LibGuides: Cell Biology: PubMed

Entrez-Pubmed

PubMed is a product of the National Center for Biotechnology Innovation (NCBI) that contains over 33 million citations for biomedical literature. It covers the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Many of the citations include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites; when logged in on campus or through WSU, you can access them through FindIt@WSU.

PubMed
This link to PubMed is for those affiliated with WSU. PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed tutorials from WSU-Spokane library

The PubMed website also links to many informatics databases from National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Some resources of interest include:

Gene
Contains names, reference sequences, and connected data on expression, structure, and function of genes from thousands of species ranging from viruses to bacteria to eukaryotes.
Genome
Contains sequence and map data from the whole genomes of over 1000 species or strains spanning bacteria, archaea, eukaryota, viruses, phages, plasmids, and organelles. The genomes represent both completely sequenced genomes and those with sequencing in-progress.
Nucleotide
Contains nucleotide sequence data from several sources (including GenBank, EMBL, RefSeqs, and PDB)
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
Allows searching of the OMIM database of articles about human genes, genetic disorders, and inherited traits, with links to associated literature references, sequence records, maps, and related databases.
Protein
Contains amino acid sequences created from translating coding regions described in nucleotide records in multiple databases, including GenBank, EMBL, and DDBJ, as well as protein-specific resources including UniProt, Protein Research Foundation (PRF), and the Protein Data Bank (PDB).

PubChem (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases - PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Structure
Contains experimental data from crystallographic and NMR structure determinations deposited in the Protein Data Bank (PDB).

Libraries

Cell Biology

Entrez-Pubmed