This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Theriogenologists (ACT) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
"The following list has been reviewed by members of the examination committee. Listed references are considered to contain relevant contributions to the field of theriogenology and may be helpful in the candidate's preparation for completion of the certifying examination. Candidates should not expect themselves to read all the material on the list and are encouraged to consult with a mentor about their personal study plan, tailoring their personal reading list and study strategy to meet their own strengths and weaknesses. The following reading list is not intended to be an exclusive or required reading list, but rather as a guide to help candidates to locate information."
Source: ACT Preparing for the exam reading list.
 |
This resource updated: 5/24/2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: unknown
Llama and Alpaca Care by
Designed for the mixed practice large animal veterinarian, veterinary students, and camelid caretakers alike, Llama and Alpaca Care covers all major body systems, herd health, physical examination, nutrition, reproduction, surgery, anesthesia, and multisystem diseases of llamas and alpacas. Written by world-renowned camelid specialists and experts in the field, this comprehensive and uniquely global text offers quick access to the most current knowledge in this area. With coverage ranging from basic maintenance such as restraint and handling to more complex topics including anesthesia and surgery, this text provides the full range of knowledge required for the management of llamas and alpacas. "..an essential text for anyone working with South American camelids." Reviewed by Claire E. Whitehead on behalf of Veterinary Record, July 2015Over 500 full-color images provide detailed, highly illustrated coverage of all major body systems, physical examination, nutrition, anesthesia, fluid therapy, multisystem diseases, and surgical disorders. World-renowned camelid experts and specialists in the field each bring a specific area of expertise for a uniquely global text.Comprehensive herd health content includes handling techniques, vaccinations, biosecurity, and protecting the herd from predators. Coverage of anesthesia and analgesia includes the latest information on pharmacokinetics of anesthetic drugs, chemical restraint, injectable and inhalation anesthesia, neuroanesthesia, and pain management.Reproduction section contains information on breeding management, lactation, infertility, and embryo transfer.Nutrition information offers detailed nutritional requirements and discusses feeding management systems and feeding behavior.
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Reproduction and Neonatology by
Following the success of the first edition, this Manual has been completely updated and reorganized to be even more practical and user-friendly. It follows reproductive medicine from mating, through conception and birth, looking at problems such as infertility and dystocia along the way. Care of the neonate plus conditions that may affect new puppies and kittens are also included. New developments in drugs and in biotechnology are discussed. Full colour photographs and illustrations support the text, which has been prepared by international contributors.
Bovine Reproduction by
Bovine Reproduction A complete resource for practical, authoritative information on all aspects of bovine theriogenology The newly revised Second Edition of Bovine Reproduction delivers a comprehensive overview of all major issues in bovine reproduction. Written by leading experts in the subject, the book is an indispensable reference for any veterinarian dealing with bovine fertility. Bovine Reproduction is divided into sections on the bull, the cow, the neonate, and assisted reproduction techniques. New chapters cover new gene manipulation technologies, managing problem donors, lameness, and more. Outdated and redundant information from the First Edition has been removed and replaced by coverage of new diseases, technologies, procedures, techniques, and approaches to fertility problems. A new companion website provides images and tables from the book in PowerPoint format. In addition to more than 675 full-color images, readers will also benefit from: A thorough discussion of the anatomy and physiology of the bull, including the endocrine and exocrine function of bovine testes and the thermoregulation of the testes An exploration of breeding and health management of bulls, including the evaluation of breeding soundness and ultrasound examination of the reproductive tract An examination of the anatomy, physiology, and the breeding and health management of cows, including fetal programming, the reproductive tract microbiome, and a section on obstetrics and reproductive surgery A review of the management of both critical care of the neonate and effective colostrum assessment and provision An introduction to assisted and advanced reproductive technologies A practical and comprehensive reference, Bovine Reproduction is a must-have purchase for bovine practitioners, theriogenologists, animal scientists, veterinary students, and residents with an interest in cattle.
Canine and Feline Theriogenology by
CANINE AND FELINE THERIOGENOLOGY is the only comprehensive, up-to-date textbook on small animal reproduction available. Veterinary management of normal reproduction and reproductive disorders in the male and female dog and cat are covered in detail, including such topics as sexual differentiation and normal anatomy, breeding management, use of chilled and frozen semen, pregnancy and parturition, neonatal care, clinical approach to infertility, and diseases of each of the reproductive organs. Some chapters address the pet overpopulation problem in the United States and approaches to population control in these species. This book is an invaluable resource to veterinarians, veterinary students, and others interested in companion animal reproduction.
