Remote AccessFor 24/7 remote access to library subscription electronic resources using your WSU Network ID and password try one of the following:
The Health Sciences Library is located in the Student Academic Center building on the second and third floors. Spokane students and faculty may access the library 24/7 with their CougarCard. Study rooms are available on the Health Sciences Library third floor for small groups.
The interlibrary loan service allows students, faculty, and staff to acquire journal articles and books that are not immediately available through the WSU Health Sciences Library collection. Find the SearchIT catalog record for the item using the DOI/PMID lookup or search for the title. Login to the SearchIT catalog record for an item to quickly autofill the interlibrary loan request form. If you are unable to locate a catalog record for the item a blank form is linked below.
Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences by
"Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Second Edition provides an innovative perspective on cultural competence in the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is imperative for clinicians and scientists to be aware of diverse aspects of globalization: how these aspects may affect their own knowledge, strengths, biases, and interventions, as well as the relationships between the communities, families, and individuals with whom they partner in care. The purpose of this essential textbook is to facilitate the creation of knowledge and the development of attitudes and skills that lead to culturally responsive practices"--
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing by
Both an outstanding text for undergraduate and graduate courses in speech, language, swallowing and hearing (SLSH), as well as an excellent resource for those in clinical practice, Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing, 4th Edition, is a brilliantly illustrated volume covering the complex functional anatomy relevant to SLSH. World-renowned Netter anatomy illustrations and others are accompanied by concise text and tables, providing a unique "read it, see it" approach that helps you easily connect anatomy and physiology concepts to detailed illustrations. This full-color, SLSH-specific atlas contains a basic introduction of human anatomical principles; coverage of the respiratory, laryngeal-phonatory, oropharyngeal-articulatory, and auditory-vestibular systems, as well as neuroanatomy; and updated content throughout-all designed to give you a solid foundation in anatomy and physiology, which is essential for your learning of how to diagnose and treat SLSH disorders. Features Dr. Frank Netter's unique medical illustrations and straightforward descriptions that clearly present the anatomy and physiology of speech, language, swallowing and hearing. Incorporates newly created figures to help you understand some key anatomical concepts and to orient you to the anatomical structures typically visualized in speech and swallowing instrumental examinations. Contains more integrated physiology throughout, plus expanded coverage of the anatomy of the oropharyngeal-articulatory system (and of the procedures that make it possible to visualize the structures of this system), key information on the anatomy of the vestibular system, and the addition of fundamental neuroanatomical concepts for speech production and swallowing. Includes system musculature summary tables for each section that present vital information in a quick, easy, and consistent format for study and reference. Enhanced eBook includes self-test questions, and exercises to enhance your understanding of SLSH anatomy and physiology. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com
Milestones: normal speech and language development across the life span by
Milestones: Normal Speech and Language Development Across the Lifespan is a textbook for the introductory course in Language Development for students in Speech-Language Pathology, Communication Disorders, Special Education, Educational Psychology and Education. It adopts a coherent chronological approach, beginning with responsiveness to speech and language in the womb and working across the lifespan into maturity and beyond.. By using a chronological organization, the text helps students relate the material to the whole person at each milestone. It takes a constructive approach, starting with the simplest theoretical apparatus of the youngest infant, gradually increasing in complexity and comprehensiveness one milestone at a time. The organizational background becomes a series of narratives of interesting cases, keeping the theory and structure of language development grounded in real stories.. In the second edition, the authors have enhanced and updated the cutting-edge information on early language development, literacy acquisition, and some of the factors that can delay or even derail the normal progression. They have amplified innovations that students found useful in the first edition while updating the text with respect to current research and theory. The organization of the text has been streamlined, and some of the theory and research has been clarified and illustrated with additional or updated videographic illustrations.. The digital resources on the second edition DVD-ROM include: . *A complete Digital Summary of the whole book together with hyperlinked media and Internet resources referred to in the book *A well-illustrated PowerPoint summary of each chapter with one or more videographic clips for every class meeting *A Study Guide of Multiple Choice Questions containing 1,000 items (400 more than in the prior edition) linked in sequence, page-by-page and chapter-by-chapter, to the subject matter in the text *A series
Motor Speech Disorders: Diagnosis and Treatment, 3rd ed by
Motor Speech Disorders: Diagnosis and Treatment, Third Edition offers a detailed yet streamlined introduction to motor speech disorders for graduate students and beginning clinicians. The text offers a brief historical overview of motor speech disorders, providing useful context for understanding the technology and methodology used by modern speech-language pathologists for evaluation and treatment. The text also provides a practical introduction to the human motor system and detailed coverage of six pure dysarthrias, mixed dysarthria, and apraxia of speech. Key Features: Chapter outlines identify the major topics discussed in each chapter A concise summary effectively wraps up each chapter to emphasize key points for students End-of-chapter study questions prompt review and application of topics discussed in each chapter Bolded key terms throughout and an end-of-book glossary Videos of real life cases studies featuring patients with motor speech disorders New to the Third Edition: Updated chapters with the latest research on motor speech disorders, with particular attention to new studies of treatment procedures Now with full-color illustrations, providing significantly better visualization and understanding of neuroanatomy New 7" x 10" trim size Access to a PluralPlus companion website with upgraded clinical case videos (especially those on apraxia of speech), PowerPoint lecture slides and images bank
