Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare
by
Good nutrition is essential for health and the treatment of disease. This new handbook aims to provide students, doctors and healthcare professionals with essential information to apply medical nutrition theory in their everyday practice. Essentials of Nutrition in Medicine and Healthcare: A Practical Guide takes a systems-based approach to medical nutrition. It includes the pathophysiology of nutrition-related disease as well as the clinical application of nutrition theory in disease management and the role of nutrition in public health. It covers the basics of physiology and biochemistry, including relevant drug-nutrient interactions. This will be an invaluable asset for all those not already trained in clinical and public health nutrition who wish to understand more about nutrition and its role in the management and prevention of disease. Practical and easy to understand Provides a sound explanation of underlying principles Summarises clinically important nutritional approaches to disease management Covers cutting edge topics in public health Summary boxes of relevant drug-nutrient interactions Case studies and self-test questions to encourage learning Aligns with Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud
Nutrition in Clinical Practice
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2025! Designed for busy clinicians struggling to fit the critical issue of nutrition into their routine patient encounters, Nutrition in Clinical Practice translates the robust evidence base underlying nutrition in health and disease into actionable, evidence-based clinical guidance on a comprehensive array of nutrition topics. Authoritative, thoroughly referenced, and fully updated, the revised 4th edition covers the full scope of nutrition applications in clinical practice, spanning health promotion, risk factor modification, prevention, chronic disease management, and weight control - with a special emphasis on providing concisely summarized action steps within the clinical workflow. Edited by Dr. David L. Katz (a world-renowned expert in nutrition, preventive medicine, and lifestyle medicine) along with Drs. Kofi D. Essel, Rachel S.C. Friedman, Shivam Joshi, Joshua Levitt, and Ming-Chin Yeh, Nutrition in Clinical Practice is a must-have resource for practicing clinicians who want to provide well-informed, compassionate, and effective nutritional counseling to patients. Features short, easily digestible chapters with updated references. Includes comprehensive updates throughout, as well as a newly expanded section on Contemporary Topics in Nutrition. Covers key topics such as the ketogenic diet, intermittent fasting, ultraprocessed food, and strength of evidence assessment in nutrition. Provides data from recent nutritional studies, helpful nutrition data tables, clinically relevant formulas, and patient-specific meal planners. Addresses special topics such as pregnancy and lactation, pediatric nutrition, athletic performance and sports nutrition, health effects of specific foods, plant-based diets, and many more. Features expert contributions from authors with diverse expertise and practical experience in medical education, clinical practice, and preventive medicine. , Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. ,
Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare
by
Proven methods for diagnosing and managing nutritional changes in patients with chronic diseases and conditions Essentials of Clinical Nutrition in Healthcare fills the well-recognized evidence-practice gap between the nutrition knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed for nutrition care and the nutrition education provided by medical schools. Focusing on nutrition and dietetics, it walks you through the process of maintaining patients' energy balance while also providing sufficient nutrients, such as protein, vitamins, and minerals. Evidence-based chapters address the effects of diet on health and a comprehensive array of illnesses. Essentials of Clinical Nutrition for Healthcare is organized into three major sections: The fundamentals of nutrition and how it applies to clinical practice, including nutrition through the lifespan and personalized nutrition Diverse scenarios on how nutritional state and metabolism behave in a morbid condition Expert advice for counseling and coaching for behavior change to impact patients' lifestyles Covering specific topics ranging from cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes, and hypertension to depression, anxiety, and dementia, Essentials of Clinical Nutrition for Healthcare provides everything you need to know to stay ahead of the curve on this important topic.
Assessing Intake of Food and Dietary Supplements in Older Adults
by
Dietary assessment in older adults presents many unique problems due to the diversity of health states and capabilities that span the population group. Little is known about dietary intakes, body composition, and nutritional status among individuals 75 and older. The National Academies Food and Nutrition Board hosted a virtual workshop series in spring 2022 intended to provide guidance to researchers and clinicians. The workshops aimed to outline considerations relating to different methods of assessing intakes of food and dietary supplements in older adults. The covered topics included current status of dietary and nutrition assessment of older adults and advances and key issues in this topic; nutritional screening of older adults; and nutritional practices, challenges, and policies that affect older adults. This Proceedings highlights presentations and discussions from the workshops.