Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-Based Practice Intro : Kinesiology / Movement Studies / Sports Medicine

Library guide page contents:

Key EBM Resources for Athletics * Medical Databases

 

Helpful - How to Read a [Medical] Paper

Key EBM Resources for Athletics

Medical Databases (from the EFCoM)

Note: to access these databases off-campus, you will need to use the Proxy Bookmarklet

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.  Ebooks included in AccessMedicine are also individually catalogued in Search-It.

    How-To Guide (via WSU Spokane Medical Library)
 

Acland's video atlas of human anatomy

Acland's (streaming) Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is web-based product that uses fresh, unembalmed specimens, retaining the color, texture, and mobility of the living human body in 3D. A concise synchronized narration runs throughout the program. As each new structure is shown, its name appears on the screen. Footage has been segmented into intervals no longer than 10 minutes and the streaming rate is capped at 250kbs. Features include section exams (free login account), a glossary, and an A-Z index.  Can be paired with the eBook, Moore’s Clinically Oriented Anatomy, available within the LWW Health Library (see below).

 
 

Bates' visual guide to physical examination

Bates' Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. Students and faculty in medical, nursing, and related programs will appreciate the careful attention to clinical accuracy, as well as the range of patient types profiled in the series. Can be paired with the eBook, Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History-Taking, available within the LWW Health Library (see below).

 
 

ClinicalKey [Full Text]

Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.  Texts (ebooks) and journals are also catalogued separately in Search-It.

   How-To Guide (via WSU Spokane Medical Library)
 

DynaMed plus

The new DynaMed Plus version has greater scope and functionality with overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to insure currency.  Compare UpToDate (see below).

       How-To Guide (via WSU Spokane Medical Library)
 

LWW Health Library - Basic and Anatomical Sciences

Database contains full text access to selected biomedical and basic science books and multimedia assets.  Ebooks are also individually catalogued in Search-IT.

 

MEDLINE Complete [Full Text]

The largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. Covering a wide range of subjects, it is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.  Journals also appear individually in Search-IT.

 
 

UpToDate

An evidence based, peer reviewed information resource ("clinical decision support resource"), available via the web, desktop, and PDA.  Compare DynaMed Plus (see above).

   How-To Guide (via WSU Spokane Medical Library)
 
BMJ Best Practice (This is a library trial, starting 8/27/2019 and ending 9/30/2019. BMJ Best Practice seems to be a competitor to UpToDate - "...a practical tool to support decision making at the point of care," including evidence-based content (a "clinical decision support tool.")
 
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us