Bovine Reproduction by
Bovine Reproduction A complete resource for practical, authoritative information on all aspects of bovine theriogenology The newly revised Second Edition of Bovine Reproduction delivers a comprehensive overview of all major issues in bovine reproduction. Written by leading experts in the subject, the book is an indispensable reference for any veterinarian dealing with bovine fertility. Bovine Reproduction is divided into sections on the bull, the cow, the neonate, and assisted reproduction techniques. New chapters cover new gene manipulation technologies, managing problem donors, lameness, and more. Outdated and redundant information from the First Edition has been removed and replaced by coverage of new diseases, technologies, procedures, techniques, and approaches to fertility problems. A new companion website provides images and tables from the book in PowerPoint format. In addition to more than 675 full-color images, readers will also benefit from: A thorough discussion of the anatomy and physiology of the bull, including the endocrine and exocrine function of bovine testes and the thermoregulation of the testes An exploration of breeding and health management of bulls, including the evaluation of breeding soundness and ultrasound examination of the reproductive tract An examination of the anatomy, physiology, and the breeding and health management of cows, including fetal programming, the reproductive tract microbiome, and a section on obstetrics and reproductive surgery A review of the management of both critical care of the neonate and effective colostrum assessment and provision An introduction to assisted and advanced reproductive technologies A practical and comprehensive reference, Bovine Reproduction is a must-have purchase for bovine practitioners, theriogenologists, animal scientists, veterinary students, and residents with an interest in cattle.
Farm Animal Surgery by
Master the surgical techniques needed to treat large animals! A comprehensive resource, Farm Animal Surgery, 2nd Edition provides clear, step-by-step guidelines to performing common, field-tested surgical procedures. Coverage includes key information such as patient examination and preparation, diagnostic imaging, surgical procedures by body system, anesthesia concerns, fluid therapy, and postoperative management. Written by large animal specialists Susan Fubini and Norm Ducharme, along with a team of expert contributors, this resource is also an invaluable tool in preparing for ACVS or ECVS board exams. Consistent, logical organization makes it easy to find important information, with each section devoted to a single animal and chapters organized by body system. Step-by-step guidelines cover bovine, sheep and goat, and swine surgeries by body system. 775 full-color photographs and anatomic drawings illustrate common disorders, techniques, and equipment for large animal surgery. Up-to-date information on key surgical techniques keeps you aware of advances in the field and practical knowledge of animal care. 35 expert contributors provide a diverse, authoritative perspective on the many aspects of large animal surgery. References are provided for very specialized procedures. NEW surgical procedures are included for each species - many with illustrated, step-by-step instructions. NEW coverage of the physical examination includes cow, swine, goats, and sheep, to facilitate more accurate diagnoses of medical or surgical conditions.
The Merck Veterinary Manual by
The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) covers all domesticated species and diseases in veterinary medicine worldwide. This completely revised and redesigned new edition of the veterinary classic uses a two-column format and color throughout for easy-to-read text and tables. Hundreds of color images enhance and illustrate the text. In addition to extensive revisions and updates, this edition includes a new section on public health and zoonoses, expanded coverage of fish and aquaculture, new chapters on backyard poultry, toxicologic workplace hazards, smoke inhalation, and additional coverage of numerous new and emerging topics in veterinary medicine.
Nutrient Requirements of Beef Cattle by
Since 1944, the National Research Council (NRC) has published seven editions of the Nutrient Requirements of Beef Cattle. This reference has guided nutritionists and other professionals in academia and the cattle and feed industries in developing and implementing nutritional and feeding programs for beef cattle. The cattle industry has undergone considerable changes since the seventh revised edition was published in 2000 and some of the requirements and recommendations set forth at that time are no longer relevant or appropriate. The eighth revised edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Beef Cattle builds on the previous editions. A great deal of new research has been published during the past 14 years and there is a large amount of new information for many nutrients. In addition to a thorough and current evaluation of the literature on the energy and nutrient requirements of beef in all stages of life, this volume includes new information about phosphorus and sulfur contents; a review of nutritional and feeding strategies to minimize nutrient losses in manure and reduce greenhouse gas production; a discussion of the effect of feeding on the nutritional quality and food safety of beef; new information about nutrient metabolism and utilization; new information on feed additives that alter rumen metabolism and postabsorptive metabolism; and future areas of needed research. The tables of feed ingredient composition are significantly updated. Nutrient Requirements of Beef Cattle represents a comprehensive review of the most recent information available on beef cattle nutrition and ingredient composition that will allow efficient, profitable, and environmentally conscious beef production.
Society for Theriogenology Manual for Breeding Soundness Examination of Bulls by 
Veterinary Clinical Epidemiology: From Patient to Population by
4* Doody's Review! Ideal for veterinary students, residents and clinicians, the fourth edition of this bestselling textbook has been fully updated in line with developments in research and teaching. The logical chapter progression reflects the stages in a clinical case work-up and how epidemiological concepts and methods contribute. This new edition provides guidelines for improving patient and population health outcomes, and detecting emerging diseases through systematic evaluation of patient encounters and electronic medical records incorporates new methodologies and concepts drawn from the recent veterinary practice literature updates chapter content including expanded coverage of risk, statistical and economic analyses, and surveillance for emerging diseases more than 60 examples of clinical research drawn from the international veterinary practice literature presented as structured abstracts; follow-up questions invite the reader to participate in the analysis of results online links to full text versions of more than half of structured abstracts and more than 40% of the book's 174 literature citations updates the listing and review of public and private online resources, including guidelines for online literature searching and critical evaluation of clinical reports. Today's veterinary curricula places greater emphasis on experiential/problem-based learning versus discipline-oriented instruction. This fourth edition is ideally suited to introduce epidemiologic concepts and methodologies to veterinary students in the context of the patient encounter, and should be of use at any point in the veterinary curriculum.
