Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Book Collection
The Holland and Terrell Library print reference collection is located on the 1st floor of Terrell (main library entrance) behind the reference desk. Check call numbers for all locations.
Grove Dictionary & Music Research Guides
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .N48 2001
An indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New Grove II . Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. See enhanced e-version in Grove Music Online.
Sourcebook for Research in Music, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML113 .C68 2005
Guides the researcher in navigating the vast proliferation of materials in music research. The editors emphasize English-language and recent sources, and also include essential materials in other languages. An opening chapter of introductory materials, including a list of common bibliographical terms with definitions, German and French bibliographical terms, and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems, is followed by seven bibliographical chapters, covering lists of sources as well as collective annotations that introduce and identify specific items. Updated eBook version also available.
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography, 5th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML113 .D83 1997
Contains critically annotated listings of 3,500 key sources, with 1,500 new to this edition, covering classic historic titles, standard works, new works, and a few unusual works. Material is arranged in sections on dictionaries and encyclopedias, histories and chronologies, sources of systematic and historical musicology, bibliographies of music literature and music business, works on individual composers and their music, catalogs of libraries and musical instrument collections, discographies, yearbooks, directories, and electronic information resources. Long the standard guide.
Music Research: A Handbook by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML113 .S28 2009
Introduces music students to the major print and electronic research tools available to them. Ideal for graduate-level music bibliography and research courses, it can also be used in any undergraduate or graduate music course that requires students to engage in library research or to write a research paper. Concise and practical, this unique handbook does not aim to provide an exhaustive introduction to the subject; rather, it is highly selective and guides students to the most significant English-language research tools and resources, reference titles in major areas, and the principal sources in French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
A Guide to Library Research in Music by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML3797 .B29 2008
An introduction to music literature that describes various information-searching techniques and library-based organizational systems, and introduces the array of music resources available. Each chapter has learning exercises for practical application. Appendixes provide quick access to specific topics in library organizational systems, including Library of Congress Subject Headings and Classification. A bibliography offers a concise overview of music literature and resources, emphasizing electronic and print publications that have appeared since the year 2000 along with standard references.
Music Library and Research Skills, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML3797 .G68 2017
A complete guide for music majors for researching and completing a paper, encompassing all the latest technologies and resources, providing not only annotated listings of key items but also informative "how to" side bars and "real life" stories to guide the student. Includes sample topics for research.
Scholarly Research for Musicians by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML3797 .S346 2017
Presents a range of research methods and techniques, incorporating both the common elements of traditional music research methodologies with innovative research strategies endemic to the fields of social science, education, and performance science.
Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing About Music* by
Call Number: ML3797 .H537 2009
Practical introductory guide to writing about music at different levels and for different purposes. Includes sections on writing for the Internet and writing about jazz, popular music, world music, and ethnography. Cross-referenced. *In circulating collection. eBook version available.
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.J3 F4 1999
Comprehensive biographical summaries arranged in alphabetical order on over 3,000 jazz musicians and groups.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.J3 N48 2001
Coverage of all jazz forms and styles, including the presence of jazz in film and media, American studies, modern social history, women's studies, and cultural studies.
The Oxford Companion to Jazz by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML3507 .O94 2000
Surveys the evolution of jazz, major figures, styles, and the cultural impact of jazz on American life.
Collected Editions & Historical Sets
Chronology of Western Classical Music by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML161 .H227 2002
This 2-volume reference work offers a complete chronology of classical music from the 18th-century through the end of the 20th. Organized by year, each entry gives: births of key musicians/composers, deaths, performing debuts, new positions, prizes/honors, bibliographical highlights, cultural beginnings, musical literature, and compositions. This work answers hundreds of common questions, from "Who wrote that piece?" to "When was it first performed"? A complete index is given in each volume, making finding information quick and easy. This book will strongly appeal to music students, professors, and lovers of classical music.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (multi-volume) by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .G16 1998
Takes a cultural approach to its focus on the music of all the world's peoples. Each volume is arranged topically, regionally, or by ethnic group, and complemented by an extensive index. Although each volume will differ because of the nature of the material, the organization remains consistent throughout all: regional overviews first; music in the social context next; then finally, the musical traditions of individual countries or ethnic groups. Online version with music samples also available.
A History of Western Music - 8th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML160 .G872 2010
Focuses on the musical works, styles, genres, and ideas that have proven most influential, enduring, and significant—but it also encompasses a wide range of music, from religious to secular, from serious to humorous, from art music to popular music, and from Europe to the Americas. With a six-part structure emphasizing the music’s reception and continued influence, the narrative approach establishes a social and historical context for each repertoire to reveal its legacy and its significance today.
Orchestral Music: A Handbook, 4th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML128.O5 D3 2005
Covers the standard repertoire for American orchestra, featuring 6400 entries and almost 900 composers along with brief biographical information. This product merged with the American Symphony Orchestra League's OLIS (Orchestra Library Information Service). Updated electronic version available.
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML101.I47 O94 2011
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the music of India spread across 2,000 years, including entries on classical, folk, film, and other forms of music to details of all forms of dance, raga, tala, gharana, treatises, technical terms, and instruments as well as short biographies of vocalists, musicologists, saint poets, gurus, composers, and instrumentalists. With 5,000 entries by around 100 acclaimed contributors, the volume spans all regions of India: from Assam, Meghalaya, and Manipur to Gujarat, and from Kashmir to Kerala.
The Oxford History of Western Music by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML160 .T18 2005
Features memorable musical analyses and a panoramic sense of the interaction between history, culture, politics, art, literature, religion, and music in the West, beginning with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago. eBook available. Copy also available in circulating collection.
