Skip to Main Content

Libraries

Law

Dictionaries

Wex. Legal Information Institute. Cornell Law School. Free legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia.

Legal Dictionary. The Free Dictionary by Farlex. Primary sources are West's Encyclopedia of American Law and The People's Dictionary.

FindLaw Legal Dictionary. FindLaw. Free access to over 8260 definitions of legal terms. Provides browse and search options.

Legal Dictionary. Law.com. Provides browse and search options and ability to find all definitions that include a specific term.

Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions. Nolo. Provides plain English definitions of legal terms. Browsable.

Lectric Law Library's Free Legal Lexicon. The Lectric Library. Browsable.

A Law Dictionary by John Bouvier. 1856. Hosted by the Constitution Society. Browsable

Black's Law Dictionary. 2011. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KF 156 B53 2011 (updated edition on order)

Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary. 2009. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KF 156 N654 2009

Dictionary of Public International Law. 2018. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KZ 1161 D64 2018

Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence. 2d. Available via Nexis Uni. WSU Only Access. Open Menu pull-down; select All Sources; enter title in Search Within Sources search box.

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law. 2011. WSU Only Access.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 2005. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KF 154 W47 2005

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. 2004. WSU Only Access.

Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-2015. 2015. WSU Only Access.

Encyclopedia of the First Amendment. 2009. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KF 4770 E53 2009

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties. 2017. WSU Only Access.

Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States. 2008. WSU Only Access.

Wex. Legal Information Institute. Cornell Law School. Free legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia.

Nolo's Legal Topics. Nolo. Free articles on everyday legal topics. Arranged alphabetically by broad topic. Browsable.

Other Resources

The Oxford Companion to American Law. 2002.

New Oxford Companion to Law. 2008. Focuses on non-U.S. law.

Landmark Supreme Court Cases: The Most Influential Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States. 2004. Holland and Terrell Libraries Reference KF 8742 H37 2004

Oxford Dictionary of American Legal Quotations. 1993. Holland and Terrell Libraries KF 159 S53 1993

Legal Writing in Plain English: A Text With Exercises. 2013. Holland and Terrell Libraries KF 250 G373 2013

Academic Legal Writing: Law Review Articles, Student Notes, Seminar Papers, and Getting on Law Review. 2016. Holland and Terrell Libraries KF 2450 V65 2016

The Five Types of Legal Argument. 2014. Holland and Terrell Libraries KF 380 H84 2014

Forms

United States Courts. Forms. Provides national federal court forms. National court forms can be used in all federal courts.

Washington State Court Forms. Washington Courts. Provides forms that are used statewide in Washington Courts.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us