Equine Reproduction by
Now in a much-anticipated two-volume new edition, this gold-standard reference stands as the most comprehensive and authoritative text on equine reproduction. Serving theriogenologists, practitioners and breeders worldwide as a one-stop resource for the reproductive assessment and management of equine patients, Equine Reproduction, Second Edition provides detailed information on examination techniques, breeding procedures, pregnancy diagnosis and management, reproductive tract diseases and surgery, and foaling. A companion website offers hundreds of images from the book in color. For the Second Edition, the stallion, mare and foal sections have been thoroughly updated and revised to include the latest information on every subject. New topics include discussion of nutritional and behavioral factors in the broodmare and stallion, parentage testing, fetal sexing and the health and management of older foals, weanlings and yearlings. Additionally, this outstanding Second Edition features a new section on assisted reproductive techniques, including detailed information on artificial insemination, in-vitro fertilization, embryo transfer and technology.
Introduction to Veterinary Genetics by
The concepts of veterinary genetics are crucial to understanding and controlling many diseases and disorders in animals. They are also crucial to enhancing animal production. Accessible and clearly presented, Introduction to Veterinary Genetics provides a succinct introduction to the aspects of genetics relevant to animal diseases and production. Now in its third edition, this is the only introductory level textbook on genetics that has been written specifically for veterinary and animal science students. Coverage includes: basic genetics, molecular biology, genomics, cytogenetics, immunogenetics, population genetics, quantitative genetics, biotechnology, and the use of molecular tools in the control of inherited disorders. This book describes in detail how genetics is being applied to artificial selection in animal production. It also covers the conservation of genetic diversity in both domesticated and wild animals. New for the Third Edition: End-of-chapter summaries provide quick recaps. Covers new topics: epigenetics, genomics and bioinformatics. Thoroughly revised according to recent advances in genetics. Introduction to Veterinary Genetics is still the only introductory genetics textbook for students of veterinary and animal science and will continue to be an indispensable reference tool for veterinary students and practitioners alike.
Noah’s ArkiveVeterinary Obstetrics and Genital Diseases (Theriogenology) by Pathways to Pregnancy and Parturition by 
Current Therapy in Large Animal Theriogenology (porcine and deer especially) by
An essential resource for both students and practitioners, this comprehensive text provides practical, up-to-date information about normal reproduction and reproductive disorders in horses, cattle, small ruminants, swine, llamas, and other livestock. Featuring contributions from experts in the field, each section is devoted to a different large animal species and begins with a review of the clinically relevant aspects of the reproductive anatomy and physiology of both males and females. Key topics include the evaluation of breeding soundness, pregnancy diagnosis, diagnosis and treatment of infertility, abortion, obstetrics, surgery of the reproductive tract, care of neonates, and the latest reproductive technology. Includes coverage of all large animal species. All sections provide a review of clinically pertinent reproductive physiology and anatomy of males and females of each species. Complete coverage of the most current reproductive technology, including embryo transfer, estrous synchronization, and artificial insemination. A new section on alternative farming that addresses reproduction in bison, elk, and deer. New to the equine section: stallion management, infertility, and breeding soundness evaluation. New to the bovine section: estrous cycle synchronization, reproductive biotechnology, ultrasonographic determination of fetal gender, heifer development, and diagnosis of abortion. New to the porcine section: artificial insemination, boar/stud management, diseases of postpartum period, and infectious disease control. New to the llama section: infectious disease and nutrition.
Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease Expert Consult by
Diagnose and manage diseases using the newest information and research! Pathologic Basis of Veterinary Disease - Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides complete, illustrated coverage of both general pathology and the pathology of organ systems of domestic animals. Addressing species from dogs and cats to pigs and cattle - and many more - this reference describes the lesions and pathogeneses of diseases, how cells and tissues respond to injury, and the interplay of host defense mechanisms with microbes and injurious agents. Updates include the latest scientific advances and diagnostic information. Written by a team of expert contributors, this book includes an Expert Consult website with access to the complete digital book plus thousands of images and guidelines for sample acquisition and for performing a complete necropsy. Complete coverage of both general pathology and pathology of organ systems is provided in one convenient resource, and includes the latest information available. Over 20 recognized experts deliver the most relevant information for the practitioner, student, or individual preparing for the American College of Veterinary Pathology board examination. UPDATED content on cellular and organ system pathology includes the latest insights into the science of inflammation, healing, and molecular carcinogenesis, as well as expanded coverage of genetics and disease. Over 2,100 full-color illustrations include color schematics, flow charts, and diagrammatic representations of disease processes as well as summary tables and boxes, making it easier to understand difficult concepts. Clear, up-to-date explanations of disease mechanisms describe cell, tissue, and organ response to injury and infection. Easy-to-follow organization for each systemic disease chapter includes a brief review of basic principles related to anatomy, structure, and function, followed by congenital and functional abnormalities and discussions of infectious disease responses, helping you apply principles to veterinary practice. Expert Consult website provides the reader with the complete digital text plus: An image collection; guidelines for performing a complete, systematic necropsy and appropriate sample acquisition for all organ systems; a comprehensive glossary; and an appendix of photographic techniques in veterinary pathology. NEW line drawings and schematic diagrams depict current concepts about pathogeneses and lesions of veterinary diseases. NEW! Essential Concept boxes in each basic pathology chapter break down long and complicated topics, making it easier to understand lesions and pathogeneses in the 'organ system' chapters. NEW! Key Readings Index at the beginning of each chapter includes page numbers, making important information easy to locate.
