It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These can be very useful as a starting point for your research, particularly if you have not entirely narrowed down your topic. These items are available in the Terrell Library Reference area and are a great way to obtain a general overview of your topic, and to identify further resources.
"This Companion is a new and completely reconceived work, rather than a revision of the 1959 Oxford Companion to French Literature. As the change in title implies, it presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French‐speaking countries around the world. Written by an international team of specialists, entries cover individual authors and works from the troubadours to Césaire, and from La Princesse de Clèves to La Vie mode d'emploi. Substantial essay‐entries reflect the latest scholarship on topics such as chivalry, Occupation and Resistance in wartime France, scholasticism, the sciences, literary movements and genres, as well as opera, cinema, and press."
Divided into two parts, with Book 1 covering Cinema, Television, Radio, Animation, and Comic Books and Book 2 focusing on Literature. This is an excellent reference work for literature of the fantastic, with engaging entries often complimented by book covers or promotional material. Also included are author bibliographies and a list of major awards.
Presents detailed information on authors and literary movements. Entries are complimented by bibliographies of publications and critical studies. Discovery of topic is aided by both a title and a general index.
An encyclopedia of biographical essays, in addition to entries on literary genres and movements, historical, cultural, political, and sociological topics. Individually authored entries conclude with a bibliography of resources for further study.
Described as an attempt to “alleviate such feelings of reader inadequacy” regarding the great body of world literary works. Includes biographical and bibliographical information, on 345 authors, including Fernando Arrabal, Yves Bonnefoy, Michael Butor, Marie Cardinal, Helene Cixous, Michel Deguy, Jacques Dupin, Marguerite Duras, Andre Frenaud, Jacques Garelli, Armand Gatti, Julien Gracq, Julien Green, Eugene Guillevec, Jeanne Hyvrard, Eugene Ionesco, J.-M.G. Le Clezio, Francoise Mallet-Joris, Edouard Manet, Claude Mauriac, Patrick Modiano, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Christiane Rochefort, Francoise Sagan, Nathalie Sarraute, Claude Simon, Philipe Sollers, Jean Tardieu, Michel Tournier, Michel Vinaver, and Monique Wittig. Also includes a useful list of critical studies in English, where available.
Offers essays on French Literature, Andre Malraux, Emile Zola, Louis Aragon, and Honore de Balzac. Also treated is Caribbean Literature (Francophone), African Literature (Francophone), and Canadian Literature (Francophone).
In Encyclopedia of French Film Directors, Philippe Rège identifies every French director who has made at least one feature film since 1895. From undisputed masters to obscure one-timers, nearly 3,000 directors are cited here, including at least 200 filmmakers not mentioned in similar books published in France.
This new three-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini. Students, academics and general researchers will find entries on everything from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. The "Encyclopedia's multidisciplinary articles--including "Comfort Food," "Ethnicity and Food," "Medieval Banquets" and "Nutrient Composition"--are supplemented by 450 photographs and illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
Biographical information on more than 130,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work. Print version in reference.