Covering state-of-the-art technologies and a broad range of practical applications, the Third Edition of Gene Biotechnology presents tools that researchers and students need to understand and apply today's biotechnology techniques. Many of the currently available books in molecular biology contain only protocol recipes, failing to explain the princ

Ever since the International Human Genome Project achieved its extraordinary goal of sequencing and mapping the entire human genome, represented by approximately 3 billion base pairs, with its far-reaching implications for understanding the causes of human genetic disorders and their diagnosis, progress in the field has not slowed down. In the fifth edition of the bestselling Color Atlas of Genetics, readers will be rewarded with a complete and current overview of the field, with an emphasis on the interface between fundamental principles and practical applications in medicine and the role of signaling pathways in causing diseases. Using the acclaimed Flexibook format designed for easy visual learning and retention, the atlas is invaluable for students, clinicians, and scientists interested in staying up to date in this fast-evolving area. New fully illustrated topics in the revised fifth edition of the atlas include: An overview of disorders resulting from structural changes of the genome (genomic disorders) Abnormal imprinting patterns Examples of impaired signal pathways (laminopathies, fibrillinopathies, cohesinopathies, and others) The CRISPR-Cas system Genetic features of the aging processes Disorders due to rearrangements of chromatin in the cell nucleus, and others With almost 200 stunning color plates explained by concise texts on the opposite pages, including tables presenting useful data, a glossary of terms, key references, and online resources, the atlas presents clear and accessible concepts. It is an excellent refresher for investigators in any field of medicine or biology.

Offers essays on diseases, biology, techniques, methodologies, genetic engineering, biotechnology, ethics, and social issues. Written for health-care consumers, premedical students, public library patrons, and librarians building scientific collections.

Presenting the genes of the human genome in their biological context, Guide to the Human Genome is an extensive online resource (also available in print) that provides easy access to information about human genes and their roles in specific processes. With numerous illustrations and tables,each of the nearly 300 sections of the Guide describes genes involved in a specific pathway, process, or structure - from the molecular and cellular levels to developmental and physiological processes. In the online version, these sections contain links to more information about proteins encoded byover 17,000 known or predicted human genes. For each protein, basic characteristics about its composition and length, its human relatives and relatedness to proteins in other species, and direct links to resources at NCBI are included. Additional links to NCBI resources are provided for humannoncoding RNAs and repeated DNA elements and for proteins of interest from other species. The entire text of the Guide is searchable, and tools are available for identifying human protein sequences using those from other species.The Guide will be useful to researchers looking to connect sequence data with functional information, and can be used in parallel with traditional texts in undergraduate and graduate courses to provide a genomics dimension and experience of identifying genes underpinning processes ofinterest.

With the advent of CRISPR gene-editing technology, designer babies have become a reality. Françoise Baylis insists that scientists alone cannot decide the terms of this new era in human evolution. Members of the public, with diverse interests and perspectives, must have a role in determining our future as a species.

A timely update of a highly popular handbook on statistical genomics This new, two-volume edition of a classic text provides a thorough introduction to statistical genomics, a vital resource for advanced graduate students, early-career researchers and new entrants to the field. It introduces new and updated information on developments that have occurred since the 3rd edition. Widely regarded as the reference work in the field, it features new chapters focusing on statistical aspects of data generated by new sequencing technologies, including sequence-based functional assays. It expands on previous coverage of the many processes between genotype and phenotype, including gene expression and epigenetics, as well as metabolomics. It also examines population genetics and evolutionary models and inference, with new chapters on the multi-species coalescent, admixture and ancient DNA, as well as genetic association studies including causal analyses and variant interpretation. The Handbook of Statistical Genomics focuses on explaining the main ideas, analysis methods and algorithms, citing key recent and historic literature for further details and references. It also includes a glossary of terms, acronyms and abbreviations, and features extensive cross-referencing between chapters, tying the different areas together. With heavy use of up-to-date examples and references to web-based resources, this continues to be a must-have reference in a vital area of research. Provides much-needed, timely coverage of new developments in this expanding area of study Numerous, brand new chapters, for example covering bacterial genomics, microbiome and metagenomics Detailed coverage of application areas, with chapters on plant breeding, conservation and forensic genetics Extensive coverage of human genetic epidemiology, including ethical aspects Edited by one of the leading experts in the field along with rising stars as his co-editors Chapter authors are world-renowned experts in the field, and newly emerging leaders. The Handbook of Statistical Genomics is an excellent introductory text for advanced graduate students and early-career researchers involved in statistical genetics.