For 24/7 remote access to library subscription electronic resources using your WSU Network ID and password try the following:
If we do not have immediate online access to an article sign in to the library catalog record for the item to request an electronic copy through interlibrary loan. You will receive a libraries-do-not-reply Document Delivery Notification(usually within a few hours) when it has been filled.
The Health Sciences Library is located in the Kirk H. Schulz Academic Center(SAC) building on the second and third floors. Spokane students and faculty may access the library 24/7 with their CougarCard. Study rooms are available on the Health Sciences Library upper floor for small groups.
Milestones: normal speech and language development across the life span
by
Unlimited ebook. Milestones: Normal Speech and Language Development Across the Lifespan is a textbook for the introductory course in Language Development for students in Speech-Language Pathology, Communication Disorders, Special Education, Educational Psychology and Education. It adopts a coherent chronological approach, beginning with responsiveness to speech and language in the womb and working across the lifespan into maturity and beyond.. By using a chronological organization, the text helps students relate the material to the whole person at each milestone. It takes a constructive approach, starting with the simplest theoretical apparatus of the youngest infant, gradually increasing in complexity and comprehensiveness one milestone at a time. The organizational background becomes a series of narratives of interesting cases, keeping the theory and structure of language development grounded in real stories.. In the second edition, the authors have enhanced and updated the cutting-edge information on early language development, literacy acquisition, and some of the factors that can delay or even derail the normal progression. They have amplified innovations that students found useful in the first edition while updating the text with respect to current research and theory. The organization of the text has been streamlined, and some of the theory and research has been clarified and illustrated with additional or updated videographic illustrations.. The digital resources on the second edition DVD-ROM include: . *A complete Digital Summary of the whole book together with hyperlinked media and Internet resources referred to in the book *A well-illustrated PowerPoint summary of each chapter with one or more videographic clips for every class meeting *A Study Guide of Multiple Choice Questions containing 1,000 items (400 more than in the prior edition) linked in sequence, page-by-page and chapter-by-chapter, to the subject matter in the text *A series
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders
by
An authoritative overview of language and speech disorders, featuring new and updated chapters written by leading specialists from across the field The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, provides timely and authoritative coverage of current issues, foundational principles, and new research directions within the study of communication disorders. Building upon the reputation of the landmark first edition, this volume offers an exceptionally broad and in-depth survey of the field, presenting original chapters by internationally recognized specialists that examine an array of language, speech, and cognitive disorders and discuss the most crucial aspects of this evolving discipline while providing practical information on analytical methods and assessment. Now in its second edition, the Handbook features extensively revised and refocused content throughout, reflecting the latest advances in the field. Original and updated chapters explore diverse topics including literacy and literacy impairments, patterns of normal and disordered language development, hearing impairment and cochlear implants, language acquisition and language delay, dementia, dysarthria, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, and many others. This acclaimed single-volume reference resource: Provides 26 original chapters which describe the latest in new research and which indicate future research directions Covers new developments in research since the original publication of the first edition Features in-depth coverage of the major disorders of language and speech, including new insights on perception, hearing impairment, literacy, and genetic syndromes Includes a series of foundational chapters covering a variety of important general principles, including labelling, diversity, intelligibility, assessment, and intervention The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, is essential reading for researchers, scholars, and students in speech and language pathology, speech, language and hearing sciences, and clinical llinguistics, as well as active practitioners and clinicians.
Clinical Research in Communication Disorders
by
Unlimited ebook
Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing
by
Unlimited ebook. Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing by Bernard Rousseau and Ryan C. Branski fulfills a growing need for a contemporary resource for students in speech and hearing science training programs. Extending well beyond traditional speech science and human anatomy, this publication encompasses the latest advances in the understanding of human physiology, basic cell functions, biological control systems, and coordinated body functions. Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing includes award-winning anatomic artwork from Thieme's Atlas of Anatomy, adding a rich visual basis to the clinical facets of speech, language, swallowing, hearing, and balance. The book begins with fundamentals of human anatomy and physiology such as embryology and development of speech and hearing mechanisms. The second section details nervous system functions including central and peripheral motor control. The physiology of respiration, phonation, articulation and resonance, hearing, swallowing, and balance are covered in the last six chapters. Key Features Highlighted key terms, review questions, learning objectives, and summaries enable instructors and students to consolidate information Textboxes offer meaningful examples of clinical disorders in a context conducive to applying newly learned concepts Over 400 high-quality, detailed anatomical illustrations maximize comprehension of anatomical and physiological aspects of speech, language, swallowing, hearing, balance and related functions Online access to Q&A content and anatomy figures provides labels on/off functionality for interactive study and review This core textbook is essential reading for undergraduate and graduate students in communication sciences and disorders. The connection between basic and clinical science enables students to maximize learning and apply this new knowledge during clinical placements and externships.
