Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following specialized reference sources examine American immigrant groups and cultures.
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2006-02-24
The Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West provides much more than ethnic groups crossing the plains, landing at ports, or crossing borders; this two-volume work makes the history of the American West an important part of the American experience.
Latino American Experience
Call Number: online database
Includes access to online reference works covering topics such as civil rights, the arts, education, history, literature, music, women, sports, religion, politics, music, notable Latino Americans, health, and business.
African American Experience
Call Number: online database
Includes access to full-text encyclopedias, slave narratives, speeches, interviews, photographs, court cases and monographs.
Asian American History and Culture: an encyclopedia by
Call Number: Available Online and at Terrell Reference E184.A75 A8287 2010
Offers individually-authored essays on a broad variety of topics related to the Asian American experience. Organized by more than twenty national-origin groups, topics covered include the arts, education, family, gender, culture, community and occupation.
America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal aritcles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns and reviews that provide diverse perspectives and viewpoints. This resource is especially useful for researching cultural life in the diaspora.
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities and social sciences.
Historical New York Times
The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. You may trying doing a search related to your ethnic heritage and browse these historical headlines for insight into news and events surrounding first generation immigrants.
Seattle Times Archive
If your family settled in Washington State, the Seattle Times Archive may provide insight into the immigrant experience in the Pacific Northwest. Try searching for an ancestor's last name as birth, death, marriage, and divorce notices may be found.