Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microbiology: Home

COVID-19 Updates

COVID-19 Updates

Pullman Libraries buildings remain closed to in-person visits. Please check our Remote Services during COVID-19 for available services.

Microbiology

Microbiology

Collection Development Policies | School of Molecular Biosciences  | Owen Science & Engineering Library

The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in Biology. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Biology, please contact Betty Galbraith. For questions concerning the Biology program, please visit the School of Biological Sciences.

Resources

Book or Compilation

  • Find a book from here at WSU or from one of our Summit libraries.
  • Borrow a book from anywhere in the world using InterLibrary Loan
  • Request that we buy a book for the WSU library (don't forget your WSU contact info!).
  • Come by and browse the shelves! Here are the call numbers where you can find most biology topics on the 5th floor of the Owen Science and Engineering Library. Look at QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, and QR.

Article or Conference Presentation

  • For known items, look for the journal title in our Library Catalog to see if we own the issue that you need.
  • If you need to find articles on a subject, but don't know where to begin, there are a large number of places to search. WSU pays for some resources to help:
    • Go to the WSU Libraries' databases of Biology journal articles
    • To search within any one of these databases, click on the name and it'll take you to that database.
    • When you find an article, watch for theFind it at WSU button:
      • Click on this button you will redirected to WSU Search it where you can see if we have an article electronically or can borrow it from another library.
  • For articles published prior to our online indexes, check the library for our print indexes. Examples:
    • Biological Abstracts:
      • 1926-1995 (Owen A&I South Alcove)
      • 1969-present (BIOSIS online)
    • Biological Abstracts/RRM: This is the major indexing source in biology for reviews, reports and meetings.
      • 1965-1995 (Owen A&I South Alcove)
      • 1969-present (BIOSIS online)
    • Science Citation Index:
      • 1955-1991 (Owen A&I East Alcove)
      • 1980-present (Web of Science online)

Open Access Scholarly Journal Article


Dissertation or Theses


Standards


Protocols


Patents


Technical Reports

  • Think U.S. Government documents:
    • NTIS: the National Technical Information Service
    • OSTI
    • USA.gov: U.S. government's official web portal
    • science.gov: Technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites from 14 scientific and technical information organizations

Institutional Repositories


Gathering Statistical Resources


Internet Resources

Science Librarian and Instruction Coordinator

Betty Galbraith's picture
Betty Galbraith
Contact:
Office: Owen Library 119

Phone: (509) 335-7930

Fax: (509) 335-2534



Mailing Address:

Owen Library 119

Washington State University

Pullman WA 99164-3200.

Journal Title Abbreviations

Library Research Techniques

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us