Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using this Guide
Click tabs above to access different “pages” in this guide. Note the drop-down icon ▽ in some tabs. These sub-pages provide access to specific types of resources, including links to external sites. Access to subscription and licensed content or other material purchased by the WSU Libraries is generally WSU-restricted. Non-WSU content on external websites may be accessed and used by anyone.
Music - Overview and Library Map
Music collections and services can be found in several campus library locations:
Gabriella Reznowski, Librarian for Music. Reference assistance in music is available at the Research Services desk in Terrell Library. Staff in the WSU Libraries assist in the acquisition, preparation, and maintenance of music collections.
Sean Taylor is the Library Specialist in The Kemble Stout Music Listening Library, located in Kimbrough Hall Room 360.
Holland and Terrell Library Map
Organizations and Associations
Searching the Audiobooks Collection in the Libraries
Go to the Advanced Search screen of Search It and select in subject from the drop-down menu. Type audiobooks in the search box. Your search should look like the sample image above.
The WSU Libraries subscribes to streaming music databases offering thousands of tracks of classical music, jazz, folk music, and world music. These subscription-based musical resources are accessible to anyone with a valid WSU network password and ID. Naxos streaming content is WSU-Pullman only.
Finding Scores and Operas
Kemble Stout Music Listening Library
Although the Kemble Stout Listening Library is administered by the School of Music (located in Kimbrough Hall, Room 360) this publicly accessible facility houses music scores that are purchased and owned by the WSU Libraries. These scores may be checked out with a valid WSU ID card. Sound recordings that are property of the music department do not circulate but may be listened to in the Kemble Stout Music Listening Library.
Opera in the Catalog
This "canned" search on audio and video opera resources currently available in the library results in a large number of hits. Please use filters to refine and/or limit this search.
Music Special Collections in the Libraries
Holdings include books published before 1800 and facsimiles of medieval and renaissance music books. Other music-related holdings include original and facsimile manuscripts, photographs, concert programs, rare recordings, and music manuscript collections. Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections is located on the ground floor of Holland and Terrell Library. Researchers are welcome, but please note that normal business hours are Monday - Friday (excluding holidays or other closures) unless other arrangements are made in advance.
Library Services & Resources
Research Services - Arts & Humanities
Subjects: Accounting, Taxation & Finance
, Asian Studies
, Economic Sciences
, Ethnic Studies
, Film Studies
, Foreign Languages & Literatures
, Hospitality Business Management
How to Do Research
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
This handout will help you write a book review, a report or essay that offers a critical perspective on a text. It offers a process and suggests some strategies for writing book reviews. (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).
Provides a brief definition of film analysis compared to literary analysis, provides an introduction to common types of film analysis, and offers strategies and resources for approaching assignments. (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Glossary of Library Terms
Source: University of South Carolina Upstate
How We Cite
A brief tutorial on how to integrate outside sources to your paper. (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
"This handout will explain what a literature review is and offer insights into the form and construction of a literature review in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences." (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
Offers definitions and examples from different scholarly disciplines. (Produced by The Borough of Manhattan Community College.)
Scholarly Journals vs. Magazines
A chart which defines and contrasts scholarly journals and articles with other types of periodical literature. (Produced by the University of Central Florida Libraries)
Advice on translating typical assignment terms and practices into meaningful clues to help with the type of writing your instructor expects. (Writing Center: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Why We Cite
A brief tutorial on the role of citation in scholarly and academic writing. (Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Writing about music
This handout features common types of music assignments and offers strategies and resources for writing them. (Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
JSTOR & Project MUSE
List of full-text music periodicals currently indexed in JSTOR and Project MUSE.
Collection Development Policy