Veterinary Medicine by
Treat the diseases affecting large animals! Veterinary Medicine, 11th Edition provides up-to-date information on the diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, goats, and pigs. Comprehensive coverage includes the principles of clinical examination and making a diagnosis, along with specific therapy recommendations. For easier use, this edition has been divided into two volumes and restructured into a logical, anatomically based approach to disease. From internationally known veterinary experts Peter Constable, Kenneth Hinchcliff, Stanley Done, and Walter Grünberg, this book is the definitive, one-stop reference for farm animal and equine care. Comprehensive coverage includes information essential to any large-animal veterinarian, especially those working with horses, cattle, sheep, goats, or pigs. Coverage of diseases addresses major large-animal diseases of all countries, including foreign animal and emerging diseases. User-friendly format makes it easier to quickly absorb key information. Quick review/synopsis sections make important information on complex diseases easy to find. NEW! Convenient, easy-access format is organized by organ systems, and divides the content into two compact volumes with the same authoritative coverage. Nearly 200 new color photographs and line drawings are included in this edition. NEW full-color design improves navigation, clarifies subject headings, and includes more boxes, tables, and charts for faster reference. New Diseases Primarily Affecting the Reproductive System chapter is added. Updated and expanded chapter on pharmacotherapy lists therapeutic interventions and offers treatment boxes and principles of antibiotic use. Expanded sections on herd health include biosecurity and infection control, and valuable Strength of Evidence boxes. NEW or extensively revised sections include topics such as the Schmallenberg and Bluetongue viral epidemics of ruminants in Europe, Wesselbron disease in cattle, hypokalemia in adult cattle, equine multinodular pulmonary fibrosis, Hendra virus infection, porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome, torque teno virus, and numerous recently identified congenital and inherited disorders of large animals. Additional content is provided on lameness in cattle and the diseases of cervids.
Animal Feeding and Nutrition by
Authors Marshall Jurgens and Kristjan Bregendahl have been joined by new authors Josie Coverdale and Stephanie Hansen to create the 11th edition of Animal Feeding and Nutrition. Animal Feeding and Nutrition is written in a clear and concise outline format, reducing the vast amount of reading sometimes necessary for complete coverage of feeding practices. Animal Feeding and Nutrition is organized around four basic topics, giving your students all the information they'll need to understand the applied concepts of animal feeds and feeding methods: The Nutrients - classifications, recommended levels, and an up-to-date review of nutrients and digestion Feedstuffs and Feed Additives - classification, characteristics, preparation, feeding laws and regulation Procedures in Ration Formulization Feeding Requirements and Guides The 11th edition of Animal Feeding and Nutrition features: Updated information on equine nutrition and adheres to the 2007 daily nutrition requirements values. Coverage of new feed ingredients (enzymes, byproducts). Information on how to make 'biosecure diets' with reference to Salmonella control. Increased terminology within the glossary. Examples of various problem-solving and ration-formulation techniques that help your students with procedures in mathematical solutions. Expanded information on implants for growth stimulation. Updated information on feeding systems. An Instructor's Manual with over 12 student exercises.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Herd Health: Food Animal Production Medicine by 
Large Animal Urogenital Surgery by
This text on urogenital surgery in large animals covers the indications, contracondications, complications, and alternative approaches for each specie. The species covered include the horse, cow, pig, sheep, goat, lamb and llama.
Noordsy's Food Animal Surgery by
Noordsy's Food Animal Surgery, Fifth Edition is a fully updated new edition of the classic field manual on surgical techniques in cattle, goats, sheep, and pigs. Designed for easy, fast access in the field, information is presented using a concise outline style with information boxes, tables, drawings, and photographs to highlight and illustrate key points Noordsy's Food Animal Surgery is an ideal reference for veterinary students and clinicians seeing food animal patients. Beginning with chapters on general surgical considerations, restraint, and anesthesia, the book's main focus is on step-by-step procedures for specific surgical techniques. The Fifth Edition has been thoroughly updated throughout to provide a current resource, with additional information on welfare, pain management, and anesthesia. Noordsy's Food Animal Surgery is an essential purchase for practitioners and students wanting to develop or refresh their surgical skills.
Plants Poisonous to Livestock in the Western States by 
Abnormal Morphology of Bovine Spermatozoa by Basic Physiology and Anatomy TextsBasic Accounting Texts
"[This study guide was] prepared from information obtained from surveys of successful candidates.
"Questions on the examination may be taken from sources other than this list."
Source: ABVP Study Guide - Beef Cattle
This resource updated: 5/18/2023
Source reading list reviewed: Spring 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