Foundations of Speech and Hearing
by
Unlimited ebook. This comprehensive textbook for undergraduate-level anatomy and physiology courses in communication sciences and disorders programs is neither oversimplified nor excessively detailed. The book is written with clinical endpoints in mind, and only those topics that are ultimately important to understanding, evaluating, and managing clients with speech, hearing, and swallowing disorders are covered. Drawing on material from the best-selling Preclinical Speech Science: Anatomy, Physiology, Acoustics, and Perception, Third Edition textbook (Hixon, Weismer, & Hoit, 2020), the authors have provided chapters that cover basic concepts in anatomy and physiology, each of the speech subsystems (respiratory, laryngeal, velopharyngeal-nasal, and pharyngeal oral), the auditory system, swallowing physiology, and neural structures and mechanisms that support speech/language, hearing, and swallowing. The text was carefully crafted to meet the needs of entry-level university students and the figures were designed to feature the key elements of the concepts discussed in the text.New to the Second EditionNew author, Brad Story, PhD, who brings fresh ideas and perspectives to the bookNew introductory chapter that covers several basic concepts of anatomy and physiology28 videos that demonstrate key concepts in the text, most of which were created specifically for this bookClinical Notes sections that highlight the relevance of anatomy and physiology to the clinical practices of speech-language pathology and audiologyNearly 100 new or updated illustrationsExtensively revised text to enhance clarity and provide support for beginning studentsUpdated material based on recent literatureKey FeaturesNumerous beautiful, full-color illustrationsComplex information presented clearly and concisely, in an easy-to-understand mannerClinical applications to basic anatomy and physiology are woven throughout the bookSupplementary resources on the PluralPlus companion website, including PowerPoint slides and test questions for instructors and videos, study guides, and homework exercises for studentsList of VideosRespiratory AnatomyBalloon Analogy of the Respiratory SystemDiaphragm MovementVentilationSustained Vowel - Volume and PressureRunning Speech - Volume and PressureVocal Fold ModelAdduction, Abduction, Length ChangeGlottal Fricative and WhisperVocal Fold VibrationFundamental FrequencySource-FilterVelopharyngeal ClosureVP-N Acoustic ImpedanceGrandfather PassageNasalizationHypernasalityVowel ArticulationConsonant ArticulationMicrobeam AbracadabraSliding Articulatory GesturesGlossectomeeTonotopic OrganizationTraveling WaveSound to the BrainOral Phase Tongue MovementVideofluoroscopy NormalVideofluoroscopy Abnormal
Treatment of Autism Spectrum Disorder
by
3-user ebook
To work effectively with individuals who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD), SLPs and other practitioners need in-depth knowledge on choosing and implementing interventions for communication and social challenges. The second edition of this bestselling textbook gives professionals the foundation they need to evaluate and compare today's widely used interventions--and determine which ones will promote the best outcomes for the people they serve. The newest volume in the respected Communication and Language Intervention Series, this accessible text combines the expertise of more than 30 top autism authorities across multiple disciplines and specialties, including psychology, speech-language pathology, early intervention, special education, and AAC. Readers will get a thorough introduction to 14 evidence-based interventions, complete with key details on each intervention's theoretical and empirical basis, components, practical requirements, applications for both children and adults, and considerations for children from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds. Twelve video clips (available for streaming) illustrate the interventions in action, and highly relevant learning activities prepare SLPs and other practitioners to make sound decisions in scenarios they're likely to encounter in the field. WHAT'S NEW: New chapter on assessment for treatment planning and progress monitoring New chapter on language and communication strengths and challenges often seen in children with ASD New in-depth profiles of three interventions not covered in the last edition: the Early Start Denver Model, The SCERTS® Model, and Social Skills Interventions Videos to demonstrate the newly added interventions Updates to reflect the DSM-5, which includes significant changes to the definition of ASD and new diagnostic criteria More information on inclusive practices Expanded discussion on working with children from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds A sample syllabus that demonstrates how faculty can integrate this book into a course Helpful new supplementary resource, Case Studies for the Treatment of Autism Spectrum Disorder, available for purchase as a bundle with the textbook COVERS 14 INTERVENTIONS: Augmentative and Alternative Communication Strategies * The Early Start Denver Model (ESDM) * Discrete Trial Instruction * The Developmental, Individual-Difference, Relationship-Based (DIR) Model * Functional Communication Training * The JASPER Model * Enhanced Milieu Teaching * Early Social Interaction * Peer-Mediated Support Interventions * Pivotal Response Treatment * The SCERTS® Model * Social Skills Interventions * Social Stories(tm) * Video Modeling GET THE BUNDLE: Buy this textbook as a bundle with its new companion casebook, Case Studies for the Treatment of Autism Spectrum Disorder. Through 14 realistic cases, readers will explore the types of clinical challenges they may face, see what the experts would recommend, and get exercises to help them practice their decision-making skills.
