouts, history-taking forms, detailed behavioral questionaires for each species and a referral form.
Behavior Problems of the Dog and Cat by 
Low Stress Handling, Restraint and Behavior Modification of Dogs and Cats by 
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by 
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians by 
Veterinary Epidemiology by 
Veterinary Clinical Epidemiology by 
Ferrets, Rabbits, and Rodents: Clinical Medicine and Surgery by 
The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by 
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Previous Praise for Winning Grants Step by Step "Warning: this book works. It provokes you to ask the right questions, hand-holds you through practical exercises, and offers a map that includes paths to develop strategic relationships with funders." --E. Eduardo Romero, Nonprofit Roundtable "Winning Grants Step by Step is a very practical A-to-Z resource that speaks to the importance of staying focused on your mission every step of the way. The third edition is artfully updated with words of wisdom from grantmakers themselves, as well as updates on the latest processes and buzzwords all grantseekers need to know." --Heather Iliff, Maryland Association of Nonprofit Organizations "With solid advice and clear examples, nonprofit leaders will find it a page turner!" --Clarence Hauer, senior director, strategy and organizational development, St. Louis Nonprofit Services Consortium "Winning Grants Step by Step is a gift to nonprofit organizations. The valuable insights and hands-on tools will instantly make any proposal more competitive." --Alex Carter, Your Nonprofit Coach "Developing great grant proposals is essential for nonprofit leaders. Winning Grants Step by Step provides important guidance to those who are new to fundraising as well as to anyone who needs a refresher. This new edition of Winning Grants brings updated tips and vivid examples. As an experienced fundraising consultant, I believe it will help my clients and colleagues alike." --Maria Gitin, CFRE, Maria Gitin & Associates "As an executive director, fundraising is on my mind every day. It's great to have a resource like Winning Grants Step by Step to use and share with my board, staff, and peers." --Deborah Menkart, executive director, Teaching for Change
Budgeting and Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations by
In the nonprofit sector, money drives mission. Well-managed budgets and investments can spur long-term growth and achievement, while financial mismanagement can damage and even destroy organizations. Weikart, Chen, and Sermier--in their exciting new text geared wholly to nonprofits--provide the financial tools nonprofit managers need to thrive in pursuit of mission success. Given the wide array of nonprofit managers′ backgrounds, and recognizing that there is often an inherent fear of "the financials," the authors explain financial concepts without leaning unnecessarily on intimidating jargon. The result is a practical, accessible resource the prepares the next generation of nonprofit managers in financial planning and analysis as well as conventional and entrepreneurial financial management. Grounded in real-world cases and offering plenty of opportunity for application and practice, Budgeting and Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations helps readers develop a stable fiscal foundation and sound financial strategies for their organizations to prosper in times of economic expansion and contraction.
Relevant articles from the last (5) years.
"These references are foundational sources for SMP examination items and should be studied in their entirety. Items will be drawn from the most recent editions/versions"
From the board:
The following is a list of topics, which will typically be covered on the examination, along with suggested textbooks. The newest editions of these texts are recommended, and other recently published books may also be helpful. Candidates are not expected to purchase or read all of these texts - rather, emphasis should be placed on subject matter where candidates feel deficient.
This resource updated: 05/22/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
