LibGuides: Law: Legal Databases: Cases, Law Reviews and Journals, and More

Law Reviews and Legal Journals ; Databases with legal content

Law Reviews and Other Legal Publications. Available via Nexis Uni . WSU Only Access. Nexis Uni provides full-text law reviews and legal periodicals with extensive search options. Dates of coverage vary by title. To locate law reviews, select the "Legal" tab at the top of the search box. Then, under the "Content Type" heading you will see different publication types, and you can select Law Reviews and Journals - you'll see search options.
Law Review Commons. Brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years. Currently provides over 300 open-access law reviews.
Law Journal Library in HeinOnline. "more than 3,200 fully searchable, image-based journals, each dating back to the first issue ever published. This scholarly journal database spans more than 45 million pages." (Look under Databases by Name.")

Note: Law review articles are generally (but not always) not peer reviewed; instead, they go through editorial review from the law review editors. In general, if you are writing a paper law review articles count as peer reviewed articles, *but* always check with your instructor!

HeinOnline: Searching 101

Nexis Uni Help

The Shepard's Signal™ Indicators

Nexis Uni
Provides access to full text legal and abstracted information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more. Legal sources include cases. statutes and legislation, administrative codes, administrative materials, law reviews and journals, legal news, expert witness analysis, and more. Includes Shepard's citator (helps determine if case decisions are still valid or if they have been overruled, abrogated, or superseded).
HeinOnline / Hein Online
Database of legal and government resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. New and updated material added frequently.
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Containing full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals, this database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
JSTOR
To directly to legal content (journals and books) use this link
Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes, Journal Citation Reports, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, Derwent Innovations patent searching, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Updated weekly.
Google Scholar
Note the Case Law button. You can search in federal courts or state courts. Most state cases are appellate.
In general: Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America / HeinOnline
Gun regulation and legislation in America is a searchable database that provides links to legal materials on gun regulation in the United States
Civil rights and social justice / HeinOnline
HeinOnline's Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans including disabled Americans and those identifying as LGBTQ. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Open Society Initiative / HeinOnline
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. This database provides access to works published by the Justice Initiative including reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
Slavery in American and the world : history, culture & law / HeinOnline
Slavery in America and the world : history, culture & law is a searchable database that provides links to legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world

Legal Scholarship Network (Social Sciences Research Network) Fee/Free
"There are many facets to law. Law both influences and is influenced by society. SSRN recognizes this reality by offering subject matter eJournals covering a wide variety of topics, both traditional and emerging. Specific substantive law topics are covered, as well as topics that impact law, such as legal education, legal research, and legal writing. The latest developments in law, including corporate compliance, cyberspace law, and artificial intelligence, are also addressed." Note that SSRN has lots of other academic content.
You must create a free account to download articles. Note: Some journals require an individual subscription. This is a pre-print server, which means that most of its content has not yet gone through peer review. In some cases, something published on SSRN will be picked up and published in a law review, where it will be reviewed by the editors (usually law students).
Law Archive Papers: An Open Archive for Legal Scholarship
More about this and legal pre-prints in general
"Yale Law School has launched Law Archive, a new branded preprint service developed using the OSF infrastructure. This initiative reflects a commitment to facilitating the free and open sharing of legal research and scholarship, echoing a broader movement within academic communities towards greater accessibility and transparency."
Note: Preprints are not peer-reviewed. Use with caution, and if you need a peer-reviewed article, search for a title to see if it has been published through the peer review process elsewhere.,

Libraries

Law

Legal Terms and Abbreviations

Law Reviews and Legal Journals ; Databases with legal content