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology
by
3-user ebook "With major content updates and many more supporting online materials, the seventh edition of the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology is an accessible and reliable source of basic treatment information and techniques for a wide range of speech and language disorders. This detailed, evidence-based manual includes complete coverage of common disorder characteristics, treatment approaches, reporting techniques, and patient profiles for child and adult clients"--
Acquired Neurogenic Communication Disorders
by
3-user ebook "This is an academic textbook that provides an introductory overview of acquired neurogenic communication disorders (cognitive, speech, language, and swallowing disorders that occur with damage to neurological systems)"--
A Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language Pathology
by
"A Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition is a unique interactive resource to help students develop the strong writing skills necessary for a successful clinical or academic career in speech-language pathology. The book not only describes the principles of good writing, but also contains numerous opportunities to practice writing skills replete with exemplars. The Coursebook is ideal for dedicated courses on scientific and/or professional writing, and can also be used in courses on assessment, research methods, and clinical methods and practicum"--
Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
by
"Culturally Responsive Practices in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences, Second Edition provides an innovative perspective on cultural competence in the field of communication sciences and disorders. It is imperative for clinicians and scientists to be aware of diverse aspects of globalization: how these aspects may affect their own knowledge, strengths, biases, and interventions, as well as the relationships between the communities, families, and individuals with whom they partner in care. The purpose of this essential textbook is to facilitate the creation of knowledge and the development of attitudes and skills that lead to culturally responsive practices"--
Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing
by
Both an outstanding text for undergraduate and graduate courses in speech, language, swallowing and hearing (SLSH), as well as an excellent resource for those in clinical practice, Netter's Atlas of Anatomy for Speech, Swallowing, and Hearing, 4th Edition, is a brilliantly illustrated volume covering the complex functional anatomy relevant to SLSH. World-renowned Netter anatomy illustrations and others are accompanied by concise text and tables, providing a unique "read it, see it" approach that helps you easily connect anatomy and physiology concepts to detailed illustrations. This full-color, SLSH-specific atlas contains a basic introduction of human anatomical principles; coverage of the respiratory, laryngeal-phonatory, oropharyngeal-articulatory, and auditory-vestibular systems, as well as neuroanatomy; and updated content throughout-all designed to give you a solid foundation in anatomy and physiology, which is essential for your learning of how to diagnose and treat SLSH disorders. Features Dr. Frank Netter's unique medical illustrations and straightforward descriptions that clearly present the anatomy and physiology of speech, language, swallowing and hearing. Incorporates newly created figures to help you understand some key anatomical concepts and to orient you to the anatomical structures typically visualized in speech and swallowing instrumental examinations. Contains more integrated physiology throughout, plus expanded coverage of the anatomy of the oropharyngeal-articulatory system (and of the procedures that make it possible to visualize the structures of this system), key information on the anatomy of the vestibular system, and the addition of fundamental neuroanatomical concepts for speech production and swallowing. Includes system musculature summary tables for each section that present vital information in a quick, easy, and consistent format for study and reference. Enhanced eBook includes self-test questions, and exercises to enhance your understanding of SLSH anatomy and physiology. Evolve Instructor site with an image and test bank is available to instructors through their Elsevier sales rep or via request at https://evolve.elsevier.com
Professional Writing in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Fourth Edition
by
"This book is an excellent resource for students of communication sciences and disorders. It is often used as a textbook for courses in professional writing, clinical methods, and professional issues. Throughout the text, the authors use anecdotal material, self-help questions, and humor to illustrate that learning to be a better professional writer does not require drudgery"--
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders
by
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Third Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers foundational information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of speech-language pathology. A robust, full color art program illustrates key concepts with detailed anatomical images, photos, and helpful charts and tables. Additionally, this text addresses multicultural issues as well as the emotional and social effects of each disorder on the individual and family, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession. Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos of most disorders, PowerPoint slides, and more! New section on Cultural Competence and the diversity in professional and client interactions New sections on Interviewing and Therapy Microskills, Orofacial Myofunctional Disorders, Neurodiversity, Transgender Voice therapy, Communication Partner training, and more New video footage illustrating almost all disorders, including assessment and therapy Insight Questions throughout the text encourage students to consider how they might relate to the information presented to their personal lives or in ways they had not expected Study Questions are provided at the end of each chapter to help students demonstrate their learning Written for an broader market by including journals written by researchers from Canada, United Kingdom, Israel, Argentina, China, Italy, and more Introduction to Communicative Disorders Introduction to Speech Language Pathology © 2023 | 600 pages
