This guide contains the list of books and journals recommended as study materials for the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists (ACVM) examination.
Residents are responsible for ensuring they are using the correct edition of a book for their exam.
Please ask your librarian, mentor, or specialty board examination committee if questions arise.
“Diplomates can only be certified in the specialty of Parasitology by passing the General Parasitology and Specialty Parasitology Examinations.
“Diplomates can only be certified in Bacteriology / Mycology, Immunology, or Virology by passing the General Microbiology Exam and the relevant Specialty Examinations.”
Source: American College of Veterinary Microbiologists Procedure for Certification
Revised March 2020, American College of Veterinary Microbiologists
This resource updated: 06/07/2023
Source reading list reviewed: 2023
Source reading list updated by specialty board: 2023
|
Part 1 Exam %
|
Part 2 Exam (Percent each section) |
||
|---|---|---|---|
| b.1 | Knowledge of bacterial pathogenesis, including toxin production and immunopathology |
7 | 20 |
| b.2 | Identification of bacteria and fungi by phenotype | 6 | 20 |
| b.3 | Understanding and application of molecular diagnostic tests for bacterial/fungal disease and their genetic basis |
3 | 10 |
| b.4 | Knowledge of collection methods, transport media and growth requirements for optimal initial organism isolation |
6 | 20 |
| b.5 | Diagnosis and treatment of bacterial and fungal disease, including antimicrobial susceptibility testing, CLSI standards, and selection of antimicrobial drugs |
7 | 20 |
| b.6 | Serologic testing for bacterial and fungal diseases | 2 | 5 |
| b.7 | Application of epidemiological concepts in diagnostics, such as sens/spec, predictive value, signal detection |
2 | 5 |
| Total = 100 |
Bacteriology/Mycology
1. Principles of animal bacteriology
• Structure and morphology
• Classification and nomenclature
• Propagation, isolation, and identification
• Pathogenesis of bacterial infections
• Bacterial genetics
• Molecular biology of bacteria and bacteriophages
• Immunization, disinfectants, and chemotherapeutics
• Bacterial-host interactions
2. Conduct and interpretation of laboratory procedures
• Serology
• Biochemical reactions
• Antibiotic susceptibility testing
• DNA/RNA manipulation
3. Bacterial diseases of animals (including lab animals and fish)
"Examination Study Methods Microbiology
"Candidates are advised to review relevant and current veterinary medical curriculum notes but are reminded that as specialty certification examinations, the expected level of preparation and knowledge is much higher than a review of veterinary medical curriculum. Candidates should plan to study advanced and graduate level information resources. Review particularly relevant subjects such as bacteriology, mycology, immunology, parasitology, virology, infectious diseases, epidemiology, histology, pathology, therapeutics, statistics, and molecular biology and technology."
Microbiology Review Texts. "There are many excellent and useful textbooks available. Pay particular attention to the most recent editions of the listed examples. The figures, diagrams, and photographs in texts are particularly useful in preparing for the specialty (Part II) examinations. The following are examples of some textbooks that will be helpful. The list is not all-inclusive, nor is it necessary to study all texts"
Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease by 
Essentials of Veterinary Bacteriology and Mycology by 
Diagnostic Procedures in Veterinary Bacteriology and Mycology by 
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by 
Veterinary Immunology by 
Basic and Clinical Immunology by 
Fenner's Veterinary Virology by 
Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat by 
Hsiung's Diagnostic Virology: As illustrated by light and electron microscopy by 
Pathogenesis of Bacterial Infections in Animals by 
Microbial Diseases : a veterinarian's guide to laboratory diagnosis by 
Advances in Veterinary Virology by 
Veterinary Mycology Laboratory Manual by 
Clinical Veterinary Microbiology by 
Manual of Clinical Microbiology by
The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.
Medically Important Fungi: A Guide to Identification by 
Mims' Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease by
Mims' Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease is the landmark book in the field of infectious disease. The new, revised edition of this work provides a comprehensive, up-to-date description of the mechanisms of microbial infection and the pathogenesis of infectious disease. Presented in a clear, accessible style, it deals in an integrated manner with the spectrum of microorganisms, describing the factors common to all infectious diseases. Molecular biology, pathology, and immunology are brought together to explain the mechanisms for spread, immune response, and recovery.
