"This is the Indigenous Law web archive of the Law Library of Congress. The Law Library collects and preserves primary law sources of Indigenous nations, which are sovereign governments by treaty with the United States. At the time this collection started, there are 578 tribes and 92 agencies."
"This archive includes constitutions of a number of sovereign nations, including Navajo Nation, Muscogee Nation, Cherokee Nation, Comanche Nation, Hopi Tribe, etc. and ordinances, Supreme Court papers, court rules and forms for criminal, civil and family courts, and wellness courts. Tribal executive orders, emergency orders, ordinances and legislation are included in this collection as well. Tribes, nations, bands, communities and rancherias do communicate with their citizens by social media and at times when that was the sole source of legal documentation, we have targeted social media sites for capture where possible. There may be information loss as a result of the challenges of archiving social media."
"The Law Library of Congress collection contains a variety of Native American legal materials. The Law Library holds most of the laws and constitutions from the early 19th century produced by the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole who were forced to leave the Southeast for the Indian Territory after passage of the Indian Removal Act in 1830. Some of these documents are in the vernacular languages of the tribes. This collection includes 19th century items and those constitutions and charters drafted after the 1934 Indian Reorganization Act."
"A Native American operated non-profit: Dedicated to providing free publication resources, comprehensive training, and technical assistance for Native nations and tribal justice systems in pursuit of our vision to empower Native communities to create and control their own institutions for the benefit of all community members, now, and for future generations."
"The Census Bureau collects data for the American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics. My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). "
Many aboriginal communities in the Global South depend for their livelihoods on the vast supply of bio-resources around them, but multinational corporations (MNCs) are not always ethical in their dealings with these communities. MNCs often pirate and patent communal, traditional knowledge, thereby "acquiring" intellectual property potentially worth hundreds of millions of dollars almost free of cost. Aboriginal communities face steep uphill legal battles in these cases. Here Anindya Bhukta explores the porous legal relations between traditional knowledge and current intellectual property law. Focusing on aboriginal communities in India, Bhukta explains how India, like other resource-rich countries, has spent millions trying to revoke US-issued patents on knowledge gained from aboriginal communities using existing IPR legislation. He demonstrates that existing IPR laws do not provide full legal protection in such cases - a fact acknowledged by the World Trade Organization when it categorically asked for a sui generislaw to be developed for precisely these purposes - and he suggests just such a new law that could offer more robust legal protection for aboriginal communities wishing to capitalize on their own accomplishments. In so doing, Bhukta calls attention to the vital contributions that aboriginal communities make to global development. Legal Protection for Traditional Knowledgeis a must-read for researchers in economics, development studies, and international law, and especially those with an interest in the intellectual property status of traditional knowledge.