LibGuides: AGRI 587 : Agriculture Scholarly Research Databases

Essential Agriculture Scholarly Databases

You can find scholarly research by searching a large multidisciplinary databases or by a searching smaller, agricultural database.

There are advantages to each database. If I'm really trying to be thorough, I will utilize several databases.

Note: There may be significant, but not complete, overlap in coverage within these databases.

Best Databases for Finding Agriculture Scholarly Research

Washington State University Libraries' Catalog (Search It) locates pretty much everything you'd hope to find on a subject. This includes journal articles, books, newspapers, multimedia, extension resources, archival materials, etc. Sometimes less is more when searching though (or you might want a different interface). See databases below in those circumstances.

Web of Science is a very powerful, mostly STEM, database. It is great for finding scholarly research. There is also a lot of useful advanced functionality for those who want to dive deeper.

USDA SEARCH is the National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. It is an open platform that provides access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. It replaces AGRICOLA and PubAg. You can still utilize the old AGRICOLA (EBSCO) database though.

If you are interested in what databases are available to you at WSU, check out this list.

Other Useful Scholarly Databases

PubMed
This link to PubMed is for those affiliated with WSU. PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SciFindern Scholar
This service works best with Internet Explorer. First time users MUST register. Full text access to: Chemical Abstracts since 1907, Chemical Abstracts Registry CASREACT: since 1974, Medline since 1985, Chemcats and ChemList since 1979.
AGRIS (FAO)
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centers participate.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global Òbiodiversity commons.Ó The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. The BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing nearly 100,000 titles and over 160,000 volumes.