The Penguin Companion to Classical Music by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .G84 2005
Biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures along with coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.
World Music: the Rough Guide (2 vols.) by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.W67 W67 1999*
Divided by region and subregion, this set examines the indigenous music of different countries, its current status, major performers, and special instruments. *Copy also in circulating collection.
Broadway, Country, and Popular Music
Broadway Musicals, 1943-2004 by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.M88 S74 2006
Provides information on every musical produced on Broadway since Oklahoma’s 1943 debut. Each entry begins with a brief synopsis of the show, followed by a three-part history: first, the pre-Broadway story of the show, including out-of-town try-outs and Broadway previews; next, the Broadway run itself, with dates, theatres, and cast and crew, including replacements, chorus and understudies, songs, gossip, and notes on reviews and awards; and finally, post-Broadway information with a detailed list of later notable productions, along with important reviews and awards.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003
Multi-volume set covers all aspects of the popular music industry, such as copyright, instrumental manufacture, management and marketing, record corporations, studios, companies, and labels. Entries include bibliographies, discographies, and filmographies. Alternate title: Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World..
Country Music: A Biographical Dictionary by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.C7 C28 2003
Illustrated A-Z guide covers more than 700 country music artists, groups, and bands. Articles also cover specific genres within country music as well as instruments used.
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music - 4th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.P66 G84 2006
Authoritative multi-volume biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. This A-Z reference also includes entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record lables, venues, and festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. eBook also available..
Off Broadway Musicals, 1910-2007 by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML1711.8.N3 D54 2010
Discusses more than 1,800 Off Broadway, Off Off Broadway, showcase, and workshop musical productions.Entries includes the name of the host theater or theaters; the opening date and number of performances; the production’s cast and creative team; a list of songs; a brief plot synopsis; and general comments and reviews from the New York critics.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Musicians by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML105 .S612 1997
This edition includes hundreds of new entries along with updates on musicians and composers of the 1800s and artists from other musical genres whose work has significantly influenced 20th century classical music. Contains a glossary of terms.
Baker's Dictionary of Music by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .S635 1997
An A to Z listing of musicians, famous compositions, musical terms, and instruments covering everything from Bach to rock music with more than 125 illustrations, photographs, and drawings. Includes in-depth essays on musical topics and an introduction to musical terminology.
Baker's Dictionary of Opera by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.O6 B26 2000
Includes 1000 alphabetical entries on opera singers, composers, and selected related artists (e.g., conductors, impresarios, and musicologists). Appendixes include opera character names, terms, chronology, synopses, and descriptions of selected world opera houses.
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML101.U6 N48 2013
Contains more than 9,300 entries on music and music-making in the United States, augmented with 447 images and 137 music examples. Extensive, detailed coverage also reflects emerging areas of scholarship, including disability, ecomusicology, environmental music, sound studies, and soundscapes.
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML102.I5 N48 2014
Over 8,000 entries covering instruments from around the world and their builders, with special attention to electronic and experimental instruments, the human body as an instrument, the history and techniques of instrument design and manufacture, performance practice, organology, and the scholars whose work has shaped our current understanding of musical instruments.
Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music by
Call Number: HoL Ref ML102.C5 S83 2006
Provides in one volume basic information about the most important traditions, persons, places, technical terms, and documents of sacred music, along with an extensive bibliography. Covers the most important aspects of the sacred music of Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and certain other smaller groups, and cross references frequently indicate an analogous entry in other religious traditions, even when there is no direct historical relation, in order to highlight commonalities that otherwise might be missed.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music - 2nd ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML100 .K35 2006
Coverage continues to span musical topics of all kinds: composers (and their principal works); conductors; musical terms and forms; descriptions of musical instruments; leading orchestras and music academies around the world; and critics, journalists, and other writers on music. This revised and expanded edition adds some 1,500 entries, with particular attention paid to living composers and to younger musical performers making their names in the concert hall, opera houses, etc.... See e-Book above.
Contemporary Composers by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML105 .C75 1992
Features, in full detail, more than 500 masters of composition from around the world, including extensive coverage of African and Asian composers as well as strong representation of women composers. Each comprehensive entry begins with a complete biography of the composer, providing details of birth, education and marriage; posts and positions held; awards and distinctions gained; a contact address; and music publishers.
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML105 .N67x 1994
Provides detailed biographies of more than 1,000 creators of Western classical music. In signed articles, the Dictionary chronicles the lives and works of women composers from all corners of the world. Here you can read about the Medieval mystic Hildgard von Bingen, the Renaissance madrigalist Maddalena Casulana, the flamboyant seventeenth-century vocal composer Barbara Strozzi, the prolific New Englander Amy Beach, and the Pulitzer Prize winner Ellen Taaffe Zwilich.
Orchestral Music: A Handbook, 4th ed. by
Call Number: Hol Ref ML128.O5 D3 2005
Features nearly 6400 compositions that cover the standard repertoire for American orchestras. Updated electronic version also available.
Bible & The Arts
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts, 2 Vols. by
Call Number: Hol Ref BS538.7 .O94 2015
Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts. 148 entries are organized primarily according to specific literary, visual, and musical artists, types of works, and periods. Includes bibliographies and suggested readings.
Music Index 1949 - 1998 & RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967 - 1995
Music Index (1949 - 1998) by
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Compact Storage D866*
Features comprehensive indexing and abstracts of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry from hundreds of periodicals. *Note local call number and location in circulating collection.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967 - 1995 by
Call Number: ML1.R5*
Music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing with broad coverage of all areas of musicology, including classical music and jazz studies, performance, ethnomusicology, composition, music pedagogy and music therapy, and more. *In circulating collection.