The Paul G. Allen School for Global Health was created with the express purpose of impacting human health by developing innovative solutions that combat, prevent, and mitigate the impact of global infectious diseases that occur at the animal-human interface. This animal-human interface is the place wherein 75% of emerging infectious diseases first occur.
The intent of this LibGuide is to provide information and links to electronic and print resources useful to global health. Links to freely accessible, open access resources are emphasized, but in some cases, access via a library system, such as WSU's, is required.
Understanding Global Health, 2e by
A complete introductory review of global health--updated to reflect the latest issues and challenges The first edition of "Understanding Global Health" set a new information standard for this rapidly emerging subject. Written by a remarkable group of authors and contributors, this comprehensive, engagingly written text offers unmatched coverage of every important topic--from infectious disease to economics to war. Created with thenon-specialist in mind, "Understanding Global Health" explores the current burden of disease in the world, howhealth is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most current information and timely topics. New chapters cover such topics as human trafficking, malaria and neglected tropical diseases, surgical issues in global health, and mental health. Every chapter includes Learning Objectives, Summary, Study Questions, and References and, in many instances, practical case examples. Thorough coverage of every important subject, including: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and SurveillanceNutritionPrimary Care in Global HealthTuberculosis and HIV/AIDSEducation and Careers in Global HealthAging Populations and Chronic IllnessGlobal Health Ethics
Textbook of Global Health by
THE CRITICAL WORK IN GLOBAL HEALTH, NOW COMPLETELY REVISED AND UPDATED"This book compels us to better understand the contexts in which health problems emerge and the forces that underlie and propel them." - Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Mpilo TutuH1N1. Diabetes. Ebola. Zika. Each of these health problems is rooted in a confluence of social, political, economic, and biomedical factors that together inform our understanding of global health. The imperative for those who study global health is to understand these factors individually and,especially, synergistically. Fully revised and updated, this fourth edition of Oxford's Textbook of Global Health offers a critical examination of the array of societal factors that shape health within and across countries, including how health inequities create consequences that must be addressed by public health,international aid, and social and economic policymaking. The text equips students, activists, and health professionals with the building blocks for a contextualized understanding of global health, including essential threads that are combined in no other work: * historical dynamics of the field* the political economy of health and development* analysis of the current global health structure, including its actors, agencies, and activities* societal determinants of health, from global trade and investment treaties to social policies to living and working conditions * the role of health data and measuring health inequities* major causes of global illness and death, including under crises, from a political economy of health vantage point that goes beyond communicable vs. non-communicable diseases to incorporate contexts of social and economic deprivation, work, and globalization* the role of trade/investment and financial liberalization, precarious work, and environmental degradation and contamination * principles of health systems and the politics of health financing* community, national, and transnational social justice approaches to building healthy societies and practicing global health ethically and equitablyThrough this approach the Textbook of Global Health encourages the reader - be it student, professional, or advocate - to embrace a wider view of the global health paradigm, one that draws from political economy considerations at community, national, and transnational levels. It is essential andcurrent reading for anyone working in or around global health.
Malaria - Biology in the Era of Eradication by 
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems, and Policies 4th ed by
Global Health: Diseases, Programs, Systems, and Policies, Fourth Edition brings together contributions from the world's leading authorities into a single comprehensive text. It thoroughly examines the wide range of global health challenges facing low and middle income countries today and the various approaches nations adopt to deal with them. These challenges include measurement of health status, infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, nutrition, reproductive health, global environmental health and complex emergencies.The book also explores emerging health systems, their financing, and management, and the roles of nation states, international agencies, the private sector and nongovernmental organizations in promoting health.The Fourth Edition offers three new chapters that cover human rights and ethics, innovation and technology (including topics such as scaling up small innovations; entrepreneurship; licensing; private and public partnerships; product development; drug trials; vaccines; and the role of industry in lower and middle income countries), and public health infrastructure.The Fourth Edition also offers thorough updates on chapters on the Social Determinants of Health; Health and the Economy; Cooperation in Global Health; and Globalization and Health.
