Contains more than 2,100 entries -- including more than 450 new articles. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the second edition also features 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history. eBook available.

A global encyclopedia of metaphysical thought--not just philosophy, but theology as well, with over 2,000 individual articles, including entries for Cheng Hao and Baal Shem Tov along with René Descartes and Immanuel Kant, and it discusses Mahayana Buddhism as ably as it discusses deconstruction theory. Abridged eBook version available.

From Abhidharma to Zurvan, this important new resource identifies and defines the principal concepts and individuals in Asian philosophy throughout the world. The comprehensive geographic coverage encompasses China, Japan, India, the Middle East, the United States and Australasia, with an emphasis on contemporary developments and movements.

Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diaspora in the Americas and in Europe. The term "African thought" has been interpreted in the broadest sense to embrace all those forms of discourse - philosophy, political thought, religion, literature, and important social movements.

Covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE, with general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area along with in-depth details and analyses of particular theories. Social and cultural context are provided through material on the teaching of philosophy during this period, including the career of philosophers and the place of philosophy in medieval universities.

435 signed articles on topics in meta-ethics, ethical theory, perennial moral problems, and political, social, and legal theory. There are survey articles on trends and eras; summaries of leading concepts, principles, and theoretical problems; and biographical entries for philosophers whose place in the history of ethics is secure, as well as a few contemporaries whose seniority and eminence make their inclusion appropriate.

Based on twelve major categories, such as Biomedical Ethics and Environmental Ethics. Religious traditions that embody normative beliefs, as well as classical theories of ethics, are explored in a non-judgmental manner. Each of the twelve categories is divided into discrete areas that are covered by 281 five- to six-thousand word articles.

Surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Featuring 600 original articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, it is a comprehensive survey of majorconcepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts--from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.

Provides comprehensive coverage of Taoist religion, thought and history, reflecting the current state of Taoist scholarship, with approximately 1,750 entries, which fall into the following broad categories: surveys of general topics; schools and traditions; persons; texts; terms; deities; immortals; temples and other sacred sites.

Covers Confucianism as a whole, in 1235 entries on its history, key thinkers, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology, and the modern Confucianism in today's China and other Eastern Asian countries.

Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles by leading scholars range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the battlefield to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses. Breaking conventional geographical boundaries, coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures. eBook available.

Volume I (‘Reassessing Confucian Traditions’) covers Confucianism in History and the focus of Volume II is on ‘Reinterpreting Confucian Ideas’. Volume III is titled ‘Reconstructing Confucian Ethics’, while the final volume in the collection brings the best scholarship on ‘Reappraising Confucian Ideals'. Note: this set not in reference.

With roughly 700 entries, some 300 new to this edition and 50 others revised and updated, this work provides an overview of print and online philosophical reference sources published over the past decade. Also new to this edition is the topical arrangement of the entries, presented in sections covering general references, history of philosophy (western and non- western), branches of philosophy, and miscellanea. The last covers sundry currents, schools, and movements and directories and miscellaneous reference sources and the fist three are also subdivided in standard ways. Entries provide publishing information alongside evaluative annotations.

Comprehensive narrative coverage of the history of philosophical aesthetics from the beginning of the eighteenth century through the twentieth century. Contains both biographical information and extensive interpretation of the best-known figures in the field but also of many now less well-known but fascinating thinkers. *This title is in the circulating collection

Standard bibliography of scholarly works in philosophy. Coverage dates back to 1940 and includes print and electronic journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies and book reviews for titles published from the 1950s forward. Includes scholarly articles on aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, metaphilosophy, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion¸ philosophy of science, political philosophy and social philosophy. Electronic version available.

Provides information on the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century.

A concise reference to the whole history of western philosophy, from ancient Greece to the present day, spanning all the major branches of western philosophical inquiry and all of the key figures.

Concisely defines both technical terms and crucial concepts on all levels and across all fields. It includes substantial explanatory articles on all major philosophers as well as hundreds of minor figures.

Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Includes aesthetics, ethics, sociopolitical philosophy, the philosophy of law, epistemology, logic, the philosophy of science, the philosophy of mind, the philosophy of culture and history, metaphysics, and the philosophy of religion. eBook available.

Offers special meanings of words used as technical terms within particular philosophical systems and contains the meanings of terms fundamental to epistemology, metaphysics, and practical teaching of heterodox and orthodox schools of Indian philosophy.

The Dictionary of Modern American Philosophers, which contains 1082 entries by over 500 authors, provides an account of philosophical thought in the United States and Canada between 1860 and the present. A dictionary for early American philosophers from the colonial period to the Civil War is in preparation. An envisioned dictionary for Latin America will encompass Mexico to complete the coverage of North America. Electronic version available above.

A comprehensive guide on the theory, application, history, and future of aesthetics in philosophical and artistic contexts.

Covers Ancient, Medieval, Early Modern, Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century philosophy of religion.

Comprehensive overview with more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words. Covers terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.

A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. eBook available.

Essays on the scope of Greek thought and self-reflection -- investigating what the Greeks knew as well as what they thought about what they knew, and what they believed, invented, and understood about the conditions and possibilities of knowing.

Explains and contextualizes more than a hundred key concepts, terms, influences, and topics in various cultural spheres.

Cross-references major works, themes, ideas, and influences.