Bibliography of scholarly works in journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies and book reviews (1960s- ). Indexes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy. 3/2021 update - our subscription has been updated to a version with much more full-text through 3/2022.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. Restricted to WSU-Pullman.
Books are an important unit of publication in philosophy. Search It also includes articles from multiple WSU article databases. Note the inclusion of WorldCat which can be used to find titles unavailable at the WSU Libraries or via Summit.
Note: Preprints are articles that have *not* been peer-reviewed, so use with caution. Example
If an article is listed with a journal citation it is available open-access and *has* been peer-reviewed. Example
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html
Provides full-text access to several hundred titles from 60 university and society presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Topical areas include literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion, and women’s studies as well as book reviews. Search Tips
Provides detailed descriptions of numerous archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. With its online archival collection descriptions, ArchiveGrid helps you to locate collections of primary source material more quickly than ever before. Records include collection title, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.
Citations for U.S. (and some Canadian) dissertations 1861- present. Includes abstracts for dissertations published from 1980-present (some recent dissertations offer a 24-page preview). Also includes citations and abstracts for (some) master's theses from 1988-present.
An open access database that incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations along with additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. The database provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present. Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations.
Related Disciplines: Classics, Religion, Psychology, History, Literature, and Sociology
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serial publications. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated 6 times a year.
Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history.
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Enhanced functionality across entire collection of 15,000 news, business, and legal resources. Content includes television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, deep-archive national and international newspapers, federal and state cases and statutes including Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and corporate executives.
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
The New York Times (1851-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
This database Provides access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. Includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories. Papers selected cover a broad spectrum, with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Date coverage varies. Formerly ProQuest Newsstand.
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th-century history and onward.
Provides access to dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works along with topical companions and a dictionary of quotations, offering full-spectrum subject coverage. Combines over 2 million entries and some 300,000 pages (many of which are illustrated) into a single cross-searchable resource consisting of 180 core academic titles.