Color Atlas of Reproductive Pathology of Domestic Animals by
Over 600 illustrations provide authoritative visual guidance on a full range of pathologic disorders occurring in traditional doemstic animal species. Comprehensive coverage encompasses all aspects of the pathology of the male and female reproductive system diseases and includes abortion diseases, fetal malformations, and the interpretation of equine endometrial biospy specimens.
Manual of Equine Reproduction by
Now in full color, Manual of Equine Reproduction, 3rd Edition provides a comprehensive look at the reproductive management of horses, including management of stallions, pregnant mares, and neonatal foals. Expert authors use a concise, practical approach in discussing improved therapies and treatments in equine breeding. You'll enhance your skills and knowledge with this book's detailed coverage of techniques used in reproductive examination, breeding procedures, pregnancy diagnosis, foaling, and reproductive tract surgery. A clinical emphasis includes a step-by-step format of possible scenarios from conception to breeding management. Practical information includes topics such as breeding with transported cooled or frozen semen, and caring for the broodmare and newborn foal. The organization of material corresponds to the course of study in veterinary school, so you can find topics easily. Chapter objectives and study questions at the beginning of each chapter guide you through the material and provide clear learning goals. Evaluation of Breeding Records chapter covers the importance of breeding records, and how to use them to evaluate stallion performance and optimize fertility. References are listed at the end of each chapter for further research and study. Full-color photographs and illustrations clearly depict procedures, and all drawings have been redrawn and improved. NEW Assisted Reproductive Technology chapter goes beyond embryo transfer. Updated content includes the latest advances in therapies and treatments. New content is added to two chapters, Reproductive Physiology of the Nonpregnant Mare and Manipulation of Estrus in the Mare. Thorough coverage of every aspect of equine reproduction provides a strong foundation for success in veterinary practice, including a discussion of the use of GnRH-analog deslorelin (Ovuplant) to hasten ovulation; aseptic technique for endometrial biopsy; use of transabdominal ultrasonography, especially in early pregnancy; determination of fetal gender by transrectal ultrasonography; aspiration testicular biopsy using a spring-loaded biopsy instrument; and procedure for surgical embryo transfer.
Practical Atlas of Ruminant and Camelid Reproductive Ultrasonography by
Practical Atlas of Ruminant and Camelid Reproductive Ultrasonography is a practical, fully referenced, image-based guide to the essential concepts of reproductive ultrasound in domesticated ruminants and camelids. Providing information to enable practitioners to incorporate ultrasound service into their practices, the book also includes more specialized information for advanced techniques such as fetal sexing, embryo transfer, color Doppler, and others. Practical Atlas of Ruminant and Camelid Reproductive Ultrasonography is a must-have reference for ruminant and camelid practitioners, instructors, and students.
Canine and Feline Endocrinology and REPROD by
This book provides complete, current information on pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of endocrine, metabolic, and reproductive diseases in dogs and cats. It also discusses the importance of testing procedures in endocrine and reproductive diseases, as well as cost-effective and expedient diagnostic protocols. A complete review of reproduction is presented with the endocrine material, making this text the most inclusive resource overall on the topic. Expansive sections on Canine Male and Female Reproduction. The book is divided into nine sections for an organized and accessible approach to information. Discussions of testing procedures in endocrine and reproductive diseases. Explains cost-effective and expedient diagnostic protocols. Logical, step-by-step guidelines aid in accurate decision-making and diagnosis. A new chapter in the Adrenal Gland section (Section 3) addresses feline hyperadrenocorticism. The chapter on diabetes mellitus in the canine and feline has been divided into two chapters in order to explore the specific aspects of the disease in each species. All material has been extensively revised and brought up to date for this edition. Additional tables and algorithms throughout the book summarize and clarify information.
Knobil and Neill's Physiology of Reproduction by
The Fourth Edition of Knobil & Neill continues to serve as a reference aid for research, to provide the historical context to current research, and most importantly as an aid for graduate teaching on a broad range of topics in human and comparative reproduction. In the decade since the publication of the last edition, the study of reproductive physiology has undergone monumental changes. Chief among these advances are in the areas of stem cell development, signaling pathways, the role of inflammation in the regulatory processes in the various tissues, and the integration of new animal models which have led to a greater understanding of human disease. The new edition synthesizes all of this new information at the molecular, cellular, and organismal levels of organization and present modern physiology a more understandable and comparative context. The Fourth Edition has been extensively revised, reflecting new fundamental advancements in this rapidly advancing field. Provides a common language for researchers across the fields of physiology, endocrinology, and biology to discuss their understanding of reproduction. Saves academic researchers time in quickly accessing the very latest details on reproductive physiology, as opposed to searching through thousands of journal articles.
