Articles are shorter-length pieces that are published within a larger journal or magazine. There are many different types of articles, including newspaper articles, research articles, magazine articles, and more. You will probably need to find many articles throughout your time on campus, and there are a number of ways to find relevant materials.
Newspaper Articles report on current events. You can find many newspaper articles by using Search It.
Journal Articles may be written by and for researchers reporting on studies or experiments they have conducted, but they can also be published for a certain trade or industry. You can find journal articles by using Search It, or by looking at our many databases individually.
Magazine Articles are generally written for the general public, rather than experts in a field. You can find many magazine articles by using Search It.
Databases are collections of electronic materials. Most of the journals and other periodicals (publications that are published on a periodical basis) that we have access to come to us through one of our many databases. Washington State University subscribes to many databases, each one of which gives us access to the journals and books in their collection. Search It searches many of our databases simultaneously, but you will get the best search results by searching the databases individually. This is because they come with functions that don't always translate well when searched by Search It.
We have tutorials and instructions for many of our most commonly used databases. Take a look!
CINAHL is a definitive resource for nursing research
Cochrane Library is a set of high-quality systematic review articles, which are studies that evaluate the research in a particular area of study and draw conclusions on what we can learn from the research studies that have been conducted.
PsychInfo is a database focused on psychological research.
ERIC is a database of educational research
PubMed is a definitive resource for research in the field of medicine
Web of Science allows you to search the references used by an article, or were cited by another article.
From the WSU Health Sciences Library homepage, you can quickly access a selection of Recommended Resources. View the lists of databases, including databases that hold articles and journals, books and ebooks, and point of care resources.
Just below this section, you can select "View All Health Sciences & Medicine Databases" to browse or search the full list of databases for health sciences. Within this page, you can also view all databases available through WSU.
To view more databases, click "All Databases" and view the full alphabetical listing of WSU databases. Use the dropdown menus at the top of the page to browse databases by subject area, type of database, or vendor. There is a search bar at the top right for keyword search. In addition, you can browse alphabetically through the list of databases by clicking the letters below the dropdown menus. Popular databases are listed on the right side of the screen. Scroll down further to view new or trial databases.
Journals are publications that are issued periodically. Some journals may be published annually, while others may be weekly. You will probably need to find academic or scholarly journals most often.
Journals can be within databases, which is how we have access to most of our electronic or online journals. Journals can also be received in print. We receive many fewer print journals than we used to, but some do still come to us this way. Print journals are shelved in the library, and can be used within the Library. Online journals can be accessed from anywhere using your WSU credentials.
Journals can be searched for in two ways: by using SearchIt (the library catalog), or through BrowZine.
Using Search It, search for the title of the journal. Then, limit results to Journals. This will provide a list of both print and eJournals in our collection. Click the title of the journal to see Access Options and physical locations.
Search It is also a great way to look up article citations to identify how to access the full-text through our subscriptions. Enter the article title, and then click the article in the results list. This will provide you with AccessOptions in our online databases, or prompt you to "Get it for me" through interlibrary loan.
Click the link below to enter BrowZine and browse or search for journals. This link is configured to bring you into Biomedical and Health Sciences Journals, but you can click "All Categories" to view all journals. Please note that most (but not all) journals through WSU are available in this platform. You can also download and use the BrowZine mobile app on phone or other mobile device for easy access to journals on-the-go.