The National Library of Medicine's premier search system for health information. PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from journals published in the United States and worldwide. This link to PubMed has been customized for those affiliated with WSU; look for the "Find it @WSU" button within individual records.
NOTE: If you are not affiliated with WSU, you can still search this version of PubMed -- with links to WSU holdings -- from computers located in the Spokane Academic Library.
CINAHL is a comprehensive database for nursing and allied health, with full text articles from more than 1,300 journals and magazines, and indexing to over 5,400 journal titles, back to 1981. (A few titles are indexed back to 1937.) Also includes citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. HOT TIP: Click on the Choose Databases link just above the search boxes for simultaneous searching of other EBSCO databases, including MEDLINE (as an alternative to PubMed), Health Source, and Academic Search Complete for cross-disciplinary searching.
This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. For each therapy covered, a research team gathers scientific data and expert opinions. Validated rating scales are used to evaluate the quality of available evidence. Information is incorporated into comprehensive monographs which are designed to facilitate clinical decision making. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases.
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching.
Social Determinants of Health Data and Visualization Sources
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more. Data comes from authoritative public and proprietary sources. It has thousands of indicators on demographics, the economy, housing, lending, quality of life, education, health, and more. Data is available at the neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, depending on the data.
A publicly available data archive created by the University of Michigan containing measures of the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale (eg, census tract, ZIP code tabulation area, county). Each NaNDA dataset covers all or most of the entire nation (including both rural and urban areas) and represents a set of measures on a single topic of interest, including socioeconomic disadvantage, healthcare, housing, partisanship, and public transit, with temporal coverage dating back to 2000.