Management of Pregnant and Neonatal Dogs, Cats, and Exotic Pets by
Management of Pregnant and Neonatal Dogs, Cats, and Exotic Pets is a comprehensive yet practical reference on small animal neonatology. Covering reproductive physiology of pregnancy and parturition, normal neonatology, and neonatal disorders in dogs, cats, and small exotic mammals, the book gives special emphasis to fetal well-being, parturition, normal physical parameters, behavior, common disorders and defects, emergency care, and orphan management. Information on nutritional and environmental considerations for both the dam and offspring is included, as well as guidance on offering advice to breeders providing neonatal care at home. Well illustrated throughout, Management of Pregnant and Neonatal Dogs, Cats, and Exotic Pets is a complete resource for the successful management of pregnant and newborn pets. Veterinary practitioners, students, technicians, and professional breeders all will find the book's how-to, clinically relevant approach to small animal neonatology invaluable.
Pathology of Domestic Animals by
The all-new Fourth Edition of Pathology of Domestic Animals comprehensively covers the biology and pathology of diseases of domestic animals on a systemic basic. Updated and expanded to reflect the current knowledge of the study of domestic animal diseases, this three-volume set appeals to veterinarians, veterinary students, trainee veterinary pathologists learning the scope of their field, and practicing pathologists confronted with diagnostic problems.
Reproductive Pathology of Domestic Mammals by
This book evolved from a series of lectures and laboratories given by Dr Kenneth McEntee to students and is based on tissues from over 20,000 cases of reproductive disease in the International Registry of Reproductive Pathology, founded by Dr. McEntee.
Sheep and Goat Medicine by
Authoritative yet easy to read, Sheep and Goat Medicine, 2nd Edition covers all the latest advances in sheep and goat medicine, including medical treatment, surgery, theriogenology, and nutrition. Full-color photographs and clear instructions provide the answers you need, guiding you through common procedures and techniques such as restraint for examination, administration of drugs, blood collection, and grooming; these descriptions are often accompanied by explanatory diagrams and charts. With diseases, surgeries, and treatments organized by body system, information is always easy to find. New to this edition are chapters on parasite control, nutritional requirements, and performing a necropsy. Developed by Dr. D.G. Pugh, a world-renowned expert on the medical care of sheep and goats, this reference is unmatched for its comprehensive coverage of herd health, physical examination, anesthesia, and multisystem diseases. Clear writing style makes the book useful and easy to understand, even for sheep and/or goat owners who are not veterinarians. Both surgery and medicine are covered in each body systems chapter, so it's easier to choose between treatment options for specific disorders. Superbly illustrated surgical procedures clearly demonstrate the steps to follow in performing surgical procedures. An explanation of the differences in normal behavior between sheep and goats shows how they are not the same, and require different methods of treatment. A consistent, logical format in each body systems chapter makes information easy to find by beginning with physical examination and diagnostic procedures, followed by discussions of common diseases that involve the system. Consistent headings include pathogenesis, clinical signs, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. A comprehensive nutrition chapter covers diet evaluation, method of balancing rations, total parenteral nutrition, and examples of nutritious diets. Practical formulas are included for making sodium sulfite for testing passive transfer, and Sheather's solution for fecal flotation. Useful appendixes summarize essential information on drugs and drug dosages, fluid therapy, and normal values and conversions. A diverse, authoritative panel of contributors provides current information on the care of valuable breeding stock as well as pets. Full-color photographs and graphics accurately depict conditions and procedures. New Fluid Therapy and Nutritional Support chapter covers emergency and critical care essential to the care of sheep and goats. New Gastrointestinal Parasitism chapter covers treatments for parasites, key to the successful management of all flocks. New Necropsy chapter helps you prevent disease outbreaks in a flock by determining the cause of death.
Diseases of Swine by
Provides a fully revised Eleventh Edition of the definitive reference to swine health and disease Diseases of Swine has been the definitive reference on swine health and disease for over 60 years. This new edition has been completely revised to include the latest information, developments, and research in the field. Now with full color images throughout, this comprehensive and authoritative resource has been redesigned for improved consistency and readability, with a reorganized format for more intuitive access to information. Diseases of Swine covers a wide range of essential topics on swine production, health, and management, with contributions from more than 100 of the foremost international experts in the field. This revised edition makes the information easy to find and includes expanded information on welfare and behavior. A key reference for anyone involved in the swine industry, Diseases of Swine, Eleventh Edition: Presents a thorough revision to the gold-standard reference on pig health and disease Features full color images throughout the book Includes information on the most current advances in the field Provides comprehensive information on swine welfare and behavior Offers a reorganized format to make the information more accessible Written for veterinarians, academicians, students, and individuals and agencies responsible for swine health and public health, Diseases of Swine, Eleventh Edition is an essential guide to swine health. "The 11th edition of Diseases of Swine continues to serve as the gold-standard resource for anything and everything related to swine herd health...this edition does an outstanding job of keeping up with the advanced diagnostic technologies and the latest research on new or emerging diseases and syndromes...there is no other informational resource that comes close to providing the depth or quality of information on the topic of swine diseases as does this book"
Veterinary Reproductive Ultrasonography by
This atlas, with about 400 illustrations, is the definitive guide to reproductive problems facing veterinarians in day-to-day practice. The book covers all important domestic large and small animals, e.g. horse, cow, sheep, goat, pig, dog and cat. For each animal included in the book the correct technique for ultrasonography is explained, followed by a look at the ovarian structure. The book shows the development of the foetus and the stages of normal pregnancy in each animal and covers abnormal pregnancy. Also included are gynaecological conditions such as ovarian cysts and endometriosis.