The Comprehensive Sourcebook of Bacterial Protein Toxins by 
Case Studies in Veterinary Immunology by
Case Studies in Veterinary Immunology presents basic immunological concepts in the context of actual cases seen in clinics. It is intended for veterinary medicine students, interns, residents, and veterinarians, and serves as a valuable supplement and companion to a variety of core immunology textbooks and courses. The book includes cases describing primary immune system defects, secondary immune system defects, and hypersensitivity and autoimmune disorders, as well as dysproteinemias and lymphoid neoplasia. Drawing on the successful approach of Geha's Case Studies in Immunology, each representative case is preceded by a discussion of the principles underlying that specific immunological mechanism. The case itself includes the presenting complaint (signalment), physical examination findings, pertinent diagnostic laboratory data, diagnosis, and treatment options. In those instances in which a specific disorder occurs in both animals and humans, the differences and similarities in the immunological mechanisms and manifestations of the disease are explored. End of case questions highlight important concepts and serve as a review aid for students. Details on standard vaccines and vaccination schedules, as well as descriptions of the types of assays used for evaluation of the immune system, are included as appendices.
"Read current scientific literature. Read thoroughly and critically all journals you feel to be pertinent. This is a formidable, but not impossible task. Place greater emphasis on refereed journals. Figures and diagrams in journals are particularly useful for the specialty (Part II) examination."
| p.1 | Knowledge of protozoa, helminth, and arthropod structure, classification and taxonomy (includes life cycles and transmission strategies |
43 (18%) | 12 (12%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| p.2 | Knowledge of diseases produced by various parasites in various species |
60 (25%) | 25 (25%) |
| p.3 | Knowledge of zoonotic parasites and the ability to make case- specific, evidence-based recommendations to limit the spread of zoonotic parasites from animals to people |
24 (10%) | 5 (5%) |
| p.4 | Knowledge of transboundary animal parasites, particularly those of recent or immediate importance in North America, and the skills to develop evidence-based programs that limit the risk of introduction of transboundary animal parasites or slow the spread of these parasites within North America |
19 (8%) | 3 (3%) |
| p.5 | Knowledge of antiparasitic compounds, and the skills to design treatment and control schemes for parasitic infections based on available tools and with a comprehensive understanding of resistance to antiparasitic compounds, including strategies for preserving drug activity and alternatives to antiparasitic use |
41 (17%) | 15 (15%) |
| p.6 | Knowledge of diagnostic methods for identification of parasites and parasitic infection including morphologic, histopathologic, immunologic and molecular methods, and skills to accurately interpret information gathered by these methods | 53 (22%) | 40 (40%) |
| Total Units = | 240 | 100 |
"EXAMINATION STUDY METHODS PARASITOLOGY:
In general, careful study of up-to-date textbooks in veterinary parasitology will provide candidates with solid preparation for the general and specialty examinations. Reading the current clinical parasitology literature is appropriate to further prepare for the examinations. Examples of appropriate textbook and journals that should be the focus of preparation are listed below. The most current editions of textbooks and journals from the past 5 years should be studied."
Parasitology
1. Basic parasitology concepts
2. Pathology of parasites
3. Immunology
4. Regulatory environment (registrations), reporting, meat inspection
5. Viral / bacterial vector-borne pathogens
6. Epidemiology
7. Molecular biology/technology
Flynn's Parasites of Laboratory Animals by 
Georgis' Parasitology for Veterinarians by 
Handbook of Equine Parasite Control by 
Medical and Veterinary Entomology by 
Parasitic Diseases of Wild Mammals by 
Veterinary Clinical Parasitology by
New edition of the market-leading benchtop reference on the diagnosis of internal and external parasites in animals, including expanded coverage of parasites of reptiles, birds, and other exotic species Veterinary Clinical Parasitology, 9th Edition, allows for a quick and accurate reference to internal and external parasites found in a wide variety of domestic animals and laboratory animal host species. Focusing on the tests and information most relevant to daily veterinary practice, this classic benchtop manual contains a wealth of high-quality images to assist readers in diagnosing parasitic disease and identifying and treating relevant parasites. Contributions by leading experts in veterinary pathobiology and parasitology cover fecal examination for the diagnosis of parasitism, detection of parasites in the blood, diagnosis of arthropod parasites, and more. The latest edition contains fully revised material throughout, including new and expanded information on immunodiagnostic and molecular diagnostic tests, additional parasite-specific material on the benefits and limitations of different test modalities, and increased coverage of reptiles, birds, and other exotic and laboratory animals. New sections include up-to-date information on anthelmintics, antiprotozoals, and other antiparasitic drugs, and challenging case studies that provide insights on situations where identification of parasites is especially difficult. Published under the auspices of the American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists (AAVP), this indispensable clinical manual: * Describes accurate and cost-effective techniques for diagnosiing parasitic infections in animals * Presents clear and concise information on the distribution, life cycle, and significance of each parasite covered * Contains hundreds of color clinical images to enable rapid picture-matching and aid in diagnosis * Offers a spiral-bound format that allows the book to lie flat on the benchtop, ideal for regular use in daily practice * Features revised content throughout, including new chapters and images, an improved format, an enhanced color scheme, and an updated companion website Veterinary Clinical Parasitology, 9th Edition is an essential resource for practicing veterinarians, veterinary technicians, diagnosticians, researchers, and students in need of a timely and efficient reference on morphologic identification of parasites in different animal species.