Professional Competencies in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
by
Professional Competencies in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is designed for the professional issues course at the graduate level in a speech-language pathology or audiology program. ASHA recently updated the curriculum standards for master's level programs to include a list of professional competencies, identifying a need for direct instruction in professional competencies for SLP students. The purpose of this text will be to provide that direct instruction in professional competency and soft-skills. Topics such as cultural competence, professional duties, collaborative practices clinical reasoning and evidence-based practices, and effective communication skills will be covered. Many chapters in this textbook will be co-authored by non-SLPs who have extensive knowledge in the topic area. By pairing the expertise of individuals outside of SLPs with the author, professional competencies can be taught in-depth and applied to clinical cases and situations. This textbook will employ a Theory to Practice approach through examples, practice, and application as follows: Theoretical concepts will be presented Theoretical concepts will be applied to the field by the author through examples Readers will then be given an opportunity to apply theories to provided case studies Suggestions for application in current settings will be given and questions for reflection will be provided Directly linked to ASHA 2017 standards for academic programs Several chapters co-authored by professionals outside of speech-language pathology, paired with applications to the field by an SLP Practical strategies and applications that can be implemented immediately by students Instruction in skill-sets expected by SLP employers Theory to Practice approach provides students with the opportunity to learn, practice, apply and reflect on each professional competency in a way that will solidify learning and enhance the development of each concept Inclusion of case studies and videos © 2021 | 226 pages
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator
by
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator is a practical guide on how to bridge the gap between the ability to assess, interpret, and analyze assessment information in order to derive functional goals for intervention. Contributed by experts in the field, this resource is appropriate for both novice and experienced clinicians in the field of Speech-Language Pathology and Special Education, as well as students learning to develop and write functional goals for different disorders and populations. Case scenarios available with each chapter provide real-world context for how to develop goals from the assessment process. Section One provides a complete overview of the historical perspective of goal writing and the essential elements to writing goals Section Two focuses on different disorders in each chapter, discussing what to look for during assessment and how to help develop appropriate goals A reader-friendly pedagogy includes key terms, comprehensive assessments, analysis and interpretation of results of assessment data, forming specific goals, and more Case Scenarios provide a real-world context on how to develop goals from the assessment process © 2019 | 312 pages
Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
by
Designed to help readers make connections between foundational concepts and clinical application, Applied Anatomy and Physiology for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, 2nd Edition, integrates pathology content into the study of each system underlying speech and hearing. This unique approach ensures that students see the "big picture" while learning the basic science of anatomy and physiology alongside the art and science of communication disorders. The second edition features enhancements from cover to cover, including updated pathology chapters, references to new research, a chapter devoted to swallowing and dysphagia, updated tables and figures (including color), and changes in incidence and prevalence of different pathologies. Case studies are presented in each of the pathology chapters to facilitate students' understanding of how disorders of anatomy and physiology may affect speech, language, and hearing. This textbook can be used as the primary or secondary resource for undergraduate courses in anatomy and physiology, neuroanatomy, introduction to audiology, and organic and functional disorders of communication. Features learning objectives and chapter summaries that help focus and guide your reading, useful appendices for quick reference, a glossary of terms, and open-ended questions at the end of each section for discussion, recall, and application. Case studies are presented in each of the pathology chapters to facilitate students' understanding of how disorders of anatomy and physiology may affect speech, language, and hearing. Includes Medical Terminology boxes and Why You Need to Know boxes that convey important information relevant to different clinical settings. Contains numerous new and updated illustrations throughout--many in vibrant full color. Digital resources for students include chapter proficiency quizzes for self-assessment, a new case study for every pathology chapter, video clips for a better understanding of anatomical structures related to speech, language, and hearing; and BioDigital Tours that allow virtual interaction with anatomical structures. Digital resources for instructors include new lecture slides aligned to each chapter of the text and a test bank for each chapter that can be used for formative or summative assessment.