Society for Theriogenology Manual for Breeding Soundness Examination of Bulls by 
Abnormal Morphology of Bovine Spermatozoa by
Classifies and interprets bovine sperm defects. Includes 155 photomicrographs.
Equine Reproductive Procedures by
The second edition of Equine Reproductive Procedures provides equine practitioners, veterinary students, and equine theriogenologists with a fully updated, practical guide to techniques in equine reproductive practice. This easy-to-use resource covers skills-based information with a clinical focus, taking an easy-to-follow step-by-step approach. The book covers topics related to the reproductive management of horses, including diagnostic techniques and therapeutic procedures for stallions, mares, and foals. Procedures highlighted in the book are supported with clear descriptions and photographs. Readers will also find a list of required supplies for the procedure and a reference list. Provides step-by-step descriptions of techniques related to equine theriogenology Serves as a valuable practice tool Offers 39 new techniques not found in the first edition Includes key updates to existing techniques Those studying equine reproduction and specialists in theriogenology will find this an essential 'how-to' guide for their practice library.
Equine Stud Farm Medicine and Surgery by
This practical, hands-on guide addresses all aspects of equine reproduction and breeding. Introductory chapters review key aspects of stud farm design and equine nutrition, evaluating how these factors affect the health of horses and foals. Detailed chapters discuss the stallion and mare, conception, parturition, the health of the foal, and other essential topics. Both medical care and surgery are covered in detail, with extensive full-color illustrations designed to help the veterinarian diagnose and treat all conditions relevant to equine reproduction.
Allen's Fertility and Obstetrics in the Dog by
A simple and concise guide to the various conditions which affect the process of reproduction in dogs and bitches. The book considers all aspects of the physiology, anatomy and endocrinology of the male and female reproductive system, followed by a discussion of mating, pregnancy and parturition. Later chapters describe problems such as anatomical abnormalities, abnormal physiology and endocrinology, intersexuality, infertility, contraception and surgical procedures. Fully updated to include recent research and developments. New sections include ultrasonographic examination of the male and female reproductive tract, pregnancy diagnosis, diseases of the prostate gland, semen preservation and artificial insemination and the pharmacological control of reproduction.
Reproduction in Poultry by
This book describes the biological basis of reproduction in poultry and places this information in the context of poultry production. The author has collated and integrated recent information from a variety of sources in order to highlight the principles of the reproductive biology of poultry. This is achieved through a well-illustrated and tabulated text which emphasizes integration rather than comprehensive literature citations. The book begins by considering the egg, proceeds to a brief description of embryonic and chick development as they relate to poultry production, and describes the physiological processes that lead to formation of the fertile egg. It concludes with a discussion of the relationship between measurements of reproductive success that are commonly used in the poultry industry and their ability to reflect the physiological processes that contribute to successful reproduction. The book is aimed at advanced undergraduates or graduate students studying animal reproduction or agriculture, as well as scientists working in the poultry industry.
Small Animal Surgery by
From basic procedures like spays, castrations, and declaws to advanced surgeries like craniotomy, vertal slots, and lung lobectomy, Fossum's Small Animal Surgery, 5th Edition is the go-to, full-color guide for everything that general veterinarians and vet students need to know about both soft tissue and orthopedic surgery. Five editors bring their expert perspective as they discuss the latest advances in key areas such as imaging modalities, regenerative medicine, minimally invasive surgery, and neurology. With each book adoption, you'll also have access to the Expert Consult website, which includes a fully searchable version of the book plus step-by-step video clips and animations of surgical procedures, aftercare instruction handouts, case presentations, references linked to full text articles on PubMed, and an extensive image collection. There is no better resource to keep you up to date on the latest advances and techniques in small animal surgery! Well illustrated, step-by-step instructions for surgical techniques provide quick reference to practical how-to information in emergency and clinical situations. Anesthesia Protocols offer easy access to recommendations for anesthetizing animals with particular diseases or disorders. Coverage of cutting-edge imaging techniques, including radiographs, CT, MRI, and digital imaging, explores the most useful imaging modalities for demonstrating areas of surgical concern. Clinical tips boxes provide at-a-glance surgical and practice tips. Postsurgical care instructions provide customizable client aftercare handouts for many of the procedures in the book. Reference links to PubMed grant access to full-text articles. NEW! Expanded sections on thoracoscopy, arthroscopy, and laparoscopy reflect the significant growth in minimally invasive procedures in vet medicine. NEW! Significantly revised section on joint disease includes additional techniques and procedures. NEW! Revised chapter on regenerative medicine emphasizes application of stem cell and regenerative medicine technologies to clinical patients. NEW! Increased emphasis on differential diagnosis helps you learn how to avoid misdiagnoses that result in unnecessary surgery with the inclusion of boxes covering disorders that may mimic the more commonly encountered surgical neurologic problems that are not actual disorders requiring surgical repair. NEW! Correlation boxes highlight the advances in veterinary medicine that correlate with human medicine. NEW! Expanded chapter on neurologic examination cover how to perform a proper neurologic exam to detect problems in cats and dogs. NEW! Step-by-step procedure videos that walk through both basic and advanced procedures have been added to this new edition. NEW! Aftercare instructions and rarely performed procedures have been added to the Expert Consult.