Veterinary Parasitology by Virology
1. Principles of animal virology
• Structure and morphology
• Classification and nomenclature
• Cultivation and assay of viruses
• Viral replication strategies
• Pathogenesis of viral infections
• Virus-host interactions
• Immunization, disinfectants and chemotherapeutics
2. Conduct and interpretation of laboratory procedures
• Serology
• Viral cytopathology
• Electron microscopy
• Immunohistochemistry
• Pathology
• Molecular detection methods, primarily for nucleic acid products
3. Viral diseases of animals (including lab animals and fish)
• Pathogenesis
• Clinical presentation
• Pathology
• Diagnosis
4. Prion Associated Diseases
• Pathogenesis
• Diagnostic Methods
| v.1 | Knowledge of different viruses, their structure, classification and taxonomy |
5 | 14 |
| v.2 | Viral pathogenesis and clinical manifestations of viral disease in different animal species, including disease transmission and epidemiology |
5 | 16 |
|---|---|---|---|
| v.3 | Knowledge of viral genetics, replication and transmission | 5 | 14 |
| v.4 | Understanding principles of diagnostic test validation including the application of statistics to validation data |
5 | 14 |
| v.5 | Knowledge of antivirals and assay development for evaluating antivirals |
3 | 11 |
| v.6 | Detailed knowledge of vaccinology including: Knowledge of major antigens Production of sterilizing immunity or protective immunity. Vaccine production and assessment of safety and efficacy Knowledge of U.S. and international regulatory requirements for vaccine production (USDA,FDA, OIE) |
4 | 12 |
| v.7 | Knowledge of transboundary animal diseases and trade restrictions on movement of animals and animal products including knowing application of appropriate diagnostic tests for certification of freedom |
2 | 5 |
| v.8 | Control of viral disease in populations and treatment of disease in individuals |
5 | 14 |
| Total = 100 | Total = 100 |
Hsiung's Diagnostic Virology: As illustrated by light and electron microscopy by Advances in Veterinary Virology by Immunology
1. Basic cellular and molecular immunology
• Ontogeny of the immune response
• Genetics of the immune response
• Histocompatibility
2. Cellular interactions in the immune system
• Cells and organs of the immune system
• Immune cell receptors
• Cellular regulation of immune responses
• Cytokines
3. Immunity to infectious agents
• Bacterial
• Viral
• Mycotic
4. Clinical Immunology (pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment)
• Autoimmunity
• Hypersensitivities (types I-IV)
• Immunodeficiency
5. Conduct and interpretation of laboratory procedures
• Serology
• Immunochemistry
• Assays for cell-mediated immunity
• Leukocyte function assays
| i.1 | Structure and function of the immune system, including species differences |
5 | 15 |
|---|---|---|---|
| i.2 | Understanding the immune response required to control the various pathogens: bacteria, viruses, fungi, parasites |
6 | 20 |
| i.3 | Pathological, mechanistic and clinical aspects of immune dysregulatory disease: (includes immunodeficiency, autoimmunity, hypersensitivity). Includes clinical diagnosis and laboratory diagnosis as well as basic therapeutics |
5 | 20 |
| i.4 | Knowledge of principles of vaccination including laboratory testing that assess responses to vaccination |
6 | 15 |
| i.5 | Understanding the immune response to neoplasia | 3 | 5 |
| i.6 | Knowledge of genetically modified animals used as models for human disease or research into the basic biology of the immune system |
2 | 5 |
| i.7 | Understanding and interpretation of assays to measure humoral, mucosal and cell mediated immune responses |
6 | 20 |
| Total = 100 |
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Veterinary Immunology by Basic and Clinical Immunology by Case Studies in Veterinary Immunology by
Case Studies in Veterinary Immunology presents basic immunological concepts in the context of actual cases seen in clinics. It is intended for veterinary medicine students, interns, residents, and veterinarians, and serves as a valuable supplement and companion to a variety of core immunology textbooks and courses. The book includes cases describing primary immune system defects, secondary immune system defects, and hypersensitivity and autoimmune disorders, as well as dysproteinemias and lymphoid neoplasia. Drawing on the successful approach of Geha's Case Studies in Immunology, each representative case is preceded by a discussion of the principles underlying that specific immunological mechanism. The case itself includes the presenting complaint (signalment), physical examination findings, pertinent diagnostic laboratory data, diagnosis, and treatment options. In those instances in which a specific disorder occurs in both animals and humans, the differences and similarities in the immunological mechanisms and manifestations of the disease are explored. End of case questions highlight important concepts and serve as a review aid for students. Details on standard vaccines and vaccination schedules, as well as descriptions of the types of assays used for evaluation of the immune system, are included as appendices.
