LibGuides: Religion: Research Databases

Religion Research Database

ATLA Religion Databse with ATLASerials
Coverage from 1908 to the present includes more than 570,000 article citations from 1,677 journals (546 currently indexed), more than 237,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, more than 525,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided via ATLASerials for more than 285,300 electronic articles and book reviews from 150 journals selected by leading religious scholars.

Method & Theory in the Study of Religion

Publishes peer-reviewed articles, commissioned essays, unsolicited responses to past articles, conference proceedings, interviews, review symposia, review essays, and book reviews which explicitly address the problems of methodology and theory in the academic study of religion. This includes such traditional points of departure as history, philosophy, anthropology, psychology, and sociology, but also the natural sciences in addition to feminist theory, discourse analysis, and ideology critique. Published quarterly.

Method & Theory in the Study of Religion by North American Association for the Study of Religion
Call Number: Electronic resource
ISBN: 0943-3058
From 1989, with an embargo. Please see catalog record for current full-text availability.

Review of Religious Research

Published quarterly, the Review of Religious Research seeks to provide a regular channel for the exchange of information on methods, findings, and uses of religious research. It contains a variety of articles, book reviews, and reports on research projects.

The Review of Religious Research by Religious Research Association
Call Number: BL1 .R485 (Electronic resource)
JSTOR and EBSCO full-text holdings holdings: 1959 -
The Review of Religious Research by Religious Research Association
Call Number: BL1 .R485
v. 10 (1968/1969) - v. 53 (2012)

JSTOR and Project MUSE

JSTOR
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary full-text content from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles.
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to several hundred titles from 60 university and society presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Topical areas include literature, history, politics and policy studies, economics, education, film, religion, and women’s studies as well as book reviews. Search Tips

History, Philosophy, Literature, and Sociology

America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal aritcles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
Historical Abstracts
Citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Philosopher's Index
Bibliography of scholarly works in journals, books, anthologies, contributions to anthologies and book reviews (1960s- ). Indexes aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, philosophy of education, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, philosophy of religion, philosophy of science, political philosophy, and social philosophy.
MLA International Bibliography
Comprehensive coverage of modern languages and literature, including folklore. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and book history.
Sociological Abstracts (1963 - current)
Offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serial publications. Also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Updated 6 times a year.

Newspapers Full-Text

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Includes full-text access to over 1,200 newspapers, 40 news magazines, and 130 newswires along with 1.7 million radio and television news transcripts. Also features cover-to-cover content from The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles
New York Times, 1851 - three years previous
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Via ProQuest.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Provides full-text access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers published throughout the United States between 1800 and 1900, including territorial newspapers.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Integrated resource offering recent global news content from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Archives date from the 1980s.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985
The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image, and advertisement. Includes coverage of theater, literature, music, art, and other cultural topics and events. Also has obituaries.
Catholic News Archive

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ProQuest Dissertations & OpenDissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Citations for U.S. (and some Canadian) dissertations 1861- present. Includes abstracts for dissertations published from 1980-present (some recent dissertations offer a 24-page preview). Also includes citations and abstracts for (some) master's theses from 1988-present.
OpenDissertations
An open access database that incorporates EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations along with additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. The database provides researchers with citations to graduate research from the early 20th century to the present. Formerly called American Doctoral Dissertations.

Gale & Oxford Virtual Reference Libraries

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research, including research in the arts and humanities. Some full-text content available.
Oxford Reference Online Library Collection
Provides access to dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works along with topical companions and a dictionary of quotations, offering full-spectrum subject coverage. Combines over 2 million entries and some 300,000 pages (many of which are illustrated) into a single cross-searchable resource consisting of 180 core academic titles.

Web of Science & ArchiveGrid

Web of Science
This multidisciplinary database has searchable author abstract covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities and the sciences and social sciences. Updated weekly
ArchiveGrid (OCLC)
Provides detailed descriptions of numerous archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. With its online archival collection descriptions, ArchiveGrid helps you to locate collections of primary source material more quickly than ever before. Records include collection title, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.

ERIC & Nexis Uni

ERIC (EBSCO)
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
Nexis Uni
Enhanced functionality across entire collection of 15,000 news, business, and legal resources. Content includes television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, deep-archive national and international newspapers, federal and state cases and statutes including Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and business information on 80 million U.S. and international companies and corporate executives.