Environmental Health: From global to local by
The bestselling environmental health text, with all new coverage of key topics Environmental Health: From Global to Local is a comprehensive introduction to the subject, and a contemporary, authoritative text for students of public health, environmental health, preventive medicine, community health, and environmental studies. Edited by the former director of the CDC's National Center for Environmental Health and current dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Washington, this book provides a multi-faceted view of the topic, and how it affects different regions, populations, and professions. In addition to traditional environmental health topics--air, water, chemical toxins, radiation, pest control--it offers remarkably broad, cross-cutting coverage, including such topics as building design, urban and regional planning, energy, transportation, disaster preparedness and response, climate change, and environmental psychology. This new third edition maintains its strong grounding in evidence, and has been revised for greater readability, with new coverage of ecology, sustainability, and vulnerable populations, with integrated coverage of policy issues, and with a more global focus. Environmental health is a critically important topic, and it reaches into fields as diverse as communications, technology, regulatory policy, medicine, and law. This book is a well-rounded guide that addresses the field's most pressing concerns, with a practical bent that takes the material beyond theory. Explore the cross-discipline manifestations of environmental health Understand the global ramifications of population and climate change Learn how environmental issues affect health and well-being closer to home Discover how different fields incorporate environmental health perspectives The first law of ecology reminds is that 'everything is connected to everything else.' Each piece of the system affects the whole, and the whole must sustain us all for the long term. Environmental Health lays out the facts, makes the connections, and demonstrates the importance of these crucial issues to human health and well-being, both on a global scale, and in our homes, workplaces, and neighborhoods.
Biology of Ticks, vol. 1 by
Biology of Ticks is the most comprehensive work on tick biology and tick-borne diseases. This second edition is a multi-authored work, featuring the research and analyses of renowned experts across the globe. Spanning two volumes, the book examines the systematics, biology, structure,ecological adaptations, evolution, genomics and the molecular processes that underpin the growth, development and survival of these important disease-transmitting parasites. Also discussed is the remarkable array of diseases transmitted (or caused) by ticks, as well as modern methods for theircontrol. This book should serve as a modern reference for students, scientists, physicians, veterinarians and other specialists.Volume I covers the biology of the tick and features chapters on tick systematics, tick life cycles, external and internal anatomy, and others dedicated to specific organ systems, specifically, the tick integument, mouthparts and digestive system, salivary glands, waste removal, salivary glands,respiratory system, circulatory system and hemolymph, fat body, the nervous and sensory systems and reproductive systems.Volume II includes chapters on the ecology of non-nidicolous and nidicolous ticks, genetics and genomics (including the genome of the Lyme disease vector Ixodes scapularis) and immunity, including host immune responses to tick feeding and tick-host interactions, as well as the tick's innate immunesystem that prevents and/or controls microbial infections. Six chapters cover in depth the many diseases caused by the major tick-borne pathogens, including tick-borne protozoa, viruses, rickettsiae of all types, other types of bacteria (e.g., the Lyme disease agent) and diseases related to tickparalytic agents and toxins. The remaining chapters are devoted to tick control using vaccines, acaricides, repellents, biocontrol, and, finally, techniques for breeding ticks in order to develop tick colonies for scientific study.
Biology of Ticks, vol. 2 by
Biology of Ticks is the most comprehensive work on tick biology and tick-borne diseases. This second edition is a multi-authored work, featuring the research and analyses of renowned experts across the globe. Spanning two volumes, the book examines the systematics, biology, structure,ecological adaptations, evolution, genomics and the molecular processes that underpin the growth, development and survival of these important disease-transmitting parasites. Also discussed is the remarkable array of diseases transmitted (or caused) by ticks, as well as modern methods for theircontrol. This book should serve as a modern reference for students, scientists, physicians, veterinarians and other specialists.Volume I covers the biology of the tick and features chapters on tick systematics, tick life cycles, external and internal anatomy, and others dedicated to specific organ systems, specifically, the tick integument, mouthparts and digestive system, salivary glands, waste removal, salivary glands,respiratory system, circulatory system and hemolymph, fat body, the nervous and sensory systems and reproductive systems.Volume II includes chapters on the ecology of non-nidicolous and nidicolous ticks, genetics and genomics (including the genome of the Lyme disease vector Ixodes scapularis) and immunity, including host immune responses to tick feeding and tick-host interactions, as well as the tick's innate immunesystem that prevents and/or controls microbial infections. Six chapters cover in depth the many diseases caused by the major tick-borne pathogens, including tick-borne protozoa, viruses, rickettsiae of all types, other types of bacteria (e.g., the Lyme disease agent) and diseases related to tickparalytic agents and toxins. The remaining chapters are devoted to tick control using vaccines, acaricides, repellents, biocontrol, and, finally, techniques for breeding ticks in order to develop tick colonies for scientific study.
