LibGuides: Veterinary Medicine: Wildlife/Exotics

Databases

BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews¨ is the online version of Biological Abstracts¨ and Biological Abstracts/RRM¨ (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings), the largest collection of biological sciences records in the world.
Zoological Record. (WOS)
Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database on animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial animal name register. The broad scope and coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.

LafeberVet: exotic animal resources
USGS Wildlife Health Center
Disease investigation services including WHISPers (Wildlife Health Information Sharing Partnership - event reporting system)
WildPro
Contains information on the health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals, and emerging infectious diseases. The Electronic Library contains more than 200 documents ranging in size from single page factsheets or pamphlets to whole books.
Irish Wildlife Matters
Extensive information on hedgehogs, squirrels, badgers, foxes, etc. - but not referenced
US Fish and Wildlife Service Conservation Library
WorldCat enabled interface for the USFWS national collection centered at National Conservation Training Center in Sheperdstown, WV outside Washington DC
BIRDNET
Created and maintained by the Ornithological Council as a service to ornithologists and the general public. Hosted by the Smithsonian Institute.
Idaho Department of Fish and Game Wildlife Health
IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN has one of the world’s most comprehensive ranges of authoritative publications, reports, guidelines and databases for conservation and sustainable development

Exotic Animals: Appropriately Owned Pets or Inappropriately Kept Problems?
Biascoechea J, Brazelton L, Figueroa-Diaz O, Klaphake E, Molnar A, Rivera S, Worell AB, Hess L. Exotic animals: appropriately owned pets or inappropriately kept problems? J Avian Med Surg. 2011 Mar;25(1):50-6. doi: 10.1647/1082-6742-25.1.50. PMID: 21657188.
Information Resources for the Exotic Animal Practitioner
Pavlech, L. L. (2017). Information Resources for the Exotic Animal Practitioner. Veterinary Clinics: Exotic Animal Practice, 20(3), 929-946.https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cvex.2017.05.001