LibGuides: Evidence-Based Practice Intro : Kinesiology / Movement Studies / Sports Medicine: Home

Librarian Corner (Click Photo for More Info)

Email Me

Contact:

Terrell Library 120-D
Washington State University

Office Hours: (Spring, 2023): Click the "Schedule Appointment" link above to set up a Zoom appointment, or email me directly via the button (which I recommend).

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Government Information, Law, Political Science, Sociology, Sport Studies

Introduction

Guide Outline

Quick overview: Evidence-Based Practice
Quick overview: Database search strategies
Types of research and levels of research evidence
1. Primary, Secondary, Tertiary databases
2. Types of studies
3. Narrative reviews, systematic reviews and meta-analyses
PICO: a systematic approach to creating a clinical question to answer through review and application of existing research
Research and literature resources including databases and online critical appraisal libraries that can be used for conducting clinically relevant searches (see below)
Conclusion: How to conduct a literature search using a clinical question relevant to athletic training practice using search techniques and resources appropriate for a specific clinical question

PubMed
This link to PubMed is for those affiliated with WSU. PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 300 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus (at no additional charge). Users of SPORTDiscus will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform health care decision-making. It includes reliable evidence to bring you the combined results of the worldÕs best medical research studies.

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
5/2021 - NIH PrePrint Pilot
"he NIH Preprint Pilot is a project of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). During the pilot, NLM will make preprints resulting from research funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) available via PubMed Central (PMC) and, by extension, PubMed. "

Spring 2023 Update: New/Newish Helpful WSU Libraries Resources and Services

JSTOR - we have access to ALL of JSTOR's journal content (including the Security Studies module) through the end of June 2023.

iPOLL (Roper Center)
Not available after 3/31/2023
iPOLL is a public opinion/polling database of 500,000+ questions and answers on a wide range of topics collected by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. The database also provides access to downloadable datasets for statistical analysis (free account required). Some international coverage. Data covers 1935-present
HeinOnline / Hein Online
Database of legal and government resources, including laws, regulations, some trials and court reports, treaties, monographs, and a variety of other materials covering United States and foreign law. Coverage includes private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Includes full text image-based searchable database of legal periodicals. Database coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. New and updated material added frequently.
Statista
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
PolicyMap
Now permanent!!! as of January 2022
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. Undergraduate and graduate schools use us in their curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.
Look for Blog Posts, Customer Stories, and sample Maps, Tables, and Reports.
SAGE Research Methods
Designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method, SAGE Research Methods includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

The Proxy Bookmarklet and LibKey Nomad
Note: The Proxy Bookmarklet will be going away due to the slow migration over the Spring, 2023 term to an authentication method called Open Athens (more info)
Have you ever found something on the Web that you knew was available through the Libraries, but it was too much of a pain to log into the Libraries site and find it? Now we have a bookmarklet that you can add to your browser button bar so that you can log in via the Libraries and get immediate access (most of the time…) find out more about our new proxy bookmarklet. And it works with tablets too...
Note: after you log in, if you don't get access, just click the proxy bookmarklet again and you will (if your browser is idle for too long you may need to log in again). Also provides information on newish library service LibKey Nomad which can also be used to provide instant access to PDFs available though the WSU Libraries.
The Dimensions Lab
Big Monitors. Cool software. Large (but not really large) scanner. 3D Photogrammetry. Macs. 3-D printer. And more. #DigitalMaking
The Libraries’ Dimensions Lab is equipped to provide computing resources and tools for computer-based projects in the fields of media, art, music, engineering, computer science, and physics. The lab is located on the first floor of the Holland Library on the WSU Pullman campus, right off the main elevators between Holland and Terrell.
Added in fall 2021: a small recording studio, the Audio Lab.
WSU Libraries Citation Style Quick Guides (includes APA 7th)
"These quick reference guides are designed to provide easy access to common formatting and stylistic requirements for each citation style."
APA Style (7th Ed.) Handouts and Guides (free)
"The following are instructional aids for the seventh edition Publication Manual, Concise Guide to APA Style, and Mastering APA Style Student Workbook. They can be used in homes, classrooms, libraries, or anywhere you are learning or teaching APA Style."
APA: The Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style (free)
Free tutorial
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources
APA: Style and Grammar Guidelines (7th edition; free)
Just in case, APA Sixth Edition Resources
Citation Linker
Use this link when you have a citation and want to get to the book or article. It will link to the item you want. If it is not available at the WSU Libraries, it will generate an automatic Interlibrary Loan form so you can easily request it.