Free searchable database to connect animal owners and veterinarians with clinical studies in the U.S., Canada and the U.K.

A source of plain language research definitions from Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard

VeterinaryPartner.com supports your veterinarian and you in the care of your companion animals by providing reliable, up-to-date animal health information from the veterinarians and experts of the Veterinary Information Network (VIN), the world's first and largest online veterinary database and community.

Part of MedlinePlus, consumer health web site that contains links to overviews, treatment, disease prevention, nutrition, directories, organizations, research. Spanish and English.

Links to FDA publications on pets, feed safety, animal drugs, aquaculture and K-12 teaching materials.

Topical information about small animal disorders from the world's largest non-profit animal hospital.

List maintained by North Carolina State University

UK site approved by the International Veterinary Academy of Pain Management.. Use with the understanding that approved medications vary by country.

List of veterinarians that perform ovary-sparing reproductive surgery and vasectomy

Resources for veterinarians and pet caregivers

Register pets diagnosed with cancer. Designed to facilitate care and find clinical trials.

Support group and information for bone cancer dog caregivers

Includes links to current cancer clinical trials in dogs.

OFA recommended health screening for breed specific testing

University of Prince Edward Island

International Collaboration For Dog Health And Welfare

Orthopedic Foundation of American advanced database search by registration number, name, breed, DOB, sex, report type and rating

Search by Disease/Test, Breed or Laboratory

Create a nutrition plan in collaboration with your veterinary team, calculate calories or compare manufacturers

Voluntary membership organization of local, state and federal agencies charges with regulating animal feeds. The organization holds no regulatory authority but provides quality control and labeling guidelines.

Source of nutrition toolkit, JSAP, guidelines and more

Tufts University Veterinary Nutrition Service Petfoodology General Pet Nutrition Topics

Short video talks for pet caregivers on nutrition - reading food labels, ingredients, feeding guidelines and life stage and therapeutic diets (Feb. 2023)

When travelling with your pet(s), there may be animal health requirements specific for that destination. As soon as you know your travel details, contact your local veterinarian to assist with the pet travel process. Factors to consider may include meeting time frames for obtaining a health certificate, updating vaccinations, diagnostic testing, or administration of medications/ treatments.

Includes links to airline information and USDA travel requirements

The Global Vet Link (GVL) platform enables users to quickly and accurately create digital Certificates of Veterinary Inspection (CVIs) or health certificates, Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) or Coggins tests, veterinary prescriptions, diagnostic results consolidation and analysis, and Veterinary Feed Directives (VFDs). It connects veterinarians, producers and animal owners, state animal health officials, feed distributors, veterinary diagnostic laboratories and other animal health industry partners.

VSPS can be used to create Certificates of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) for the movement of livestock species such as Alpaca, Bison, Bovine, Caprine, Cervidae, Equine, Llama, Ovine and Porcine within the borders of the United States.
VSPS does not currently provide CVIs or laboratory testing forms for companion animals such as cats and dogs.

Health Information Exchange app for veterinarians and pet owners

The priority of this program is the safe and humane transport of snub-nosed dog breeds.

Research based on findings from 1,200 pet parents and 100 veterinarians offers consumer insight into the cost of lifetime care for canine or feline caregivers. Conducted by Synchrony (CareCredit and Pets Best Pet Insurance).

Number of US households that own pets and annual expenses.

Position statements and handouts

Dog and cat client questionnaires and treatment handouts

Information for veterinarians and caregivers

Short film about a kitten with feline infectious peritonitis (FIP) - available with Amazon Prime. Filmed by a couple who lost their kitten to FIP. Fee based access.

Hill's Pet 10 tips to decrease stress

Survey instrument to learn about client preferences for information and autonomy in decision-making

Outlines matching expectations for both veterinary teams and clients.

Factsheets for infectious diseases organized by species are referenced and dated

Biosecurity risk assessment, checklists, infographics, and prevention measures for livestock and poultry species

Varela, K., Brown, J. A., Lipton, B., Dunn, J., Stanek, D., NASPHV Committee Consultants, ... & Yager, C. M. (2022). A Review of Zoonotic Disease Threats to Pet Owners: A Compendium of Measures to Prevent Zoonotic Diseases Associated with Non-Traditional Pets: Rodents and Other Small Mammals, Reptiles, Amphibians, Backyard Poultry, and Other Selected Animals. Vector-Borne and Zoonotic Diseases, 22(6), 303-360.

Recordings available; Made possible by USDA National Animal Disease Preparedness and Response Program

Where to report food, drug, device, vaccine, or pesticide adverse events

Pet retailer lobbying and advocacy group

AVMA guide to foster communication and a positive partnership between staff and pet owners

Downloadable booklet filled with tips, checklists, and important information for companion animal owners