Reproductive Biology in the Mare by Ultrasonic Imaging and Animal Reproduction (Cattle) by
ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 1. FUNDAMENTALS. O. J. Ginther. 1995. (First of series) Applies to all animal species. Explanatory diagrams & ultrasound images are used in discussions of ultrasound principles, considerations for equipment purchase & operation, examining techniques, & image interpretation. Research applications are also considered. A prerequisite to subsequent books in the series. The book is supplemented by an independently available 50-minute videotape. 225 pages, 125 sonograms, 53 explanatory diagrams, & 30 photographs. ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 2. HORSES. O.J. Ginther.1995. (Second of series) ISBN 0-9640072-4-X. Ultrasonic scanning of mares & stallions is well illustrated & integrated with gross anatomy & function. The transrectal approach to internal organs is emphasized. The ovaries, follicles, corpora lutea, uterus, & conceptus are given in-depth attention. Other subjects include the dynamics of embryo & fetus, embryonic loss, estimating gestational age, fetal sexing, development & management of twins, & internal & external organs of stallions. 400 pages, 516 sonograms, 125 explanatory diagrams, 49 photographs, & 29 tables. Order from: EQUISERVICES PUBLISHING, 4343 Garfoot Road, Cross Plains, WI 53528; phone or FAX: 608-798-4910.
Ultrasonic Imaging and Animal Reproduction (Horses) by
ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 1. FUNDAMENTALS. O. J. Ginther. 1995. (First of series) Applies to all animal species. Explanatory diagrams & ultrasound images are used in discussions of ultrasound principles, considerations for equipment purchase & operation, examining techniques, & image interpretation. Research applications are also considered. A prerequisite to subsequent books in the series. The book is supplemented by an independently available 50-minute videotape. 225 pages, 125 sonograms, 53 explanatory diagrams, & 30 photographs. ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 2. HORSES. O.J. Ginther.1995. (Second of series) ISBN 0-9640072-4-X. Ultrasonic scanning of mares & stallions is well illustrated & integrated with gross anatomy & function. The transrectal approach to internal organs is emphasized. The ovaries, follicles, corpora lutea, uterus, & conceptus are given in-depth attention. Other subjects include the dynamics of embryo & fetus, embryonic loss, estimating gestational age, fetal sexing, development & management of twins, & internal & external organs of stallions. 400 pages, 516 sonograms, 125 explanatory diagrams, 49 photographs, & 29 tables. Order from: EQUISERVICES PUBLISHING, 4343 Garfoot Road, Cross Plains, WI 53528; phone or FAX: 608-798-4910.
Ultrasonic Imaging and Animal Reproduction (Fundamentals) by
ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 1. FUNDAMENTALS. O. J. Ginther. 1995. (First of series) Applies to all animal species. Explanatory diagrams & ultrasound images are used in discussions of ultrasound principles, considerations for equipment purchase & operation, examining techniques, & image interpretation. Research applications are also considered. A prerequisite to subsequent books in the series. The book is supplemented by an independently available 50-minute videotape. 225 pages, 125 sonograms, 53 explanatory diagrams, & 30 photographs. ULTRASONIC IMAGING & ANIMAL REPRODUCTION: BOOK 2. HORSES. O.J. Ginther.1995. (Second of series) ISBN 0-9640072-4-X. Ultrasonic scanning of mares & stallions is well illustrated & integrated with gross anatomy & function. The transrectal approach to internal organs is emphasized. The ovaries, follicles, corpora lutea, uterus, & conceptus are given in-depth attention. Other subjects include the dynamics of embryo & fetus, embryonic loss, estimating gestational age, fetal sexing, development & management of twins, & internal & external organs of stallions. 400 pages, 516 sonograms, 125 explanatory diagrams, 49 photographs, & 29 tables. Order from: EQUISERVICES PUBLISHING, 4343 Garfoot Road, Cross Plains, WI 53528; phone or FAX: 608-798-4910.
