Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper Collections and Book Review Sources
These databases may provide access to articles and book reviews related to your author, providing information on the reception of their works at the time of publication.
New York Times (1851 - 2006)
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers.
Locating Journal Articles
Academic Search Complete
Indexes the "French Politics, Culture and Society," "French Studies" "French Forum," as well as a host of other interdisciplinary titles.
MLA International Bibliography
Annually indexes over 66,000 books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Indexed titles include "French Studies: A Quarterly Review," "French Cultural Studies," "French Forum," "Francophone Cultures and Literatures," "French Review," "French Studies Bulletin," and more.
Full text access to a variety of journals, including "French Studies," "French Forum," :"Nineteenth-Century Franch Studies," "L'Esprit Createur," "Jeunesse," among other general literature titles.
JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive
Full-text access to journal articles, (operating on a 3-5 year delay however), JSTOR titles include, "The French Review," "Journal of Modern Literature," "Yale French Studies," "Comparative Literature," and more.
Humanities International Index
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.
The Philosopher's Index is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy
World Wide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts for the literature of political science, international relations, government and public policy
Citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Provides access to full text legal and abstracted information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more