The College of Medicine Office of Technology subscribes to Medical Education Applications listed below that are NOT available through the library. To access these use the Student or Faculty guide links from Office of Technology>Our Technology.
Additional College of Medicine faculty developed resources are found on the Medicine Digital Learning Site
There are several ways to contact IT:
Remote AccessFor 24/7 remote access to library subscription electronic resources using your WSU Network ID and password try one of the following:
The Health Sciences Library is located in the Spokane Student Academic Center building on the second and third floors. Spokane students and faculty may access the library 24/7 with their CougarCard. Study rooms are available on the Health Sciences Library third floor for small groups.
Point of Care tools are comprehensive continuously updated topical summaries with drug decision support and risk calculators. Evidence is linked from multiple publishers and ranked using GRADE standards.
If you encounter the following UpToDate page after logging in through WSU READ THE FINE PRINT. You do not need to register for an account to start using UpToDate - simply start searching using the search bar. You will want to set up a (or login to an existing) third party account here if you want to claim CE or use the mobile app.
Essential Evidence Plus in STATRef
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2025-2026
by
The authoritative guidelines primary care clinicians need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--compiled, distilled, and updated for easy referencing Striking the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, this annual resource presents all the latest evidence-based guidelines clinicians need to treat the most common outpatient conditions. The most thorough print compendium of guidelines for primary care practice, the book features content drawn from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities. CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2025-2026 converts lengthy and cumbersome text into a practical, relevant collection of available options for busy clinicians. Each topic is carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine and the text is presented in a convenient, easy-to-navigate outline and tabular format. The system-based organization makes information retrieval fast, easy, and logical. * Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific authorities * NEW: Updates reflecting the review of more than 150 guidelines * Guideline Discordance Tables highlight when major guidelines do not mirror each other * Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and the text is enhanced by a convenient outline and tabular format * Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use
To search for a known title try placing it in quotation marks.To search for books on a topic, narrow results after you search by date and Type>ebooks and Availability>WSU Online Resources if you want immediate online access to the highest quality and most current ebooks.To search for articles use a research database.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition
by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves house staff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and house staff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis
by
This handy guide is packed full of information to support medical students, junior doctors and other health professionals in making an accurate diagnosis in relation to different presenting complaints. Now in its fifth edition, the Pocketbook takes the reader through the key steps of narrowing a differential diagnosis, including history, examination and investigation findings. It has been fully updated to cover the full range of common presenting problems facing clinicians today. This book is easy-to-read and logical, making it useful for all clinicians within a variety of settings, from the classroom to emergency department and primary care. This Fifth Edition covers 125 common presenting problems in both medicine and surgery in a consistent format. Each topic includes a list of all potential causes of the condition, colour coded to indicate common, occasional or rare causes. Important geographical variations are also highlighted. Two sections cover the differential diagnosis of biochemical and haematological disorders which provide a ready check when reviewing abnormal results The text includes a targeted guide to the relevant general and specific follow-up investigations which should be carried out as appropriate. Each topic ends with a box highlighting important learning points, or indicating symptom and signs suggestive of significant pathology which require urgent action. A new authorial team have thoroughly revised the contents and ensured the coverage is entirely appropriate for the book's readership.
50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know, 2nd ed
by
The inaugural volume of the 50 Studies series, 50 Studies Every Doctor Should Know presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A section of review questions and answers is included at the back of the book to ensure that readers take away the key messages from each study. For this new edition, the contents were reorganized to include ten new studies, and the references, guidelines, and implications of existing studies were thoroughly updated. This book is a must-read for health care professionals and anyone who wants to learn more about the data behind clinical practice.
Oxford Concise Medical Dictionary
by
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine, medical research and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology, cardiology and radiology, among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice, while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS, person-centred care, and Zika virus. Recommended web links and detailed illustrations complement the text, and extensive appendices offer useful lists and tables on areas such as inherited medical conditions, units of alcohol, and abbreviations and symbols.Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader.
Dictionary of Public Health
by
This dictionary covers terms used in public health science and practice, including areas such as communicable disease control, epidemiology, genetics, nutrition, toxicology, social work, sanitation and public health engineering, environmental sciences, and administration. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
The second edition expands coverage of terms relevant to the following areas, amongst others: health policy, health economics, and health services, including the Affordable Care Act and related topics; preventive medicine, health promotion, and behavioral sciences; risk assessment and risk management; emerging diseases; emergency preparedness; and bioethics and essential legal terms relevant for public health. It includes a list of useful web links and c.300 bibliographic references, directly linked from relevant entries. It continues to be a trusted resource for answers to questions that arise in the course of public health practice, whether in the office or in the field, in interactions with the public or with the media.
Primary Care Medicine: Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient, 8e
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Long regarded as "the book" in the field for in-depth learning as well as decision support at the point of care, Primary Care Medicine, 8th Edition, continues its tradition as a comprehensive, evidence-based, action-oriented information resource. Presented in companion electronic format updated quarterly, its problem-based orientation spans the full spectrum of problems encountered in adult primary care practice. Chapters address screening, diagnosis, prevention and management, including indications for referral and approaches to patient education and shared decision making. Clear, practical, bulleted recommendations and an extensive annotated bibliography of best references follow detailed discussions of pathophysiology, clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, and strategies for workup and treatment. Now with its 40th-anniversary edition, this exceptional text is a must-have resource for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, students, and residents- offering the most complete and up-to-date resource available for primary care education and practice. Included interactive eBook incorporates quarterly updates featuring critically reviewed important new evidence as well as a study guide for students and tables for shared decision making. Fully updated chapter content based on nearly 4,000 new references and real-world advice in bulleted form at the end of each chapter ensure current, easily accessible, evidence-based point-of-care decision support. Unique problem-based chapter organization covers the spectrum of adult primary care, highlighted by more than 400 tables, figures, and photographs, many in color. Chapters present actionable, scientifically validated guidance that allows physicians to go beyond standard consensus guidelines and provide highly personalized care. Best evidence is integrated with considerations of affordability, cost-effectiveness, convenience, and patient preference. Special consideration is given to team-based approaches of primary care delivery, recognizing its increasing importance to achieving high levels of practice performance. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations
by
Quick, convenient shortcuts abound in the language of every health care setting, but these abbreviations and acronyms can be confusing and, if misunderstood or misused, can hinder effective communication. Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations, 8th Edition, takes the uncertainty out of using and interpreting the thousands of terms used in a multitude of medical specialties. Arranged alphabetically for quick reference, this up-to-date Dorland's dictionary is an essential resource for virtually any medical abbreviation you may encounter. Provides more than 90,000 comprehensive definitions for acronyms, abbreviations, and symbols-in one reliable, easy-to-manage reference. Contains COVID-19-related acronyms and abbreviations, both in a stand-alone section and incorporated throughout. Includes many new terms from a wide variety of fields such as billing and coding, pharmacy, pediatrics, epidemiology, microbiology, veterinary medicine, new medical societies and associations, and health-related government agencies. Features a separate section on symbols used as abbreviations. Lists abbreviations to avoid, including Joint Commission and Institute for Safe Medication Practices abbreviations that are not to be used. eBook version included with purchase. Your eBook allows you to access to the contents of this book on a variety of devices.
Additional platforms should be compatible with html screen readers or PDF readers. Please contact us if you have questions or concerns about a platform.
