LibGuides: Getting Connected: Graduate Students and the WSU Libraries: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the WSU Libraries (Fall 2023 version)
This is the same handout distributed to new faculty.

Welcome to the Washington State University Libraries!

Welcome to the 2024-2025 academic year! The WSU Libraries work to provide you with the resources and services that you need: librarian assistance, books, journals, discovery databases, special collections, document delivery and Interlibrary Loan, and more. If you would like a library tour, please email me at oenglish @ wsu.edu

Lorena O'English (Social Sciences and Government Information Librarian)

Find Your Librarian (by discipline) @ Pullman

Find your librarian @ Vancouver

Find your librarian @ Spokane

Find your librarian @ Tri-Cities (you can also contact a librarian at Pullman or Spokane, depending on your needs)

Find your librarian @ Global Campus (plus all the Pullman librarians(

***

Pullman: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram

Vancouver: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram

Spokane: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram: wsu_hsl/

The following is mostly for the Pullman campus, so please use the library links above for your specific campus

GPSA Study Center (Located in Terrell Library but run by and for you!)
Resource and Subject Guides (databases, journals, and more)
Libraries Help (How Do I..., Online Access Issues, and more)

Libraries FAQ

Remote Access (Not until the first day of classes unless you were a student in 2023/2024)
- "Open Athens" single sign-on service (invisible remote access - just log in with your WSU NetID when prompted)
- LibKey Nomad browser extension (does not collect any data!)
  - Please ignore the info on the Proxy Bookmarklet - we no longer use that now that we use Open Athens to authenticate for library access.
- If you are logged in with the WSU VPN you will have access as if you were on campus.
Summit (regional consortial book borrowing)
Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery: Borrowing Materials Not Available at the WSU Libraries
Office Delivery

Library Services for WSU Global Campus

Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation (CDSC)
- "Washington State University’s Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation (CDSC) brings together community members, students, faculty, and researchers in collaborative digital projects that emphasize ethical curation, scholarship, research, and publication."

WSU Libraries Digital Collections (digitized photographs and other primary sources via Manuscripts, Archives & Special Collections)

Library Policies, including borrowing policies

Fall 2024 Update: New/Newish Helpful WSU Libraries Resources and Services

JSTOR - we have continuing access to ALL of JSTOR's journal content (including the Security Studies and Sustainability thematic collections)! This was originally set to end in June 2023, but has been extended as a permanent subscription.

HeinOnline / Hein Online
Database of legal and government resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. New and updated material added frequently.
Statista
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
PolicyMap
Now permanent!!! as of January 2022
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Look for Blog Posts, Customer Stories, and sample Maps, Tables, and Reports.
SAGE Research Methods
Designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method, SAGE Research Methods includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
“Not all vendors are able to use OpenAthens Federated Access to authenticate users. If you need to access resources from this vendor, please do not use the OpenAthens institutional login on their website. Instead, start from the WSU Libraries Search It tool or Datbases AZ list. Once we move completely to OpenAthens, sign in will be possible directly through the vendor website."

Off-Campus Access: Open Athens and LibKey Nomad
Open Athens is the invisible way you can access library resources after logging in with your WSU NetID. The WSU Libraries' LibKey Nomad extension can be used to provide instant access to PDFs available through the WSU Libraries - it will follow you around (and NOT collect any data!) and will show a green logo in the lower left corner of your screen if you are on the landing page of an article WSU has access to. Click it and it will take you to Search It for access.
Citation Linker
Use this link when you have a citation and want to get to the book or article. It will link to the item you want. If it is not available at the WSU Libraries, it will generate an automatic Interlibrary Loan form so you can easily request it.
Note: you can also find this at the top of Search It - but you'll have to click on the ... menu.
The Dimensions Lab
Big Monitors. Cool software. Large (but not really large) scanner. 3D Photogrammetry. Macs. 3-D printer. And more. #DigitalMaking
The Libraries’ Dimensions Lab is equipped to provide computing resources and tools for computer-based projects in the fields of media, art, music, engineering, computer science, and physics. The lab is located on the first floor of the Holland Library on the WSU Pullman campus, right off the main elevators between Holland and Terrell.
Added in fall 2021: a small recording studio, the Audio Lab.
Browzine
"An interface provided by the company Third Iron, BrowZine allows patrons to browse and stay current with the electronic journals in their academic fields. BrowZine provides multiple entry points to connect with scholarly materials, including: via the BrowZine web and mobile applications and from within Search It."
WSU Academic Integrity/Plagiarism Information Website
WSU Libraries Citation Style Quick Guides (includes APA 7th)
"These quick reference guides are designed to provide easy access to common formatting and stylistic requirements for each citation style."
APA Style (7th Ed.) Handouts and Guides (free)
"The following are instructional aids for the seventh edition Publication Manual, Concise Guide to APA Style, and Mastering APA Style Student Workbook. They can be used in homes, classrooms, libraries, or anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style."
APA: The Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style (free)
Free tutorial
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources
APA: Style and Grammar Guidelines (7th edition; free)
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources

Helpful Links

Think.EDU - discount software
Lots of discounted software, including Adobe Acrobat Pro. See also the WSU TechStore (look under Quick Links in my.wsu.edu)
Ask Us
Citation Quick Guides
Bound By Law (IP & Copyright online comic)
A fun graphic novel that will teach you about intellectual property issues (like copyright)
Copyright and Your Dissertation or Thesis: Ownership, Fair Use, and Your Rights and Responsibilities (by Dr. Kenneth Crews)
Free PDF download. Important.
Holland and Terrell Libraries Find It on the Shelf
Use this to find call number locations and shelf number in Holland and Terrell Libraries and also in Owen Library (use the down-arrow in the Floor Selection box).
Owen Science & Engineering Library Website