Thinking Beyond Sectors for Sustainable Development by 
Avian Reservoirs by
After experiencing the SARS outbreak in 2003, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan all invested in various techniques to mitigate future pandemics involving myriad cross-species interactions between humans and birds. In some locations microbiologists allied with veterinarians and birdwatchers to follow the mutations of flu viruses in birds and humans and create preparedness strategies, while in others, public health officials worked toward preventing pandemics by killing thousands of birds. In Avian Reservoirs Frédéric Keck offers a comparative analysis of these responses, tracing how the anticipation of bird flu pandemics has changed relations between birds and humans in China. Drawing on anthropological theory and ethnographic fieldwork, Keck demonstrates that varied strategies dealing with the threat of pandemics--stockpiling vaccines and samples in Taiwan, simulating pandemics in Singapore, and monitoring viruses and disease vectors in Hong Kong--reflect local geopolitical relations to mainland China. In outlining how interactions among pathogens, birds, and humans shape the way people imagine future pandemics, Keck illuminates how interspecies relations are crucial for protecting against such threats.
Earth Observation, Public Health and One Health by
CABI Open Access Ebook
This book reviews the contributions of Earth Observation (EO) to public health practices. It examines how EO is being used to understand, track, predict, and manage infectious and chronic diseases, and it provides discussion on the current challenges and the significant development potential of EO to a One Health approach. Its objective is to address a set of questions: How does EO currently assist public health activities? What are the challenges for operational use of EO in public health? What are the opportunities for EO to benefit public health in the near future? This review concentrates on the following priority themes to which EO and geomatics can make important contributions: mosquito-borne and tick-borne diseases; water-borne diseases; air quality and extreme heat effects; and geospatial indicators of vulnerable human populations. EO has also demonstrated potential during the COVID-19 pandemic as an efficient provider of data on rapid environmental and socio-economic changes and impacts. Remotely sensed data are particularly useful for risk modelling and mapping projects to help generate information on occurrence and spatio-temporal trends of disease risk. Similarly, EO can be used to identify risk factors for disease risk or emergence detected in surveillance, and support development of early warning systems. Risk maps enable public health professionals to anticipate and prepare for health threats, and they can support responses to infectious disease epidemics or existing endemic conditions. This book emerged from the collaboration of the Public Health Agency of Canada and the Canadian Space Agency with contributions of international experts. Their findings will be of great value to public health and EO professionals interested in developing and applying geospatial applications in the risk assessment and management of public health issues.
Infectious Tropical Diseases and One Health in Latin America by
This book covers current aspects of important infectious diseases affecting human and animal health in Latin American countries. Readers are equipped with details on arthropod vectors as well as on neglected health problems. Diseases covered include Neglected Tropical Diseases such as Chagas Disease, schistosomiasis, tungiasis, myiasis and leishmaniasis, but also Zika and Chikungunya viral infections, plague and yellow fever. One focus is given on parasitic transmission routes. In addition, the authors describe current therapeutic options and sustainable control measures, considering both human and animal health. By highlighting options within the interdisciplinary One Health approach, they round off this work into a cutting-edge reference for diverse expert readers. Scientists and clinicians concerned on public health, entomology, tropical medicine and parasitology not only in Latin America will find this collection particularly valuable. Finally, these contributions are essential in the framework of the Sustainable Development Goals and the targets of SDG 3 (Good Health and Well-being) in order to combat and end epidemics of Neglected Tropical Diseases.
One Health Case Studies by 
Introduction to One Health by
Introduction to One Health: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Planetary Health offers an accessible, readable introduction to the burgeoning field of One Health. Provides a thorough introduction to the who, what, where, when, why, and how of One Health Presents an overview of the One Health movement viewed through the perspective of different disciplines Encompasses disease ecology, conservation, and veterinary and human medicine Includes interviews from persons across disciplines important for the success of One Health Includes case studies in each chapter to demonstrate real-world applications
One Welfare by
Contemporary and thought-provoking, this book provides a definition of the concept of One Welfare: the interconnection between animal welfare, human wellbeing and the environment. The book establishes a conceptual framework, in five sections, resulting from a three month global consultation on a draft proposal comprising nine areas. The book contains: - A one welfare approach which complements and extends the existing one health approach - A range of prestigious contributions from key opinion leaders in the field of animal welfare which help to define the framework - A platform for the development of more collaborative and integrated animal welfare standards and policies One Welfare complements the One Health and Eco Health approaches, enabling full integration of animal welfare within other disciplines; a much needed tool to help improve animal welfare, human wellbeing and environmental components and support worldwide sustainable development goals. Integrating this concept into existing projects could help to foster collaboration to improve human and animal welfare globally. This text is of interest to those working in the fields of animal and human welfare, sustainability and conservation, international development and to all those keen to extend the one health approach to animal welfare and human wellbeing.
