LibGuides: Nursing Education Resources: Library Support

Library Support

The WSU Health Sciences Library is your resource for information sources to support you and your students. Take a look below for some of the resources we offer. Navigate to each page to find relevant books, teaching and multimedia resources, and recommendations for finding scholarship on teaching in nursing.

WSU Health Sciences Library Website

Research Consultations

Book a Librarian to discuss your research, and recommend that your students meet with their librarian to discuss their literature search and learn more about using the library.

Collection
The Library's collection of nursing materials encompasses both physical books and a wide variety of digital resources, including ebooks, journals, multimedia materials, and interlibrary loan services. Use the library's catalog, Search It (below), to find books and full text of articles. Use the databases listed below to conduct a literature search, find point of care information, or identify data.

PubMed
This link to PubMed is for those affiliated with WSU. PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOHost)
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.
GIDEON
Epidemiological data going back to 1348 AD, covering 230+ countries and territories. Over 25,000 outbreaks, 35,000 graphs, and 82,000+ surveys. Includes interactive tools to identify 2,000+ pathogens, diagnose and compare 360+ infectious diseases, as well as to explore the properties of 30,000+ trade names of drugs and vaccines. The application is updated every day by a team of highly regarded medical scientists.
UpToDate
An evidence-based, peer-reviewed information resource, available via the web, desktop, and PDA.
DynaMed
The new DynaMed version has greater scope and functionality with overviews, recommendations, specialty topics, drug information, graphics and images, direct links to article references in full text, and mobile access. It is updated multiple times daily to ensure currency.
EMBASE
Embase is an abstract and Indexing (A & I) database covering over 8,500 journal titles, 30 million articles back to 1974, all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science, and includes substantial coverage of Allied Health subjects.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more. Data comes from authoritative public and proprietary sources. It has thousands of indicators on demographics, the economy, housing, lending, quality of life, education, health, and more. Data is available at the neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, depending on the data.

Relevant Guides From the Libraries

Conducting a Literature Review
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 1088 views this year
Evidence-Based Health Care
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 1758 views this year
Library Tutorials: Health Sciences
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Mar 23, 2024 1447 views this year
Nursing
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Apr 26, 2024 1350 views this year
Research Data Management
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Jan 4, 2024 1467 views this year
Systematic Reviews
by Ann Dyer Last Updated Apr 22, 2024 427 views this year
Government Data and Statistics
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Oct 13, 2023 53 views this year
Zotero @ the WSU Libraries
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 6508 views this year
EndNote Online (Free)
by Chelsea Leachman Last Updated Jun 6, 2023 266 views this year