The objective of this book remains the same as that stated in the first edition: to present a comprehensive perspective of biomechanics from the stand point of bioengineering, physiology, and medical science, and to develop mechanics through a sequence of problems and examples. My three-volume set of Bio­ mechanics has been completed. They are entitled: Biomechanics: Mechanical Properties of Living Tissues; Biodynamics: Circulation; and Biomechanics: Motion, Flow, Stress, and Growth; and this is the first volume. The mechanics prerequisite for all three volumes remains at the level of my book A First Course in Continuum Mechanics (3rd edition, Prentice-Hall, Inc. , 1993). In the decade of the 1980s the field of Biomechanics expanded tremen­ dously. New advances have been made in all fronts. Those that affect the basic understanding of the mechanical properties of living tissues are described in detail in this revision. The references are brought up to date.

This monograph assembles expert knowledge on the latest biomechanical modeling and testing of hard tissues, coupled with a concise introduction to the structural and physical properties of bone and cartilage. A strong focus lies on the current advances in understanding bone structure and function from a materials science perspective, providing practical knowledge on how to model, simulate and predict the mechanical behavior of bone. The book presents directly applicable methods for designing and testing the performance of artificial bones and joint replacements, while addressing innovative and safe approaches to stimulated bone regeneration essential for clinical researchers.

This second edition of the Bone Mechanics Handbook summarizes the current understanding of bone mechanics with comprehensive coverage of the histology, physiology, and the cell and molecular biology of the bone. It is updated with the most recent advances on mechanical properties of the bone, most notably of cancellous bone, and the streaming potentials in the bone, which reflect the realization of the importance of fluid movement in bone tissue.

This is a comprehensive and accessible overview of what is known about the structure and mechanics of bone, bones, and teeth. In it, John Currey incorporates critical new concepts and findings from the two decades of research since the publication of his highly regarded The Mechanical Adaptations of Bones. Crucially, Currey shows how bone structure and bone's mechanical properties are intimately bound up with each other and how the mechanical properties of the material interact with the structure of whole bones to produce an adapted structure. For bone tissue, the book discusses stiffness, strength, viscoelasticity, fatigue, and fracture mechanics properties. For whole bones, subjects dealt with include buckling, the optimum hollowness of long bones, impact fracture, and properties of cancellous bone. The effects of mineralization on stiffness and toughness and the role of microcracking in the fracture process receive particular attention. As a zoologist, Currey views bone and bones as solutions to the design problems that vertebrates have faced during their evolution and throughout the book considers what bones have been adapted to do. He covers the full range of bones and bony tissues, as well as dentin and enamel, and uses both human and non-human examples. Copiously illustrated, engagingly written, and assuming little in the way of prior knowledge or mathematical background, Bones is both an ideal introduction to the field and also a reference sure to be frequently consulted by practicing researchers.

A research project entitled Biomechanics of Structure and Function of Living Cells, Tissues, and Organs was launched in Japan in 1992. This data book presents the original, up-to-date information resulting from the research project, supplemented by some of the important basic data published previously. The aim of collecting the information is to offer accurate and useful data on the mechanical properties of living materials to biomechanical scientists, biomedical engineers, medical scientists, and clinicians. The data are presented in graphs and tables (one type of data per page) arranged in an easily accessible manner, along with details of the origin of the material and the experimental method. Together with its two companion volumes, Biomechanics: Functional Adaptation and Remodeling and Computational Biomechanics, the Data Book on Mechanical Properties of Living Cells, Tissues, and Organs is a timely and valuable contribution to the rapidly growing field of biomechanics.

The ongoing process of bio-evolution has produced materials which are perfectly adapted to fulfil a specific functional role. The natural world provides us with a multitude of examples of materials with durability, strength, mechanisms of programmed self-assembly and biodegradability. The materials industry has sought to observe and appreciate the relationship between structure, properties and function of these biological materials. A multidisciplinary approach, building on recent advances at the forefront of physics, chemistry and molecular biology, has been successful in producing many synthetic structures with interesting and useful properties. Structural Biological Materials: Design and Structure-Property Relationships represents an invaluable reference in the field of biological materials science and provides an incisive view into this rapidly developing and increasingly important topic within materials science. This book focuses on the study of three sub-groups of structural biological materials: . Hard tissue engineering, focussing on cortical bone . Soft tissue engineering . Fibrous materials, particularly engineering with silk fibers. The fundamental relationship between structure and properties, and certain aspects of design and engineering, are explored in each of the sub-groups. The importance of these materials, both in their intrinsic properties and specific functions, are illustrated with relevant examples. These depict the successful integration of material properties, architecture and shape, providing a wide range of optimised designs, tailored to specific functions. Edited by Manuel Elices of the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain, this book is Volume 4 in the Pergamon Material Series.

Useful to find resources to a specific property (on the right sidebar)

Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds and includes interactive tables

Searchable full text of leading chemistry reference books. Includes critical data on inorganic & organic compounds & pure substances. Features interactive tables & key properties, including physical, thermodynamic, & mechanical properties.

In total, 160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers.

This companion to Pearson's handbook of crystallographic data for intermetallic phases, 2d ed. (ASM International, 1991) presents the structure type for most of the compounds in Pearson's handbook in graphic detail. Each structure type is represented in the following way: detailed crystallographic

The present volume treats the symmetries on one-, two- and three-dimensional space groups and point groups in direct space. New features in this edition include additional data and diagrams in the space-group tables and an extension of the synoptic tables.

The most complete, reliable, up-to-date compendium of data on binary alloy systems, collected from a variety of sources within the ASM/NIST Data Program, as well as from non-Program sources. The present volumes represent the second, very substantially enlarged edition of the original compendium publ

Request to Owen Library.

While bits and pieces of the index of refraction n and extinction coefficient k for a given material can be found in several handbooks, the Handbook of Optical Constants of Solids gives for the first time a single set of n and k values over the broadest spectral range (ideally from x-ray to mm-wave region). The critiquers have chosen the numbers for you, based on their own broad experience in the study of optical properties. Whether you need one number at one wavelength or many numbers at many wavelengths, what is available in the literature is condensed down into a single set of numbers.

Interactive tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties; includes over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data over 15,000 compounds.

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data complied by NIST under the Standard Reference data Program.

Contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. Note: No actual data is contained in ThermoDex.

Find background information on spectroscopy and spectrometry

This covers spectra of 189 air pollutants mandated by Title III of the Clean Air Act. Spectra are grouped by chemical name, CAS # and molecular formula. Experimental measurement details such as cell path length, temperature, and concentration (ppm) are provided. Spectra are in spc format and are viewed using a free Windows-compatible viewer called ShowSPC.

This is a multi-volume reference providing spectroscopic data for common organic compounds, polymers, surfactants, and contaminants and organic materials found in the laboratory.

This site provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data complied by NIST under the Standard Reference data Program.

NMR spectra can be located using searches by title, structure/substructure and chemical shift data.

Register to use this database. Search chemical literature, including journal articles, conference papers, chemical patents, and theses in chemistry and related fields.

About two-thirds of the compounds in this database from the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan) contain 6-16 carbon atoms. Lab measurement details are provided. The database can be search by variety of parameters.