What is a literature review?
A literature review maps out the current state of knowledge on a topic, in order to justify the new knowledge to be gained or current knowledge to be verified or refined. (Healthcare Research: A Handbook for Students and Practitioners)
Steps in a Literature Review:
TIP: Set up a research consultation appointment at the library for assistance with a literature review. Just fill out and submit the Book A Librarian form here: https://spokane.wsu.edu/library/book-a-librarian/.
Why conduct a literature review?
There are many reasons to conduct a literature review:
Baker, J.D. (2016). The purpose, process, and methods of writing a literature review. AORN, 103(3), 265-269. doi: 10.1016/j.aorn.2016.01.016
Gordis Epidemiology, 7th ed by
Continuing in the tradition of award-winning educator and epidemiologist Dr. Leon Gordis, Gordis Epidemiology, 7th Edition, provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout. Written by Drs. David D Celentano, Moyses Szklo, and Youssef Farag of Johns Hopkins University, this bestselling text is known for its reader-friendly, accessible writing style and practical approach to a complex and challenging subject, making it a favorite text of students as well as an ideal resource for health care providers, health policy makers, and epidemiologists at all levels of training and practice.
Clinical Epidemiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Now in its Sixth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this approachable, informative text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The updated sixth edition reflects the most current approaches to clinical epidemiology, including the latest coverage of modeling and expanded insight on applying concepts to clinical practice, with updated, clinical vignette-style end-of-chapter questions to help strengthen students' understanding and ensure a confident transition to clinical settings. Updated content throughout reflects the latest practices in clinical epidemiology. Increased emphasis on clinical judgment helps students confidently evaluate the effectiveness of guidelines and integrate them into practice. Updated vignette-style end-of-chapter questions place concepts in a clinical context and reinforce students' understanding. Key Word Lists at the start of each chapter familiarize students with critical terminology for clinical competence. Example boxes clarify the clinical implications of important concepts with relevant real-world patient care scenarios. Appendix of Additional Readings highlights trusted resources for further review.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by
Written by renowned epidemiologists and public health experts, this unique text provides complete, concise coverage of epidemiology, biostatistics, preventive medicine, and public health in clear, easy-to-understand terms. One convenient volume delivers must-know content in four complex areas-information that's sure to be covered in today's classrooms and on USMLE exams-presented with a clinical focus and real-life medical examples throughout. Depth of coverage, concise writing style, outstanding online review questions, a clinical emphasis . these features and more make Jekel's your go-to resource for learning, study, and review. Focuses on clinical problem solving and decision making using epidemiologic concepts and examples. Contains more clinical cases throughout, including global examples. Offers expanded coverage of the impact of big data and precision medicine, as well as an updated and reorganized biostatistics section. Features quick-reference boxes that showcase key concepts and calculations, and dynamic illustrations that facilitate learning using a highly visual approach. Provides almost 300 multiple-choice chapter review questions and answers in print, with additional questions and more online at Student Consult. Aligns content to board blueprints for the USMLE as well as the three specialties certified by the American Board of Preventive Medicine: Occupational Medicine, and Public Health & General Preventive Medicine-and is recommended by the ABPM as a top review source for its core specialty examination. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Evolve Instructor site, with an image and table bank as well as chapter overviews as PowerPoints, is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at: https://evolve.elsevier.com.
Studying a Study and Testing a Test by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know by
The inaugural volume of the 50 Studies series, 50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A section of review questions and answers is included at the back of the book to ensure that readers take away the key messages from each study. For this new edition, the contents were reorganized to include ten new studies, and the references, guidelines, and implications of existing studies were thoroughly updated. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