One Planet, One Health by
"One Planet, One Health provides a multidisciplinary reflection on the state of our planet, human and animal health, as well as the critical effects of climate change on the environment and livelihoods of people. Climate change is already affecting many poor communities and traditional aid programs have achieved relatively small gains. Going beyond the narrow disciplinary lens and an exclusive focus on human health, a planetary health approach puts the ecosystem at the centre. With experience in eco-health methods, the contributors to One Planet, One Health postulate that the maintenance and restoration of ecosystem resilience should be a core priority, carried out in partnership with local communities. One Planet, One Health offers an integrated approach to improving the health of the planet and its inhabitants."
One Welfare in Practice by
Animal welfare has long been recognised as central to the role of the veterinary professional, but this is increasingly aligned with the welfare of humans and the broader environment in which we co-exist. This is the first book dedicated to the role of the veterinarian in One Welfare, a concept that recognises the interconnections between animal welfare, human wellbeing, and the environment. The book demonstrates, through a wide range of international case studies, why professional ethics and the use of good evidence is integral to this role. Contributors bring a rich variety of writings, each with their own perception of the role of the veterinarian in improving animal welfare and human wellbeing. One Welfare in Practice: The Role of the Veterinarian emphasises the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration and solutions: it is essential that veterinary practitioners recognise when other professionals or disciplines need to be consulted to benefit both animals and humans. With its multiple, fascinating approaches to One Welfare, this book will inform and inspire the veterinarian to find areas where collaborative action reaps the greatest rewards. This unique book shows how veterinarians can and are contributing to improving animal and human welfare, offering practical advice as to how the profession can further engage in One Welfare in a range of settings.
One Health by
One Health: Challenges for the 21st Century is a transdisciplinary approach to health, considering the interdependency of human, animal, and environmental health. This approach to health promotion and disease prevention calls for integrative and interdisciplinary cooperation. From zoonotic diseases to environmental degradation, this book introduces core concepts of the One Health approach by presenting focal key challenges. The objective of this book is not centered solely on epidemiologic interactions of infectious diseases but also on the environmental and ecological implications of current major threats. Written by international experts, the ten chapters provide a comprehensive approach consisting of core concepts, practical examples, and applications that align with key challenges to public health. Therefore, this book is a valuable resource for public health professionals, veterinarians, physicians, environmental researchers, policymakers, and other professionals who seek to understand the overarching complexities of health.
Learning from Disease in Pets by
Learning from Disease in Pets: A 'One Health' Model for Discovery is the first encompassing reference guide for veterinarians, researchers and physicians on conducting studies using spontaneous models of disease in animals. The study of naturally occurring disease in (pet) animals can help model our understanding of the biology, prevention and therapy of human and animal diseases. Studies of pet dogs, for instance, can aid treatment of complex medical problems such as cancer, orthopedic, cardiopulmonary, and neuro-inflammatory diseases, and zoonotic infections. Each chapter within this novel cross-species approach is contributed by a leader, or leaders, in their field of research. Using clinical trials to learn how pets with real diseases respond to therapy can lead to breakthroughs in human medicine, as well as benefiting pets suffering from otherwise debilitating illness. Despite similarities of diseases across species, there are very few spontaneous models of disease used in research compared with models where disease is induced in healthy laboratory animals. Many medical researchers and veterinarians have a multitude of questions regarding how to use naturally occurring diseases in pets for the discovery of treatments and diagnostics: this book will demonstrate how to safely make this happen. This book encourages veterinarians to build on and disseminate existing findings for the wider benefit of pets and humans. Many pets suffering from incurable illnesses may benefit from clinical trials; the book includes a section on the imperative communication styles necessary within the research environment and with clients, a compelling discussion on the ethics of using pets in veterinary clinical research, comprehensive tables of diseases that spontaneously occur in animals and humans, the regulatory requirements necessary to move therapy from benchside research to patient bedside, as well as intricate details on how to design a robust clinical study.
Animals Health and Society by
CHOICE Recommended title 2022 This timely book reframes the historic narrative of people, animals, and nature as risks to each other, to one where we think about health as a shared capacity. This new narrative promotes the positive contributions made to health across species and generations and addresses growing calls to shift from a reactive to proactive approach in One Health. Editor Craig Stephen takes the reader on a tour of the situations wherein we can all, regardless of our job description, work across species, sectors, and generations to motivate action. Perspectives and methods from a variety of fields and experts are shared and adapted to promote collaborative understanding of and action on determinants of health at the animal-society interface. Case studies demonstrate that the principles and practices presented are feasible, empowering people to make choices that concurrently benefit the health of animals, societies, and ecosystems. The first book to adapt and explain health promotion, harm reduction, and health equity issues in a One Health context, and in terms of animal health, this is necessary reading for students of and practitioners working in planetary health, conservation, ecohealth, public health, health promotion, veterinary medicine, and animal welfare.