Skip to Main Content

Libraries

French Literature, Language, and Culture: Film Studies

Review Resources on the Net

Metacritic Film Reviews
Provides reviews from a variety of national and local newspapers and magazines.
New York Times Movie Reviews
The New York Times’ free review archive of over 28,000 movie reviews from 1960 to present.
Rotten Tomatoes
A database of movie reviews from around the United States.
Nitrate Online
Reviews contributed by film studies scholars and critics.
Kamera Film Salon
Reviews of British and International films.
Movie Review Query Engine
Identifies published reviews from a variety of US sources.
Internet Movie Data Base
Provides cast lists and plot synopses. Also includes links to both critical and user reviews.

Websites

Websites of Interest

Focus on French Cinema
A site promoting a French film festival at Purchase College, New York.
My French Film Festival .com

Feature Films

Below are some examples of feature films located in Terrell Media Materials, on the ground floor of the Terrell Library. To search for additional titles, try doing a keyword search in Search It using the terms french, motion picture, and DVD.

Le Grand Partage
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 4696
Publication Date: 2015
Les herbes folles
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2813
Comme une image
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2762
ISBN: 1404970142
La règle du jeu
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 633
ISBN: 0780026926
Tristan and Isolde by Thierry Schiel; Mike Carey; Stephanie Meer; Studio Capitale
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2889
Ecoute le temps = Fissures by Antoine Simkine; Alanté Kavaïté; Émilie Dequenne; Ludmila Mikaël; Mathieu Demy;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2887
La fille de Monaco = The girl from Monaco by Anne Fontaine; Benoit Graffin; Bruno Pesery; Philippe Carcassonne; Patrick Blossier
Call Number: Terrell Media MAterials DVD 2895
Ma femme s'appelle Maurice - My Wife Maurice by Jean-Marie Poiré; Alice Evans; Régis Laspalès; Philippe Chevallier;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2894
Rumba by Dominique Abel; Fiona Gordon; Philippe Martz; Marin Karmitz;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2896
Quatre cents coups by François Truffaut; Marcel Moussay; Georges Charlot; Jean-Pierre Léaud
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2890
ISBN: 9781604651300
A bout de souffle by Jean Luc Godard; Georges de Beauregard; François Truffaut; Jean Seberg
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2886
Parlez-moi de la pluie by Agnès Jaoui; Jean-Pierre Bacri; Jean-Philippe Andraca;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2888
ISBN: 0788612808
Le diner de cons by Francis Veber; Alain Poiré; Thierry Lhermitte;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2891
ISBN: 1588179036
Inspector Bellamy by Patrick Godeau; Claude Chabrol; Odile Barski; Gérard Depardieu; Clovis Cornillac
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2893
Espions by Nicolas Saada; Guillaume Canet; Stephen Rea
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2880
Mademoiselle Chambon by Stéphane Brizé; Miléna Poylo; Gilles Sacuto;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2814
Welcome by Philippe Lioret; Christophe Rossignon; Emmanuel Courcol;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2809
La fille du RER = The Girl on the Train by Catherine Deneuve; Émilie Dequenne; Michel Blanc;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2892
Un prophète by Jacques Audiard; Thomas Bidegain; Abdel Raouf Dafri;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2810
Micmacs a tire-larigot by André Dussollier; Dany Boon; Nicolas Marié;
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2864
Princess Tam Tam by Edmond Greville
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 3217
Publication Date: 1935
"A pygmalion-like comedy starring Josephine Baker as a mischievous shepherd girl rises through society to become a pretend princess and the toast of Paris nightlife."
Bon Voyage by Jean-Paul Rappeneau
Call Number: Terrel Media DVD 2731
ISBN: 1404948619
Publication Date: 2003
"Following the premiere of her latest picture Viviane finds herself with a dead man in her apartment..."
Pickpocket by Robert Bresson; Criterion Collection
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 2938
ISBN: 078003032X
Publication Date: 1959
"Michel, an insignificant man who drifts into crime, is arrested and imprisoned. Upon release, he abandons an attempt at reform when a master pickpocket teaches him his art."
Sur mes lèvres = read my lips by Jacques Audiard
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 2733
ISBN: 1404934472
"A masterfully crafted romantic thriller in the Hitchcock tradition..."
A Screaming Man by Mahamat Saleh Haroun
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 3176
"When a hotel in Chad is taken over by foreign owners, Adam, a former swim champ, is forced to give up his job at the pool to his young son...."
36 vues du Pic Saint Loup = Around a small mountain by Jacques Rivette
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 3140
ISBN: 0781513324
Publication Date: 2009
Léon Morin, priest by Jean-Pierre Melville; Criterion Collection
Call Number: Terrell Media DVD 3173
2 ou 3 choses que je sais d'elle by Jean-Luc Godard; Criterion Collection
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 3256
ISBN: 1604651741
Publication Date: 1967
Le samourai by Jean-Pierre Melville
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2659
ISBN: 0780030184
Publication Date: 1967
"Jef Costello is a fedora and trench-coat wearing contract killer with samurai instincts. "
Trois Couleurs by Krzysztof Kieslowski
Call Number: Terrell Media Materials DVD 2506
Publication Date: 1994
"Three films in a trilogy about how women deal with relationships."
400 Blows
Call Number: DVD 236
ISBN: 1572525320

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us