Canine Reproduction and Neonatology by
Winner of Dog Writers Association of America's Dogwise Best Book Award This book focuses on the veterinarian's responsibilities for managing the problem pregnancy, insemination, collecting, storing and shipping semen, and all of the diseases and vaccination protocols that may involve the bitch and the stud dog. It is also a very practical guide for the non-veterinarian breeder and kennel owner. The book provides step by step guidelines for husbandry and nutrition as they relate to the bitch and her puppies, an excellent and concise description of breeding genetics and the implications of that knowledge for long term preservation of the breed line, and it focuses squarely on the relationship that must exist between the veterinarian and breeder clients. This practical guide is the ideal resource for veterinarians as well as for breeders, kennel operators and others with a financial or humane interest in the breeding and maintenance of dogs.
Comparative Reproductive Biology by 
Reproduction in Farm Animals by
When you're looking for a comprehensive and reliable text on large animal reproduction, look no further! the seventh edition of this classic text is geared for the undergraduate student in Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine. In response to reader feedback, Dr. Hafez has streamlined and edited the entire text to remove all repetitious and nonessential material. That means you'll learn more in fewer pages. Plus the seventh editing is filled with features that help you grasp the concepts of reproduction in farm animals so you'll perform better on exams and in practice: condensed and simplified tables, so they're easier to consult an easy-to-scan glossary at the end of the book an expanded appendix, which includes graphic illustrations of assisted reproduction technology Plus, you'll find valuable NEW COVERAGE on all these topics: Equine Reproduction: expanded information reflecting today's knowledge Llamas (NEW CHAPTER) Micromanipulation of Gametes and In Vitro Fertilization (NEW CHAPTER!) Reach for the text that's revised with the undergraduate in mind: the seventh edition of Hafez's Reproduction in Farm Animals.
Essentials of Domestic Animal Embryology by
Essentials of Domestic Animal Embryology is a comprehensive, modern treatment of the subject dealing with all organ systems and including important molecular aspects of animal development. Written with the student in mind, the text covers embryology of the domestic species, both general (development from formation of the gametes, through fertilization and initial embryogenesis, up to organ formation) and special (development of the organ systems). It also includes sections on teratology, assisted reproduction technologies, societal relevance, and the implications for current veterinary practice of a long-established science. Students of veterinary medicine, animal science, biomedical sciences and biotechnology, at both undergraduate and graduate stages of their careers, will find this volume essential for their needs. The international experience of the authors has been applied to produce a textbook of international relevance, likely to remain an important resource for many years to come. Succinct and accessible 300 high-quality colour illustrations Written for undergraduates and invaluable for graduates wishing to brush up
Color Atlas of Veterinary Reproductive Pathology by
Reproductive performance is crucial to any livestock operation, and with the increasing focus on efficiency, it is imperative that any complications be dealt with early in the reproductive process. Full-color images accompanied by concise explanations and a detailed index constitute this atlas of reproductive pathology of male and female cows, pigs, horses, sheep, dogs, and cats. A Color Atlas of Veterinary Reproductive Pathology offers 603 full-color annotated macroscopic and microscopic plates showing reproductive diseases and conditions. Emphasis is placed on macroscopic views to encourage rapid diagnosis by veterinary students, clinicians, specialists, and technicians.
Sheep and Goat by
The sheep and goat are important to the economies of many countries worldwide through the production of wool, meat and milk. Often raised in open extensive systems, flocks are highly susceptible to outbreaks of disease, and quick recognition of ill-health is a high priority for husbandrymen and for the veterinarians advising them.
Manual of the International Embryo Transfer Society
Small Animal Pediatrics by
A practical reference for the general veterinary clinician, Small Animal Pediatrics: The First 12 Months of Life compiles into a single location the latest information in the rapidly developing field of canine and feline pediatrics. Editors Michael Peterson, DVM, MS, and Michelle Kutzler, DVM, PhD, DACT are joined by more than 40 expert contributors in providing coverage from prenatal care to one year of age. For ease of use, the text is divided into four sections. A General Considerations section opens the book by covering prenatal care of the bitch and queen, birth, normal physical examinations, growth, husbandry, nutrition, care of orphans, neonatal mortality, behavior, emergency and critical care, and immunology. The second section, Common Infectious Diseases, covers bacterial, viral, fungal, rickettsial, and parasitic infections. The third section describes diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to the young patient including radiology, ultrasound, aesthetic and surgical considerations, pain management, pharmacology, and clinical pathology. Finally, the fourth section covers a variety of organ systems with discussions on normal development, congenital conditions, and acquired diseases. The text also includes information that is usually difficult to find, including a pediatric formulary, care of orphan puppies, clinical pathology values, prenatal care, and normal growth and development guidelines. This book will be a significant asset to any veterinary library! Offers a practical, clinically oriented resource for the unique diagnostic and treatment challenges posed by pediatric and juvenile animal patients. Includes comprehensive coverage of all special problems encountered in pet management from birth through the first 12 months of life. Provides clear, step-by-step guidelines for important clinical procedures and techniques for the most vulnerable of small animal patients. Covers procedures such as intraosseous catheterization and fluid therapy, venipuncture, and tube feeding. Includes guidelines for designing and implementing a successful pediatric wellness program tailored to your own practice. Discusses infectious diseases in young animals, zoonotic potential, and human public health concerns. Provides key new information on puppy and kitten behavioral development including guidance for prevention and intervention for problem behaviors, the leading cause of pet euthanasia. Includes guidelines for kennel and cattery health management as well as shelter medicine health considerations. Discusses controversial health and ethical issues in veterinary pediatrics, such as ear cropping, tail docking, declawing, and early spay/neuter surgery (including both pro and con positions). Includes the latest recommendations for nutritional care of healthy and "special needs" puppies and kittens as well as the post-parturient and nursing dam. Offers an easy-to-use, well-organized format for quick and easy access to the most relevant information.
