LibGuides: Chemistry: Home

About This Guide

Welcome to the WSU Chemistry resource guide. The Owen library contains many resources for students and faculty interested in Chemistry. If you have any questions not answered on the WSU Libraries website or would like to request a book or journal on any subject related to Chemistry, please contact the subject librarian.

Need general help in finding WSU library resources?

Answers to common WSU library questions

For more information on primary and secondary sources, see:

Finding Primary Sources

Major Chemistry Resources

Web of Science
Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation indexes. This multidisciplinary database has searchable author abstract covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, sciences and social sciences. Updated weekly.

SciFindern Scholar
SciFinder-n is the premier database for journal and patent literature covering chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science and biomedical sciences.

Instructions for access and first use

Chemistry Databases

PubChem (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases - PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
ChemIDPlus (NLM)
Searchable database of chemical structures. Includes substructure searching.
RSC Publishing (Royal Society of Chemistry) This link opens in a new window
Search RSC journals, including the flagship journal Chemical Communications. Online full text is available for many titles.
ACS Publications
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Periodic Table of Videos This link opens in a new window
Tables charting the chemical elements have been around since the 19th century - but this modern version has a short video about each one.
Knovel
Knovel provides access to online handbooks containing data for scientists and engineers
Materials Science Forum This link opens in a new window
Materials Science Forum specializes in the rapid publication of international conference proceedings and stand-alone volumes on topics of current interest in Materials Science, Solid State Physics and Solid State Chemistry.
Thermodex (UTA) This link opens in a new window
Contains records for printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It is based mainly on the holdings of the Mallet Chemistry Library at the University of Texas at Austin.

Online Resources

Chemspider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Standards and Technology Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program
JoVE Core Organic Chemistry
An online undergraduate textbook of basic concepts in organic chemistry, separated out by key concepts and presented with short text sections and videos.
LibreTexts Organic Chemistry
Landing page that contains several open access virtual textbooks about organic chemistry concepts, lab techniques, nomenclature, and careers.

Chemical Structure Drawing Software

The Chemistry department licenses ChemDraw for the all chemistry faculty, staff, and students at Washington State University. See the link below for instructions on how to register for and download ChemDraw.

ChemDraw at WSU Chemistry Dept

Chemistry Societies

ACS.org
Official site of the American Chemical Society.
IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry)

Libraries

Chemistry

Helpful Links

Owen Science & Engineering Library

Ask a Question