Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

Modifying Searches

In some cases, the "Other ...titles" queries in the boxes on this page might result in a large search set.  Please note that you may limit and refine searches by using the various linked options indicated on the search results screen or by selecting from the different options available in the library catalog search interface.  You can also sort these lists chronologically, by author, or by title.

Blackwell Companions and Guides to Philosophy

The Companions offer a comprehensive and authoritative survey of philosophy as a whole. Written by today's leading philosophers, each volume provides lucid and engaging coverage of the key figures, terms, topics, and problems of the field. Taken together, the volumes provide the ideal basis for course use, representing an unparalleled work of reference for students and specialists alike.

The Guides provide a complete critical survey of the central themes and issues of philosophy today. Focusing and advancing key arguments throughout, each essay incorporates essential background material serving to clarify the history and logic of the relevant topic. Accordingly, these volumes will be a valuable resource for a broad range of students and readers, including professional philosophers.

Routledge Philosophy Guidebooks

Introductions to classic works of philosophy.  Each title in the series considers a major philosopher and a key area of their philosophy by focusing on an important text, situating the philosopher and the work in a historical context, and assessing the philosopher's contribution to contemporary thought.

Ashgate New Critical Thinking in Philosophy series

Headed by an international editorial advisory board of acclaimed scholars from across the philosophical spectrum, this monograph series presents cutting-edge research from established as well as exciting new authors in the field. Spanning the breadth of philosophy and related disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives, the series takes contemporary philosophical research into new directions and debate.

Cambridge Companions to Philosophy

Addresses topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.  Multi-authored essays intended for students and scholars.

Stanford Series in Philosophy

Specialized monographs on social and political philosophy, linguistics, epistemology, and ethics,

SUNY Series in Philosophy

Wide-ranging series on ethics, logic, epistemology, metaphysics, linguistics, political philosophy, social theory, bioethics, neuroscience, etc. Emphasizes modern and contemporary thinkers and themes.

Blackwell Guides to Great Works

Each volume in this series provides guidance to readers coming to a great work of the philosophical canon, whether for the first time or to gain new insight.  Comprising specially commissioned contributions from the finest scholars, the books offer clear and authoritative accounts of the context, arguments and impact of the work at hand. Wherever possible, the original text is reproduced alongside the essays.

Routledge Contemporary Introductions to Philosophy

The Routledge Contemporary Introductions to Philosophy is an introductory series to core issues in contemporary philosophy.   Offers brief introductions to topics and explains central philosophical problems and the main competing solutions and arguments for those solutions.  Includes references.

Routledge Philosophers

Routledge Philosophers is a series of introductions to the great Western philosophers.  Each book places a major philosopher or thinker in historical context, explains and assesses their key arguments, and considers their legacy.  Volumes include a chronology of major dates and events, chapter summaries, a glossary of technical terms, and suggested readings.

Bloomsbury Reader's Guides

Formerly published by Continuum, this series provides concise and accessible introductions to key texts in literature and philosophy. Each book explores the themes, context, criticism and influence of key works, providing a practical introduction and close reading.

Penn State Re-reading the Canon Series

Edited collections of essays, some original and some previously published, offering feminist re-interpretations of the writings of major figures in the Western philosophical tradition. Devoted to the work of a single philosopher, each volume contains essays covering the full range of the philosopher's thought and representing the diversity of approaches now being used by feminist critics.

Very Short Introductions

Concise introductory monographs on a wide range of topics, including the arts and humanities.

Blackwell Readings in Philosophy

Edited essay collections by philosophers and scholars on traditional philosophical themes and problems.

Northwestern University Studies in Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy

Extensive series of specialized monographs analyzing and situating phenomenology and existentialism in the context of modern philosophy, emphasizing particular thinkers or specific works.

Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy - Online

Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy - Print

Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy.  Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Continuum Studies in Philosophy

Texts offer cutting-edge scholarship in all the major areas of research and study.

Cultural Memory in the Present

The ambition of the Stanford series is to move beyond a narrow disciplinarity based on conventional historical premises and to refocus contemporary cultural studies in the direction of close reading. Its themes include boundary-crossing projects and interrogations of canon and institutions in philosophy, religion, anthropology, literature, media studies, and visual analysis.

The series seeks to foster approaches that combine innovative theoretical perspective, close attention to the detail of the cultural object, and an effort of interpretation geared to the meaning of the object for a present that is not amnesiac.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us