The Dog Breeder's Guide to Successful Breeding and Health Management by
This unique resource offers a general overview of canine body systems and how each system affects the breeding process. Key topics include nutrition, pharmacology, microbiology, parasitology, vaccinations, genetics, and endocrinology, as well as normal anatomy and disorders of the male and female reproductive systems. Full-color illustrations make important information more readily available and provide more accurate representations of actual clinical appearance. Each chapter begins with frequently asked questions and answers, offering quick and easy access to key information. Each chapter ends with a Test Your Understanding section that encourages readers to review what they have just read and apply it to real-life situations. A first aid appendix offers quick access to information related to various emergencies, including what could have caused it, and how to handle the situation. An appendix covering common problems seen in dogs lists symptoms associated with each problem, the possible causes, and how frequently the problem occurs.
Equine Breeding Management and Artificial Insemination by
Put the principles of good breeding management into practice with Equine Breeding Management and Artificial Insemination, 2nd Edition for reproductive success! Practical information on the reproductive management of both thoroughbred and warmblood breeding operations prepares you to effectively breed even problem mares and stallions. Plus, detailed content on techniques, procedures, reproductive physiology, and more help you increase reproductive efficiency as well as track and improve your results throughout each breeding season. A section on reproduction efficiency evaluation includes a worksheet to evaluate the performance of both mares and stallions during each breeding season, and helps you compare reproductive performance with previous breeding seasons. Detailed descriptions of procedures and techniques including embryo transfer, artificial insemination, and more enable you to implement the methods for better breeding results. Practical information on reproductive management of both thoroughbred and warmblood breeding operations enhance the fertility of problem mares and stallions. World-renowned authors and contributors with years of practical knowledge and experience provide cutting-edge information. Vibrant full-color design and photographs show accurate representations of clinical appearance. Chapters covering the latest reproductive techniques improve chances of successful breeding, and improve survival rates after the birth of the foal. Vital chapters with information on recognizing potential problems help you quickly identify warning signs before fertility is negatively affected.
Current Therapy in Equine Reproduction by
Offering the most current insights on horse breeding, this book covers the entire reproductive system, normal and abnormal mare physiology, and a wide range of reproductive problems commonly seen in both the mare and stallion. Coverage includes advanced reproductive techniques, with numerous breeding strategies to help you achieve optimal fertility rates. Features the most current information available on equine reproduction, including the latest therapies and treatments for breeding dysfunction, as well as advances in reproductive techniques Focuses on therapy and treatment to provide practitioners with quick access to key information Features the shared experience and valuable advice of world-renowned experts who have first-hand knowledge of which treatments and therapies are most effective
Managing Breeds for a Secure Future by
Bringing together the experience of three top academic experts in breeding procedure, this up-to-date second edition of Managing Breeds for a Secure Future examines breeding and genetics at a level accessible to all. This new edition has been revised to cover emerging debates in animal breeding and includes domestic species such as dogs and horses.The authors skilfully use a clear discussion of theoretical genetics to explain its practical applications to a wide audience of livestock and domestic animal breeders. Specific examples are provided throughout to illustrate how decisions regarding breeding and management relate back to genetic theory.Advice is given on all areas pertaining to the process of responsible breed management from selecting pairs and mating systems to registry functions and long-term management. Current topics of interest covered include: breeding for robustness and disease resistance, international movement of livestock, and preserving endangered breeds. Breed associations are also discussed in depth with particular emphasis on how reducing common conflicts can secure the future of breeds for generations to come.This practical book offers a comprehensive examination of breeding practices aimed at livestock and dog breeders of all abilities and experience levels.The first edition was published by The Livestock Conservancy.
Large Animal Urogenital Surgery by
This text on urogenital surgery in large animals covers the indications, contracondications, complications, and alternative approaches for each specie. The species covered include the horse, cow, pig, sheep, goat, lamb and llama.
