Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law

Administrative Law

"Administrative law encompasses laws and legal principles governing the administration and regulation of government agencies (both Federal and state). Agencies are delegated power by Congress, to act as agencies responsible for carrying out certain prerogatives of the Congress.  Agencies are created through their own organic statutes, which establish new laws, and doing so, creates the respective agencies to interpret, administer, and enforce those new laws.  Generally, administrative agencies are created to protect a public interest rather than to vindicate private rights." Wex.

United States

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).  U.S. Government Printing Office. The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis.  Includes search option.

e-CFR.  Electronic Code of Federal Regulations.  Office of the Federal Register.  A currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis. The current update status appears at the top of all e-CFR web pages.

Federal Register.  U.S. Government Printing Office.  Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Covers 1936 to present.  Includes search option.

Federal Register. National Archives.  Friendlier user interface.  Covers 1994 to present.  Includes search option.

Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register. Available via Nexis Uni. WSU Only Access. 

Washington State

Washington Administrative Code.  Washington State Legislature.  The Washington Administrative Code contains the current and permanent rules and regulations of state agencies. It is arranged by agency. New editions are published every two years, with a supplement in the off-year. It is updated by the Washington State Register.

Washington State Register.  Washington Office of the Code Reviser. The Washington State Register contains the proposed, emergency, and permanently adopted rules of state agencies, as well as governor’s executive orders, maximum allowable interest rates, and notices of public meetings. It updates existing regulations in the Washington Administrative Code and is the only source for new regulations until the next edition or supplement of the WAC is published.  Covers Jan. 1978 (first issue) to present.  

Washington Administrative Code and Washington State Register.  Available via Nexis Uni. WSU Only Access. 

Other States

State Administrative Codes. Legal Information Institute.  Cornell Law School.  Provides links to U.S. state legal materials.

State Administrative Codes.  Available via Nexis Uni. WSU Only Access. 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us